Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Technical Stuff

Old 28th February 2009, 16:22   #1
BHPian

Default 2001 Zen axle, clutch, bumper queries

Dear Team,

My first post on Team-BHP! I'm excited!

I have a second-hand 2001 Zen AX that's logged 45,100 km. It's been in the family for the last 4 years/since 35k odometer reading. Small-town use until May '08, when we put it on a truck and shipped it over to Delhi for my use. Only city use since then (39k reading).

A few weeks ago I was driving home on a reasonably familiar road that I hadn't been on for a few months (Minto Road, off CP) when I encountered a gigantic, really large, unmarked and unlit undulation in the road surface at high speed. I couldn't slow down in time, and the car literally went flying over it. I was airborne for a second or so, and then came crashing down with a thud that sent my heart into my mouth. I stopped and checked for obvious external damage, but there was none-- not that I'm an expert.

I got the car's 45k km service done yesterday, and when I picked it up the service advisor informed me that there's a "leak" from one of the rear "shocks", and, worse, that my "rear RHS axle" is "making noises" and needs to be replaced! (He didn't mention any wheel rim distortion, which is the other thing I was worried about after the crash. I rotated, aligned, and balanced the wheels as part of the service.)

Quoting from the service report: "RR shocker, both bumper, brake pad, RH axle need change. Clutch need O/H."

Questions:

(Q1) I'm a student and simply can't afford to be replacing axles and shock absorbers (springs? bushes? --I don't know the correct term) for another six months or so, hence my question is-- is it safe to ignore the MASS recommendation and continue driving as before, given that I can't hear any suspension noises myself or feel any problems in the vehicle's handling? Or should I have the diagnosis of "making noise and needs to be changed" verified by a local mechanic?