Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Technical Stuff


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 9th May 2005, 18:14   #16
Senior - BHPian
 
normally_crazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 4,367
Thanked: 387 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shan2nu
Spoke to Honda the other day and they said they can still provide brand new Vtec engines.

Shan2nu

why not ask them to tune it for more power since they will be providing the new engine....possible right ?
normally_crazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2005, 18:43   #17
BHPian
 
Harrie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: KA 03, KL 12, TN 38
Posts: 699
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jigarmuni
Oh dunt i like that figure!! .....The best part is the rev limiter hits in as late as 7500rpm..... where else in the other cars it hits in as early as 6500rpm!!
Jigar i think in the GTX its a bit higher... 7100 rpm??? i am not too sure but i have definitely seen the needle dip past 7000 rpm mark. Not sure as it is the factory tacho.
Harrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2005, 19:14   #18
GTO
Team-BHP Support
 
GTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 47,749
Thanked: 89,408 Times
Default

Quote:
The best part is the rev limiter hits in as late as 7500rpm..... where else in the other cars it hits in as early as 6500rpm!!
Am I missing something? My Vtecs limiter kicks in at 7100 rpm

GTO
GTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2005, 19:18   #19
Senior - BHPian
 
Shan2nu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Hubli - Karnata
Posts: 5,525
Thanked: 87 Times
Default

Quote:
why not ask them to tune it for more power since they will be providing the new engine....possible right ?
Company is not allowed to do that. Tuning companies like Mugen can take care of that though.

Shan2nu
Shan2nu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2005, 20:35   #20
BHPian
 
jigarmuni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 139
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GTO
Am I missing something? My Vtecs limiter kicks in at 7100 rpm

GTO

The redlining starts from 7100rpm, but i went beyond the 7100rpm and the limiter always kicks in at 7500rpm......!!!

Guys i have hit 7500rpm in my vtec....now i am wondering if there is something wrong with my Vtec...

GTO & shan2nu....are u sure that in your Vtecs, the limiter kicks at 7100rpm....coz.. i have driven the 1.5 also.... in the 1.5 the limiter kicks in at 7100rpm...!
jigarmuni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2005, 21:03   #21
Senior - BHPian
 
Shan2nu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Hubli - Karnata
Posts: 5,525
Thanked: 87 Times
Default

Quote:
GTO & shan2nu....are u sure that in your Vtecs, the limiter kicks at 7100rpm
I'm not sure coz i usually shift at 7000 rpm. And i don't intend to try it either.

But, all magazines say that the Vtec cannot hit 100kmph (true speed) in 2nd gear which clearly means that the car cannot go beyond 7100 rpm. At 7500rpm the car should be doing 105-107kmph (true speed).

Quote:
Guys i have hit 7500rpm in my vtec....now i am wondering if there is something wrong with my Vtec...
You might want to get that clarified with Honda.

Shan2nu

Last edited by Shan2nu : 9th May 2005 at 21:04.
Shan2nu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2005, 22:26   #22
BHPian
 
jigarmuni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 139
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

shan2nu, its not necessary that the more u rev the car the more it will accelerate..! Coz... after about 6900rpm the dead zone starts....where in the car will only rev....but will not accelerate further...! The figure is different for different engines of the same make..! It may vary at about 100-300 Rpm...! So even when i rev the car till 7500rpm, it doesnt make sense...coz...after 6800 or 7000rpm the car will only make the engine noise....wont accelerate further!!

but somehow the 7500rpm figure gives a good feeling! :d
jigarmuni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2005, 23:13   #23
GTO
Team-BHP Support
 
GTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 47,749
Thanked: 89,408 Times
Default

Dude,

If anything, something is right with your Vtec

Just had a run after dinner and I can confirm that my limiter cuts it off at 71xx rpm. If your car is a pre-2002, the ECM is calibrated differently. My car is a 2003 "adjusted" ECM make.

We got to have a 0 - 100 the next time around

GTO
GTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2005, 23:20   #24
Senior - BHPian
 
Shan2nu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Hubli - Karnata
Posts: 5,525
Thanked: 87 Times
Default

Quote:
Coz... after about 6900rpm the dead zone starts....where in the car will only rev....but will not accelerate further...!
Why do you think i shift at 7000, even though i still have another 100rpm to go. Hehe

But there's one thing, your engine rpm is directly related to your vehicle speed. You can't have an engine accelerating without the car gaining speed unless your clutch, any of the drivetrain/transmission components or the tyres are slipping.

Shan2nu
Shan2nu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2005, 05:56   #25
BHPian
 
jigarmuni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 139
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GTO
If your car is a pre-2002, the ECM is calibrated differently. My car is a 2003 "adjusted" ECM make.

We got to have a 0 - 100 the next time around
GTO
ahhh, u said it mate...! My Vtec is 2001...!!

But then 0-100kph, wouldnt make sense with my tyres (205/45/ZR16)..... it will be slower, then a stock Vtec also!! (Got Freeflow and K&N cone)....But i still have to clock myself...! I know its stupid...coz...clocking 0-100 is the first thing u do with ur Vtec !
jigarmuni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2005, 08:36   #26
Team-BHP Support
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 11,893
Thanked: 9,732 Times
Default

Reality time - as a Vtec user, the Vtec needs to be revved to get the torque out of it. It is a pain in traffic conditions, fine if you drive on highways etc where you don't need to summon the torque. I would focus on something for low down torque rather than out and out power where you need a ladder to reach to the top of the rev spectrum to get hold of the torque.
ajmat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2005, 09:24   #27
GTO
Team-BHP Support
 
GTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 47,749
Thanked: 89,408 Times
Default

Ajmat,

You really ought to drive my Vtec in traffic conditions - its a splendid drive. I dont know whether its the recalibrated ECM or the Speed93 but low speed driveability has never been an issue.

Butttttttttttttt I use the torque monster (my Jeep) during the day. Come late night and its time to take the Vtec on the road. Month after month, my Vtec covers more km during the a.m. than p.m.

GTO
GTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2005, 10:24   #28
Team-BHP Support
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 11,893
Thanked: 9,732 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GTO
Ajmat,


Butttttttttttttt I use the torque monster (my Jeep) during the day. Come late night and its time to take the Vtec on the road. Month after month, my Vtec covers more km during the a.m. than p.m.

GTO
Low speed drivability is not the issue, the low torque is frustrating at times during stop-start traffic.

You have kind of said it when you mention that you take the Vtec out at night. Unbeatable on empty roads
ajmat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2009, 18:17   #29
BHPian
 
di1in's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Bnglr&Thrissur
Posts: 384
Thanked: 66 Times
Default

There's probably no difference. I got this dual along with the free flow from Raj that i bought with SYJs help. But now i'm looking for a way to quieten it down. Any ideas guys ? It's really urgent - my dads about to kick me out !

The last one's a pic taken through the end can, i suppose it's under those perforations the glass wool is kept. Heard if i increase that it'll be more silent.. any point in that ?
Attached Thumbnails
Why is the OHC Vtec exhaust muffler different?-28052009197.jpg  

Why is the OHC Vtec exhaust muffler different?-28052009199.jpg  

Why is the OHC Vtec exhaust muffler different?-28052009201.jpg  

Why is the OHC Vtec exhaust muffler different?-28052009202.jpg  

Why is the OHC Vtec exhaust muffler different?-28052009204.jpg  


Last edited by di1in : 28th May 2009 at 18:19.
di1in is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wanted: OHC VTEC or OHC 1.5 adit1329 Shifting gears 5 22nd June 2012 17:00
Help with OHC Muffler replacement johnda Modifications & Accessories 34 30th May 2009 23:05
Sports muffler / exhaust system for Fiesta TDci s0uljah Modifications & Accessories 7 2nd October 2007 23:54
Muffler - OHC killjoy Shifting gears 2 3rd July 2006 23:56
free flow exhaust muffler for ohc club_honda Modifications & Accessories 23 14th June 2005 04:10


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 10:02.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks