Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Technical Stuff


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 14th January 2009, 18:06   #1
BHPian
 
rajatsingh78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Agra/Ghaziabad
Posts: 291
Thanked: 27 Times
Default Linea VGT in a Swift?

Hi Guys,

I recently read an article on Fiat Linea in an automobile magazine, this car has the same engine as in Swift VDi, ie, 1248cc multijet with a Variable Geometry Turbo (VGT), any idea if this turbo is a direct fit to the Swift VDi ? or will a Pete's box be more economical as compared to get a VGT for the Swift ?

Cheers,
Rajat
rajatsingh78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2009, 18:26   #2
BHPian
 
swale84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Pune
Posts: 459
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

I don't think the VGT is the ONLY difference between the two engines.
There's also a vacuum accumulator and the ECU mapping would be different. The tubes & hoses would naturally be different.
Theoretically though, if you can get hold of the parts and the ECU remapped, I think it might just be doable - space permitting
swale84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2009, 18:33   #3
BHPian
 
cruiser_1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Chennai
Posts: 313
Thanked: 16 Times
Default

I would suggest a pete's tuning box. It is plug-and-play, proven and tested and can be installed in 15 minutes. On the other hand, there will be a lot of work involved in installing a VGT and installing the tubes, hoses, etc. May get messy and your vehicle's reliability may go down.
cruiser_1982 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2009, 14:31   #4
BHPian
 
rajatsingh78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Agra/Ghaziabad
Posts: 291
Thanked: 27 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cruiser_1982 View Post
I would suggest a pete's tuning box. It is plug-and-play, proven and tested and can be installed in 15 minutes. On the other hand, there will be a lot of work involved in installing a VGT and installing the tubes, hoses, etc. May get messy and your vehicle's reliability may go down.
I think you are right, but any idea how much would the pete's tuning box cost for Swift VDi, and since I have an extended warranty, it is possible to remove it myself (and putting the OEM ECU back in) before visiting the dealer for regular services, if this happens I think this would be the best option, considering the fact that this will increase the bhp from 75 to 90 with no major mods
rajatsingh78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2009, 21:01   #5
BHPian
 
invincible7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Delhi NCR
Posts: 644
Thanked: 131 Times
Default

Rajat what you have said is very much possible and some of the members here have done that. Using the Petes box and removing before going for car regular service under warranty.

The price i think is around 25K not sure, you can check petes site for the exact prices.
invincible7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2009, 21:28   #6
BHPian
 
swale84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Pune
Posts: 459
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

YOu could also PM Amey, he has one on his swift. I remember it being around 30K, but I could be wrong.
swale84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2009, 21:51   #7
Senior - BHPian
 
JayD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Cochin! At last
Posts: 3,195
Thanked: 1,996 Times
Default

I think ripper was thinking along the same lines. But will it be practical?? How will u control the VGT operation??
JayD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2009, 22:11   #8
Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: India
Posts: 1,745
Thanked: 19 Times
Default

I did do some asking around and was told that it is going to be next to impossible to get the VGT into the swift. In addition to the hardware compatibility and space issues, We'll need a whole new set of ECU maps.
VGT control is difficult even for sophisticated tuners abroad, we can forget about it!

Apparently it will be much easier just to put in a bigger FGT turbo and upgrade the intercooler, get a standalone ECU and boost controller.

I'm not dreaming about the VGT anymore.

The Pete's box costs around 28k, and is plug and play, and supposedly boosts the power to 90bhp and torque to 230nm, which is very similar to the linea's figures anyway. So, yes- it is going to be much more easier and cheaper to get a Pete's dabba.

If anyone has info on an intercooler upgrade in the swift, please let me know

Last edited by rippergeo : 15th January 2009 at 22:14.
rippergeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2009, 22:51   #9
Senior - BHPian
 
kpzen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 5,545
Thanked: 1,598 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rippergeo View Post
If anyone has info on an intercooler upgrade in the swift, please let me know
OMG Doc ! Hope u are not prescribing turbo, VGTs and intercoolers to your patients..

I'll give u an idea.
Plonk the 1.5 Crdi in your Swift.
kpzen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2009, 23:53   #10
Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: ERNAKULAM
Posts: 947
Thanked: 317 Times
Default Far easier to put in the variables for the 1.6 version of the engine

I read somewhere that the mechanical parts to convert the 1.3 engine of the swift into a 1.6 is minimal. Is comeone thinking along these lines. The 1.6 is sold in China and elsewhere too.
Drool on. Infact I had pleaded with Mangesh to influence the top honchos at FIAT to bring out the 120bhp version of the 1.6 engine when they release the Linea but they have not taken heed as you all know.

Fiat Bravo: All the strengths of the new 1.6 Multijet 16v engine

::ITALIASPEED::


If you want more power in the 120bhp vgt version then you can put in this.
P-Tronic additional box-units :: power kit ::engine chips :: diesel chips :: power box-units :: diesel tuning :: power box-unit :: chiptuning :: increase engine power :: diesel booster :: TDI tuning :: additional box-unit (NEW)


If you have the FGT with 115bhp then you can put in the P-Tronic and still have the same torque as the VGT with the P-tronic.

Last edited by drpullockaran : 16th January 2009 at 00:02.
drpullockaran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2009, 07:17   #11
Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: India
Posts: 1,745
Thanked: 19 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by drpullockaran View Post
I read somewhere that the mechanical parts to convert the 1.3 engine of the swift into a 1.6 is minimal.
Doc, would you please give us more details on this?
rippergeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2009, 09:34   #12
BHPian
 
sameel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: cochin
Posts: 268
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

are you guys joking?? or plain crazy?? 1.3 to 1.6??!

even a rebore job wont be able to increase the capacity to 1.6L ??

consider the simple math. .3\1.3 = .23

therefore 23% increase in engine capacity by changing mechanical parts!!

you will have to change the whole engine block. FGT unit might be retained. but still

1.3l to 1.6l without reboring is impossible.

and mind you guys the reboring is not as simple as a job in gasoline engines.

you have to deal here with five set of injections per cylinder for each power stroke.

the fuel spray pattern will go for a toss if the reboring is done like this!!



the best and cheap way for you guys will be to put in a bigger turbo . small problem though the swift engine bay is too small. the oem turbo is only as huge as ones palm!!

1.6 gasoline engine can be taken by the chassis but not the 1.6 diesel engine.

dont think in lines of power boosting only!! think of reliability also.

if you guys want then i can lay down all the options available for power increase. but dont think of 1.3 to 1.6 . its impossible without some serious engine block upgrades!

and any idea on the complexity involved to take care of the vibration balancing??

the firing order is 1-3-2-4 there is a tolerance level of +-.07% ( i might be wrong not sure of the tolerance this is OEM dependent) for the change between cylinder capacities.

for example like cylinder 1 is 300cc then cylinder 2 can be like 301cc or 299cc etc. and based on this the ECU adjusts the SOE for each injectors!

but with 1.3l to 1.6l this whole tolerance thing will go for a real bad toss. and the spray pattern wont be proper. hell injections can even overlap! and yes the injectors would have to be upgraded as well!!

meaning the injectors will have higher current rating like say instead of .1A current required for OEM injectors, the after market ones will require .12A since the valves have to open more! or its possible that the after market injectors are rated at .1A itself. even then the injection windows will have to be changed to meet the higher capacity! ECU will have to be re-programmed accordingly..

the complxity goes on..

in short dont think on those lines. lolz. trouble over right?
cheers
sameel
sameel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2009, 21:22   #13
Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: India
Posts: 1,745
Thanked: 19 Times
Default

@sameel- i'm glad you're here.
I dont think drpull is talking about reboring, He's talking about the block being changed, we'll wait for details.

So tell us, what are the options
You've already said bigger FG turbo. what else? And wont we need a standalone ECU for that?
rippergeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2009, 21:54   #14
BHPian
 
josepeter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 415
Thanked: 547 Times
Default

Shouldn't the increased power be complemented by better brakes and stiffer springs etc! Or is it safe to get the power upgrade to 90 without upgrading the rest of the car?
josepeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2009, 22:12   #15
BANNED
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: shenzen
Posts: 154
Thanked: 23 Times
Smile there is no diesel car in china is a petrol country

Quote:
Originally Posted by drpullockaran View Post
I read somewhere that the mechanical parts to convert the 1.3 engine of the swift into a 1.6 is minimal. Is comeone thinking along these lines. The 1.6 is sold in China and elsewhere too.
Drool on. Infact I had pleaded with Mangesh to influence the top honchos at FIAT to bring out the 120bhp version of the 1.6 engine when they release the Linea but they have not taken heed as you all know.

Fiat Bravo: All the strengths of the new 1.6 Multijet 16v engine

::ITALIASPEED::


If you want more power in the 120bhp vgt version then you can put in this.
P-Tronic additional box-units :: power kit ::engine chips :: diesel chips :: power box-units :: diesel tuning :: power box-unit :: chiptuning :: increase engine power :: diesel booster :: TDI tuning :: additional box-unit (NEW)


If you have the FGT with 115bhp then you can put in the P-Tronic and still have the same torque as the VGT with the P-tronic.
hi
since i am based in china there no diesel cars sold in china
also suzuki swift sold in china is 1.5 petrol and 1.3
there is suzuki swift 1.6 sport sold in china
hope things are clear
since i live in china
regards
narry
narry is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrades for Verna VGT kruzader Tyre & Alloy wheel Section 46 11th October 2009 14:08
Scorpio DX CRDE vs Verna VGT sh@rpshooter SUVs, MUVs & 4x4s 27 7th March 2009 18:40
Hyundai Verna(VGT) test drive(torture drive) tsk1979 Test-Drives & Initial Ownership Reports 67 3rd October 2008 20:20
VGT/VNT Questions Rahulk76 Technical Stuff 2 14th August 2007 19:32
Variable Geometry Turbo - VGT NFS_Carbon Technical Stuff 7 1st December 2006 23:12


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 18:58.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks