Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Technical Stuff


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 28th October 2009, 09:32   #286
BHPian
 
anmolbedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Noida
Posts: 58
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

@sushant5,

If you are using Premium diesels, please refrain from them, they emit black smoke in QJD engine.
anmolbedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th October 2009, 11:16   #287
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Pune
Posts: 553
Thanked: 214 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anmolbedi View Post
@sushant5,

If you are using Premium diesels, please refrain from them, they emit black smoke in QJD engine.

I am aware of this thing. I usually fill diesel from reliable diesel pump.
sushantr5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2009, 11:43   #288
BHPian
 
DieselAddikt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 446
Thanked: 293 Times
Default

I had a problem with my Vista yesterday evening.

As usual i started the car and waited for some 30 seconds and switched on the blower. But nothing happened. Increased the fan speed and checked. That is when i realized that the blower was not working.

The Recirculation ON/OFF switch is not working. And the AC ON/OFF switch is not working either. These two may be because the blower is not getting switched on.

What could be the reason for the blower not working ? Could it be a blown fuse ? Or will it be something else ? I'd like to get atleast a vague idea before giving the car to the TASC. Or i'll have to buy their stories. So can the gurus please help me ? An immedeate response will be of great help.
DieselAddikt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2009, 12:25   #289
Senior - BHPian
 
trrk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Alleppey, Kerala
Posts: 2,113
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

Hi,

Quote:
Originally Posted by DieselAddikt View Post
What could be the reason for the blower not working ? Could it be a blown fuse
It is most likely the fuse.

See the following post and the two below that.

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/test-d...ml#post1399106 (Indica Vista Aqua TDi Artic Silver. 7 Months and 10,000 KMs)

The owner's manual would have the fuse details else the fuse box cover would have the details. These are standard fuses and you would get them in any spare parts shop.

If it is indeed the fuse and if it blows again after changing, you would have to check the electrical part.

It is an orange coloured 5A fuse in the Indica and its cousins.

Hope this helps!
trrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2009, 13:38   #290
BHPian
 
DieselAddikt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 446
Thanked: 293 Times
Default

"I am luvin it"... This palce (TBHP) is so good.
Thanks a TON trrk.

Now i know what to do once i get out of office. Will get the fuse replaced by my neighbour first. He is a mechanic. Will take it to TASC only if that doesnt work. I believe that would not cause any other damage to the car.
DieselAddikt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2009, 16:41   #291
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Pune
Posts: 553
Thanked: 214 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DieselAddikt View Post
"I am luvin it"... This palce (TBHP) is so good.
Thanks a TON trrk.

Now i know what to do once i get out of office. Will get the fuse replaced by my neighbour first. He is a mechanic. Will take it to TASC only if that doesnt work. I believe that would not cause any other damage to the car.
You dont even need to go to Mechanic. You can manage it by yourself. On the cover they have given clear information about Fuses, which fuse is for what. And there you will find fuse remover too, using that remove the fuse, check it and replace with extra fuse provided.
sushantr5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2009, 18:13   #292
Senior - BHPian
 
trrk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Alleppey, Kerala
Posts: 2,113
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

Hi,

Quote:
Originally Posted by DieselAddikt View Post
"I am luvin it"... This palce (TBHP) is so good.
Thanks a TON trrk.
If it has helped, I am happy. Thanks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DieselAddikt View Post
Will get the fuse replaced by my neighbour first. He is a mechanic. I believe that would not cause any other damage to the car.
As Sushant has pointed out it is a simple thing to do. But if you are not the do it yourself type, get it done as you have suggested.

Replace it with the same capacity fuse. Remember to check at the service centre, if the fuse is blown again.

I guess there would not be any other damage in the present scenario.

All the best and report your findings and resolution, so that it would benefit everybody.
trrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2009, 20:18   #293
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NA
Posts: 15
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

There is an occasional problem with engaging reverse gear in my QJD. The reverse indicators light up but upon release of clutch there is a grinding noise and the gear doesn't engage. I'll have to release and re-engage it.
Rarely while moving in reverse gear the vehicle stops suddenly with a loud metal clank, If I release and re-engage reverse gear it moves as if nothing happened (this happened twice in the 2000 Km I've driven so far).
mod-the-pc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2009, 21:15   #294
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Pune
Posts: 553
Thanked: 214 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mod-the-pc View Post
There is an occasional problem with engaging reverse gear in my QJD. The reverse indicators light up but upon release of clutch there is a grinding noise and the gear doesn't engage. I'll have to release and re-engage it.
Rarely while moving in reverse gear the vehicle stops suddenly with a loud metal clank, If I release and re-engage reverse gear it moves as if nothing happened (this happened twice in the 2000 Km I've driven so far).
This happens to me every time when I try to put car in reverse gear, either I have to push hard or release clutch and again push hard.
sushantr5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2009, 22:30   #295
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NA
Posts: 15
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

@sushantr5, did you talk to the Tata service centre about this ?
mod-the-pc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2009, 10:34   #296
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Pune
Posts: 553
Thanked: 214 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mod-the-pc View Post
@sushantr5, did you talk to the Tata service centre about this ?
Nope, I will speak about this in my 30k kms service.
sushantr5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2009, 10:47   #297
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 70
Thanked: 21 Times
Default

My car [Vista QJD] is in the garage and this time for a long time. I used to have a slight shuddering when i engage in 1st gear and release the clutch. This problem had persisted from day-1 and i was complaining. During the 3rd service, i made a strong remark about the same not being fixed. So, TASS decided to get it done and it seems there is a problem with some bushes in the gear assembly

Now comes the best part. Since my car had done just 10000kms, it seems TATA does not approve of opening the gear box assembly below 10K kms. So, in warranty period, they are replacing teh entire gear box assembly. They have placed the order and it should be here in 1 week's time. I just hope, that they dont screw something else when they fit the assembly.
svdath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2009, 11:06   #298
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,838
Thanked: 1,317 Times
Default

svdath. Most of us would be happy with the gearbox replacement instead of repair. Tata is actually shelling out $$ so that your car remains new
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2009, 11:16   #299
BHPian
 
DieselAddikt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 446
Thanked: 293 Times
Default

Sushant and trrk, Thanks a lot for your suggestions.

I decided to replace the fuse myself. But when i opened, i found that no fuse was blown. So i casually put that back in place and started the car. This time the blower worked. So the problem must have been a loose contact. Since i dint want this to happen with other fuses also, i pulled out all the fuses one by one and placed them firmly in the slots. So far so good.
DieselAddikt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2009, 13:19   #300
Senior - BHPian
 
trrk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Alleppey, Kerala
Posts: 2,113
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

Hi,

Quote:
Originally Posted by DieselAddikt View Post
Sushant and trrk, Thanks a lot for your suggestions.
The pleasure was ours!

Quote:
Originally Posted by DieselAddikt View Post
I decided to replace the fuse myself. So the problem must have been a loose contact. Since i dint want this to happen with other fuses also, i pulled out all the fuses one by one and placed them firmly in the slots. So far so good.
Sorry not to have given that suggestion! Now that you have put each of them properly, you should not have any problem because of loose connection.

The fuse box placement in the Indica and its cousins is a pain to open and close the lid. I understand that the Vista fuse box is placed better. How did you feel?
trrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fiat Palio MJD - Known Problems Ice Technical Stuff 304 23rd October 2016 13:31
Help Required Indica Vista Safire or Indica Vista TDI Logical Hatchbacks 63 30th October 2011 08:57


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 09:27.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks