Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Technical Stuff


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11th December 2009, 00:39   #1
Team-BHP Support
 
.anshuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Good-Gaon
Posts: 7,714
Thanked: 8,934 Times
Default Linea meters in Punto; Is it Possible?

Punto has very good meters, they look even better in the night with orange lights with intensity control. See the picture below.

Linea meters in Punto; Is it Possible?-pu1-large.jpg


But the problem is, Linea comes with even better meters. I feel they are the best meters on any car made in india. Have a look at the picture below (took it from some other thread on TBHP)

Linea meters in Punto; Is it Possible?-l1.jpg


Coming to the point, both the meters have similar shape and similar dials. So my Question is: Can the Linea meters be used in Punto without modifications?
If yes, what should be the cost? Fellow BHPians please share your thoughts.


.
.anshuman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th December 2009, 01:13   #2
BHPian
 
sushanthr77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mangalore / DXB
Posts: 280
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

Even if this mod is possible you may encounter the spare parts issue. I am sure you don't wanna run from corner to corner, sending mails (xxx@fial), escalating to higher authorities, identifying the part numbers, making frantic calls, visiting the service center several times, fighting with the service managers, starting a new emotional thread, blaa, blaa, blaa...

Do you really want to tamper with a perfectly working Fiat?

[pun intended]
sushanthr77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th December 2009, 01:31   #3
Team-BHP Support
 
.anshuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Good-Gaon
Posts: 7,714
Thanked: 8,934 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sushanthr77 View Post
Even if this mod is possible you may encounter the spare parts issue. I am sure you don't wanna run from corner to corner, sending mails (xxx@fial), escalating to higher authorities, identifying the part numbers, making frantic calls, visiting the service center several times, fighting with the service managers, starting a new emotional thread, blaa, blaa, blaa...

Do you really want to tamper with a perfectly working Fiat?

[pun intended]
There are many ways to get a job done, I don't think Fiat is a bomb waiting to explode, so tampering might cause serious concerns. I obviously wont temper with something that is going to cause trouble in future.

Ill go ahead with the job only after i find it feasible and ill source the required parts accordingly SO i dont see myself running corner to corner, Sending mails to someone in Fiat, Escalating to higher authorities, making frantic calls, visiting the service centers several times, fighting with the service managers, starting a emotional thread and all the blaa blaa listed by you. Why do you think i will need to do so?

I bought a Punto knowing that Fiat service support is nothing great, i just bought the car because i found it worth buying even without proper support.
.anshuman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th December 2009, 01:48   #4
Senior - BHPian
 
govigov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Cochin!!!!!
Posts: 1,314
Thanked: 431 Times
Default

i think you can just put in a white dial plate in the back so that it looks like the linea meters, without actually changing the meters itself.
govigov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th December 2009, 01:56   #5
Team-BHP Support
 
.anshuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Good-Gaon
Posts: 7,714
Thanked: 8,934 Times
Default

@Govigov: Even Changing just the dial might serve the purpose. Good idea. Thanks a lot.
.anshuman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th December 2009, 08:25   #6
Distinguished - BHPian
 
phamilyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 5,601
Thanked: 3,452 Times
Default

I agree. Its almost the same layout, but different back plates. I am sure there are jugaads for that which can be done!
phamilyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th December 2009, 08:33   #7
Senior - BHPian
 
clevermax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tvm/Amsterdam
Posts: 1,601
Thanked: 403 Times
Default

I think it should be a direct plug & play if you have the spare part with you.... But IMO, they are very good looking meters, but probably not the best ones in any car in India.
clevermax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th December 2009, 08:35   #8
Team-BHP Support
 
theMAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 7,034
Thanked: 1,471 Times
Default

Are all the warning indicators also same? If yes, then it should be a portable swap.
theMAG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th December 2009, 11:37   #9
Senior - BHPian
 
finneyp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,619
Thanked: 160 Times
Default

If both the console are of the same dimension & offer the same functions, it should definitly be possible!

BTW, I am was wondering If I can fit Punto's console in my Palio
finneyp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11th December 2009, 14:00   #10
Team-BHP Support
 
.anshuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Good-Gaon
Posts: 7,714
Thanked: 8,934 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phamilyman View Post
I agree. Its almost the same layout, but different back plates. I am sure there are jugaads for that which can be done!
Will get it checked from Fiat service center.

Quote:
Originally Posted by clevermax View Post
they are very good looking meters, but probably not the best ones in any car in India.
I said 'any car made in India', I was not very serious with the statement anyways. I can recall a lot of other cars with very good meters.

Quote:
Originally Posted by theMAG View Post
Are all the warning indicators also same? If yes, then it should be a portable swap.
This is the my main concern, will compare both the meters properly.

Quote:
Originally Posted by finneyp View Post
BTW, I was wondering If I can fit Punto's console in my Palio
This wont be as easy as the plug and play swap for Punto.



Any idea how much would the whole meter assembly would cost?
.anshuman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th December 2009, 14:57   #11
Senior - BHPian
 
clevermax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tvm/Amsterdam
Posts: 1,601
Thanked: 403 Times
Default

Palio's meter's cost was 11K 2 years back. Punto's will be only more than that.
clevermax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2009, 12:47   #12
Senior - BHPian
 
recshenoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Mangalore / Bangalore
Posts: 1,056
Thanked: 91 Times
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by clevermax View Post
Palio's meter's cost was 11K 2 years back. Punto's will be only more than that.
Palio meter console costs 13.5K now

Quote:
Originally Posted by finneyp View Post
If both the console are of the same dimension & offer the same functions, it should definitly be possible!

BTW, I am was wondering If I can fit Punto's console in my Palio
why not fit Punto in place of Palio
recshenoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2009, 12:54   #13
Senior - BHPian
 
beejay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Nilgiris
Posts: 1,916
Thanked: 109 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by finneyp View Post
BTW, I am was wondering If I can fit Punto's console in my Palio
Please don't. Let the original meter be.
beejay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2009, 13:33   #14
BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Chennai
Posts: 633
Thanked: 624 Times
Default

Another question on the same lines -

Is it possible to add the Linea's front arm rest on my Punto? What the costs would be?

Last edited by CliffHanger : 12th December 2009 at 13:35.
CliffHanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2009, 13:40   #15
Senior - BHPian
 
wildon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,405
Thanked: 1,040 Times
Default

^^^

Linea speedo .It comes as a set ,here is the pic
Name:  naread.png
Views: 1105
Size:  7.6 KB

and having 3 different part numbers

Part no. 51843345 GD +V1 ACTIVE
Part no. 51843346 GD +V2 DYNAMIC
Part no. 51843852 GD +V3 EMOTION
wildon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Cheating Auto Drivers of Bangalore. Be careful even with digital meters! nirmalts Street Experiences 210 21st September 2012 20:10
Grande Punto Facelift: From baby Maserati to Punto Evo EDIT: Punto 'My Life' on pg.7 sushanthr77 The International Automotive Scene 167 25th November 2011 12:02
Dual DIN on Linea and Punto possible? vigneshram In-Car Entertainment 18 7th April 2011 19:52
Worth waiting for Fabia/Punto/Linea/Renault Sandero? EDIT - Bought Punto ~~VinZ~~ Hatchbacks 25 7th April 2010 16:06
Do Inexpensive Performance Meters Work? Rtech Modifications & Accessories 3 9th May 2007 17:04


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 12:35.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks