Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Technical Stuff


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 28th May 2010, 00:04   #1
BHPian
 
rk_sans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 966
Thanked: 602 Times
Default i10 Temp Gauge Issue.

On Monday,driving back home, i noticed that the Engine temp gauge was almost 3/4th towards hot. Was very much surprised by the sudden rise in the temp. Reached home and checked for the coolant and radiator, no problems.
The next day, took the vehicle to the A.S.S. They connected the "Hi-Scan" device to check for any problems and could not find any.
Then they told, it could be the sensor problem and they are going to replace it. They replaced it and it looked all fine. Took the vehicle and within 2 kms, the temp guage was back to the same place. So went back and left the vehicle for more investigations.
Later in the evening i got a call from the SA that the vehicle is ready and the grounding for the sensors had a loose connection. Went and picked the vehicle late in the evening and i do not see any problem with the temp guage till now.
Is it true that there is a grounding to the sensors and possibility of it getting loose connection ?
rk_sans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2010, 01:47   #2
BHPian
 
ghpk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ghaziabad
Posts: 869
Thanked: 192 Times
Default

yes that could be a issue as most probably the circuit used to sense the temp. would operate on car battery and if ground(-ve) gets disconnected or is loose the actual reading sent to panel would be broken/incorrect.

check the reading for a day or two, if its ok, your problem is solved already.
ghpk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2010, 10:45   #3
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,748
Thanked: 7,461 Times
Default

Yup grounding can cause such funny stuff. Happened to me once in iKON and i landed up replacing the sensor itself
Jaggu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2010, 10:54   #4
BHPian
 
WDM007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Beaverton, USA
Posts: 236
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

New thing I learnt today.

Thanks to Team-BHP
WDM007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2010, 11:23   #5
BHPian
 
rk_sans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 966
Thanked: 602 Times
Default

@ghpk/@jaggu,
Thanks a lot for the response. I am happy that the SA was able to find it and rectify it.
rk_sans is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Automatic Digital Temp Control Rai Technical Stuff 1 19th May 2008 05:24
Need advice - Placement of temp sender im_srini Technical Stuff 0 8th April 2008 15:57
Help! Corsa 1.4 engine temp rise androdev Technical Stuff 5 4th January 2008 13:04
At what Temp should the Engine Oil be drained off ? mithun Technical Stuff 3 14th August 2006 16:18
OHC Temp Rises to Max! buzzin_hornets Technical Stuff 25 25th February 2006 21:19


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 13:41.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks