Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Technical Stuff

Old 3rd May 2005, 12:27   #1
Default Cornering force

I have a doubt regarding cornering force and self-rightening torque produced in for wheelers during cornering.I understood that when a car is taking a turn, a side thrust is produced
beacause of centrifugal force, then as i studied in an automotive book that beacuse of this
side thrust, the car wheels slip to a certain angle to counteract this side thurst and this
slip is caused due to distortion of the tyres.This is where i did not understand the concept
of tyre distortion and slip angle.morever it was mentioned that a cornering force will act on
the wheels, not at the center but at a distance from the center of the wheel causing a torque
to be produced called as self-rightening torque. Can you please explain how.And one final question,
the concept of under and over steering was explained based on the slip angles, so i need some
clarification of that is mentioned above.Thanks in advance
Held is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2005, 12:48   #2
Distinguished - BHPian

Let me answer your second question.

Understeer : Centripetal Force, that is, the body continutes to move towards the centre of the circle along its radius. Usually caused in Front Wheel Drive and to some extent in Front engined vehicles

Oversteer : Centrifugal Force, that is, the body moves along the circumference of the circle. Similar to the fact that when you tie a stone to a string and circulate it by holding the end of the string. This is cauzed in Rear Wheel Drive cars, Rear / Mid engined cars.
Hope I was little clear.
Had this in my 12th standard Physics
Stratos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2005, 13:25   #3