Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Technical Stuff


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 3rd February 2010, 10:23   #16
BHPian
 
Ford Rocam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mumbai-India
Posts: 880
Thanked: 16 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wildchild4lyfe View Post
off late my car started stalling everytime i put on the ac or redlined it..
got everything checked and scanned a zillion times nothing showed..
finally i got an ecm from another aveo and the car was fine..!

ok few questions..
can the aveo/optra ecm be repaired?
If it stalls during a.c or redline the vibrations are causing the ecu to stall indicating probable rare cause of dry solder joints. have get that checked before going to next step.

Last edited by Ford Rocam : 3rd February 2010 at 10:30.
Ford Rocam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2010, 10:35   #17
BHPian
 
wildchild4lyfe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: mumbai
Posts: 405
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitrous View Post
+1.
I think its like repairing mobile phones, other electronics.
Replacing is a far better option.
yea i think ill do just that..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ford Rocam View Post
If it stalls during a.c or redline the vibrations are causing the ecu to stall indicating probable rare cause of dry solder joints. have get that checked before going to next step.
hey bud! could you elaborate a bit...thanks..
wildchild4lyfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2010, 12:31   #18
Senior - BHPian
 
pranavt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,628
Thanked: 272 Times
Default

The soldering that has been done on the ECU could have a few dry solder joints (look those up on google/youtube). These solder joints are weak and in a car's harsh environment, can get loosened, or weak very quickly. Checking for these should be as easy as opening up the ECU and using a multimeter to go over the various connections and checking for continuity. Of course, if you are a hobbyist or an electrical engineer only
pranavt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2010, 13:42   #19
BHPian
 
wildchild4lyfe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: mumbai
Posts: 405
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

well i am a hobbyist and i know that the solders are on the ecu board..but then it aint on screws so how do i seal it back on...would silicon do?
wildchild4lyfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2010, 14:44   #20
Senior - BHPian
 
pranavt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,628
Thanked: 272 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wildchild4lyfe View Post
well i am a hobbyist and i know that the solders are on the ecu board..but then it aint on screws so how do i seal it back on...would silicon do?
Suck up the bad solder using desoldering braid and resolder the joints.
pranavt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2010, 14:53   #21
BHPian
 
wildchild4lyfe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: mumbai
Posts: 405
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

@ Pranav: nah man thats not what im talking about..its the metal case outside.
they dont have screws and mechs told me that once opened it cant be refixed..
wildchild4lyfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2010, 14:58   #22
BHPian
 
mdesai_1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 135
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wildchild4lyfe View Post
but this is a sealed box. and a lot of mechs have told me that it cant be repaired..are you sure about this guy mihir?
well actually i have seen this guy actually repairing it. also there is a technique to seal it. what they use is unknown what i feel is you get it repaired and try it if your purpose is solved by paying 1/10th the price why not else you go for a new one if it is not to your expectation.
also you can try at KURLA on CST road there are a lot of scrap dealers. they def must be having one. try it out.
last resort you should buy a new one.
mdesai_1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2010, 15:46   #23
BHPian
 
PJSPEED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Chennai
Posts: 171
Thanked: Once
Default

Have you tryed taking the instrument cluster fuse ??
PJ
PJSPEED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2010, 16:00   #24
007
BHPian
 
007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Nasik
Posts: 83
Thanked: 14 Times
Default Are you sure

ECM is the last part to be blown down the line.

Are you sure you have not tried any mischiefs with the ECM ( remapping, piggy's, or any signal modifier acts) ?

However the only solutions for the cases like this is replacemnt with new one ( similar make) .
007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2010, 10:03   #25
BHPian
 
wildchild4lyfe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: mumbai
Posts: 405
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

Post Deleted by the Team-BHP Support : SMS / Slang is STRICTLY prohibited on this community. We would much appreciate your using full & proper English in posts, for the benefit of other forum users.

Also, avoid typing with excessive dots.........like............this................. .

Please view our board rules carefully before proceeding any further.

Last edited by GTO : 4th February 2010 at 17:16.
wildchild4lyfe is offline   Reply With Quote Received Infraction
Old 8th February 2010, 18:22   #26
BHPian
 
wildchild4lyfe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: mumbai
Posts: 405
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

well we scanned the car a lot of times. ok so yea, i have a doubt about the alternator aswel.
wildchild4lyfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2010, 14:22   #27
BHPian
 
wildchild4lyfe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: mumbai
Posts: 405
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

ok so i was on the highway on my way home. and the alternator belt snapped.the alternator belt and the fan belt are the same thing right? im not sure cz my driver got a mechanic home and he told me over the phone that it was the fan belt.so got that replaced and now the car refuses to start. it is cranking but the compression seems to be very low.
ok can any of you guys give me a solution? or does anyone here tell me what could really be wrong with the car??
the mech was telling me that the car couldnt handle the load from the system.well my system aint that big a banger anyways.
so yea help!
wildchild4lyfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2010, 14:57   #28
Team-BHP Support
 
moralfibre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: MH-12
Posts: 6,622
Thanked: 6,144 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PJSPEED View Post
Have you tryed taking the instrument cluster fuse ??
PJ
This is exactly what I felt as soon as I heard the problem. Hard to blow an ECU.
moralfibre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2010, 15:05   #29
BHPian
 
wildchild4lyfe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: mumbai
Posts: 405
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moralfibre View Post
This is exactly what I felt as soon as I heard the problem. Hard to blow an ECU.

yes all the fuses have been checked.
wildchild4lyfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th March 2010, 12:44   #30
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 613
Thanked: 116 Times
Default

Hi,

I have a 2002 model Gypsy. I had bought it from a dealer in Mayapuri and it is currently undergoing restoration.

An electrician told me that the ECM isn't providing the "earth" for ignition; and the Mayapuri dealer had connected the ignition earth wire from battery (via body shell). He says that it's alright and will give no issues.

What do you guys suggest? Is it alright or it can cause trouble?

And can it be repaired, or will I need to replace the ECM?

Please help.

Cheers

Nitin
ntomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
With rising fuel prices, are small capacity blown petrol engines the way forward? MaserQ Technical Stuff 17 10th August 2011 11:13
pics of a blown toyota paras211 Modifications & Accessories 2 11th January 2008 14:40
hissing noise from speakers when horn is blown gopz In-Car Entertainment 7 14th June 2007 13:40
MS BLOWN into retirement .... khaadu75 Int'l Motorsport 2 23rd October 2006 01:01
RaceR Tech tacho blown! steroidauto Modifications & Accessories 7 5th January 2005 13:23


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 00:34.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks