Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Technical Stuff


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 5th May 2009, 16:48   #1
BHPian
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 366
Thanked: Once
Default Air-con Blower not working

so yesterday it was a scorcher and i was driving around. i stopped at a shop, got back in the car and turned the AC blower regulator. normally i keep the AC button always on and switch off only the fan so that when i turn the fan regulator, the AC comes on as well.

well yesterday, the AC button was glowing like it's on but the fan isn't working. i couldn't make out whether the compressor was being switched on. the fan isn't coming on even with the AC switch off.

so what are the possibilities i'm looking at? actually i know what are the possibilities, but i need to know approx costs of replacement if needed). and also i need to know that the compressor is ok. thanks in advance
silver_shadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2009, 16:56   #2
Senior - BHPian
 
sammyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Gurgaon/Doon
Posts: 1,738
Thanked: 338 Times
Default

Check the fuse. That would most probably be the culprit.
sammyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2009, 16:57   #3
Team-BHP Support
 
benbsb29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 8,022
Thanked: 3,480 Times
Default

Did you check the fuse? I am not sure, but there should be a fuse for the same. Do check if thats blown.
benbsb29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2009, 17:03   #4
BHPian
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 366
Thanked: Once
Default

nope haven't had the time to check. i will check it maybe tonight when i get back home. till i do, the possibilities build up in my head :(
silver_shadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2009, 17:08   #5
Team-BHP Support
 
benbsb29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 8,022
Thanked: 3,480 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by silver_shadow View Post
nope haven't had the time to check. i will check it maybe tonight when i get back home. till i do, the possibilities build up in my head :(
SS, do you have access to the manual, to know which is the fuse you're looking for? Else, please ask.
benbsb29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2009, 17:32   #6
BHPian
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 366
Thanked: Once
Default

ben: thanks yes i do have the user manual. also the 1.6 has the fuse numbers with functions printed on the cover panel.
silver_shadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2009, 16:46   #7
BHPian
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 366
Thanked: Once
Default

UPDATE:

fuse checked - it's ok.

then i had some work in richmond town, and once done i had some extra time and went over to metro ford for a quick check. so it turns out the compressor is ok. switch/regulator ok and the fuse is also ok. BUT they say that the motor will need to be opened to see what's up.

they also claimed it'll take 2 days! (something i find ridiculous).

but anyway, on the way back they had accidentally left the AC button on and the fan on as well and i noticed cool air coming through. the fan is working! it's not completely given up. BUT it's not as fast as before and hence the cooling is suffering slightly. so next step is open up the motor. i hope it can be serviced rather than replaced!
silver_shadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2013, 16:50   #8
Senior - BHPian
 
coolboy007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 1,717
Thanked: 1,440 Times
Default Fiat Linea - AC blower not working

I have been lately having issues with my car's air conditioning system, its a Fiat Linea 1.4 Emotion pack which comes with automatic climate control. Its 4 years old now with 44000 on the odo, its out of extended warranty now.

From the past 2 months, the climate control fan used to intermittently stop throwing cold air for 10-15 seconds and then came back on, the issue used to occur only once or twice a week so i didnt pay attention and just ignored it as the next service was only a few thousand km's away.

From today it has completely stopped working, i can hear the compressor clutch engaging but its not throwing any air inside, tried using heater but nothing, its behaving as if the blower motor has failed , tried searching online but think am the first one to have this issue.

What could have failed? Tried switching climate control fan fuse in the fuse box inside with something else but its not working, should i visit the Fiat ASC or some trusted outside mechanic?
coolboy007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2013, 16:56   #9
Senior - BHPian
 
akshay4587's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chandigarh/Mohali/Ambala Cantt
Posts: 3,756
Thanked: 1,553 Times
Default Re: Fiat Linea - AC blower not working

You mean the blower used to go off and then come on intermittently?
I had the same issue in my Linea,Blower resistor has blown,you will have to get it replaced for ~2600 bucks.
akshay4587 is offline   (2) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2013, 17:07   #10
Senior - BHPian
 
coolboy007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 1,717
Thanked: 1,440 Times
Default Re: Fiat Linea - AC blower not working

Quote:
Originally Posted by akshay4587 View Post
You mean the blower used to go off and then come on intermittently?
I had the same issue in my Linea,Blower resistor has blown,you will have to get it replaced for ~2600 bucks.
Exactly the same issue akshay , it used to go off and then come on intermittently. So need to get the blower resistor changed? Any reason why it failed within 4 years? Also the cost of 2600 is at a fiat service centre or outside?
Thanks
coolboy007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2013, 17:53   #11
Senior - BHPian
 
akshay4587's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chandigarh/Mohali/Ambala Cantt
Posts: 3,756
Thanked: 1,553 Times
Default Re: Fiat Linea - AC blower not working

Quote:
Originally Posted by coolboy007 View Post
Exactly the same issue akshay , it used to go off and then come on intermittently. So need to get the blower resistor changed? Any reason why it failed within 4 years? Also the cost of 2600 is at a fiat service centre or outside?
Thanks
Mine failed in 3 years.2600 is at after sales.
akshay4587 is offline   (1) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2013, 12:20   #12
Senior - BHPian
 
coolboy007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 1,717
Thanked: 1,440 Times
Default

At Kashyap Fiat, Okhla, Delhi right now and their mechanic has diagnosed that the blower motor needs to be replaced, the wiring inside has melted for some reason, the part is in stock, cost 4500.
coolboy007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2013, 16:23   #13
Senior - BHPian
 
puchoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Delhi / Shimla
Posts: 1,433
Thanked: 750 Times
Default Re: Air-con Blower not working

Since the car is out of warranty you might want to check with 99 RPM and see if they have it available - their prices could be considerably cheaper than Kashyap.

Quote:
Originally Posted by coolboy007 View Post
At Kashyap Fiat, Okhla, Delhi right now and their mechanic has diagnosed that the blower motor needs to be replaced, the wiring inside has melted for some reason, the part is in stock, cost 4500.
puchoo is offline   (1) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2013, 16:36   #14
Senior - BHPian
 
akshay4587's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chandigarh/Mohali/Ambala Cantt
Posts: 3,756
Thanked: 1,553 Times
Default Re: Air-con Blower not working

Quote:
Originally Posted by coolboy007 View Post
At Kashyap Fiat, Okhla, Delhi right now and their mechanic has diagnosed that the blower motor needs to be replaced, the wiring inside has melted for some reason, the part is in stock, cost 4500.
Melted wiring,that is a serious issue,could have sparked a fire as well
akshay4587 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2013, 18:56   #15
Senior - BHPian
 
govigov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Cochin!!!!!
Posts: 1,314
Thanked: 431 Times
Default Re: Air-con Blower not working

When a blower is changed, will it lead to a drop in the refrigerant gas? After a blower change in my car, the AC is not as effective as it used to be. I think there is a drop in the refrigerant gas. did you need to fill up / top up the R134 gas after a blower change?
govigov is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIY: Cleaning the WagonR's air-con blower audioholic DIY - Do it yourself 29 19th April 2016 09:19
DIY: Cleaning the air-con blower of the Maruti Swift a4anurag DIY - Do it yourself 18 14th May 2015 20:15
Idling with the air con/music system working? fireblade007 Technical Stuff 13 8th February 2010 21:22
A/C blower 1 and 2 setting not working Dippy Technical Stuff 13 13th November 2009 15:36
Nissan Quest - Intermittent air-con blower speed vivekiny2k Technical Stuff 1 21st July 2009 13:11


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 02:45.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks