Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Technical Stuff


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 8th May 2010, 20:48   #1
Senior - BHPian
 
mercedised's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Indore
Posts: 1,070
Thanked: 160 Times
Default How to Increase Blower Speed?

Hello Friends,

Summer has already started, and the blower speeds of my TCIC SAFARI and INDICA 1999 are too much slow that sometime i have to put the AC to off and roll down the windows. It's really irritating to drive without AC in hot traffic. Please anyone suggest a method of Increasing blower speed from the stock set-up?
I have got all of my wirings, blower motor's checked and the company guys tell that everything is fine and me too have experienced this with other Safari's\Indica's. Basically, I feel that the blower speeds of stock set-up are not UPto-the mark.


Thanks.

Last edited by mercedised : 8th May 2010 at 20:50.
mercedised is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2010, 20:59   #2
BHPian
 
Hashim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Aligarh
Posts: 443
Thanked: 32 Times
Default

With engine running and accessories like music system ON, check the battery voltage, if its below 13v then blower will not run at its full speed. Also check for any air leaks from dashboard.

If all is fine then maybe we can take out the blower motor and fit a higher RPM motor there? Never seen anyone doing/suggested here in forum but it might be possible.
Hashim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2010, 22:36   #3
BHPian
 
ghpk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ghaziabad
Posts: 869
Thanked: 192 Times
Default

Get the blower motor checked for Bush problems
or there may be something stuck on rotor to prevent it from attaining full speed.
ghpk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2010, 22:48   #4
BHPian
 
1self's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Pune
Posts: 627
Thanked: 266 Times
Default

Get your AC filter cleaned...that gives the biggest benefit & is almost free!
1self is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2010, 22:52   #5
Senior - BHPian
 
mercedised's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Indore
Posts: 1,070
Thanked: 160 Times
Default

Thanks guys.
Blower motor seems alright, already checked. Ya! AC filter cleaning will be tried on my next visit to SC. For sure.
mercedised is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2010, 23:17   #6
BHPian
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: .
Posts: 479
Thanked: 111 Times
Default

Perhaps its time to clean them?
YaeJay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2010, 08:17   #7
Senior - BHPian
 
vigsom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: AUH<->MAA
Posts: 1,722
Thanked: 581 Times
Default

Do the Safari and the Indica have ac filters?As far as I know,they don't.
vigsom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2010, 22:59   #8
BHPian
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: .
Posts: 479
Thanked: 111 Times
Default !

Oops! I meant clean the blower! You are right vigsom, dont think there is any A/c filter
YaeJay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2010, 23:15   #9
Rai
BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 82
Thanked: 6 Times
Default Get your Blower Fan Cleaned

Hello,

Goto a good AC mechanic and ask him to remove your entire DashBoard and clean your Blower Fan & Evaporator (which is inside the DashBoard).
Due to Lot of Dust accumulation, the Fan Speed (due to Dust weight) may have reduced. Also due ot dust accumulation, the effciency of Evaporator must have reduces drastically. Its better if you present in garage during these activites, so that you can see as whats happening. (and most of time, these mechanics don't clean it up, unless you are watching over their shoulder).
This should increase your Cooling drastically.

I have done this in my Sierra and cooling is too good now.
Rai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2010, 23:38   #10
BHPian
 
stefanm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Goa
Posts: 212
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Maybe it's your resistors, these affect are what control your speed settings, if it's working the same as before, you could try a bigger blower from a different car, fitting it could be trouble though.
stefanm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2010, 03:07   #11
BHPian
 
KA18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Chikmagalur
Posts: 198
Thanked: 16 Times
Default

Maybe you just need to get the AC gas refilled again.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mercedised View Post
... me too have experienced this with other Safari's\Indica's. Basically, I feel that the blower speeds of stock set-up are not UPto-the mark....
AFAIK, the AC on the Tata Indica is one of the best Chillers in its class. I have an Indica DLS and I never can go above the 3rd position on the blower with AC on.

Since you feel that is the issue on other cars too, did you compare with a new car?
KA18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2010, 16:10   #12
Senior - BHPian
 
mercedised's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Indore
Posts: 1,070
Thanked: 160 Times
Default

I have got a cut-out\relay fitted, now the blower speed has increased. But, only marginally?:(
mercedised is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2010, 18:10   #13
BHPian
 
jeeva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 604
Thanked: 527 Times
Default

After all these cleaning and checking things and not yet satisfied with the results, I think you need to check the blower motor next.
If there is a possibility for you to swap a blower motor from a relatively newer vehicle (Safari/Indica) and check, you can indeed confirm if its the problem with the motor itself.
jeeva is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blower noise NHC SCH Technical Stuff 6 2nd May 2012 17:00
Noise from AC fan in Swift. Only Blower speed IV works! rajeev k Technical Stuff 10 25th July 2011 22:13
Swift: Ventilation blower pumps in HOT air k36 Technical Stuff 20 10th January 2011 11:23
Nissan Quest - Intermittent air-con blower speed vivekiny2k Technical Stuff 1 21st July 2009 13:11
How to increase the pick up and top speed of a Machismo? Rayden Motorbikes 1 3rd April 2006 10:55


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 12:35.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks