Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Technical Stuff

Old 1st June 2010, 15:11   #1
BHPian

Default Santro 40K service

Hello everyone,

I'm a newbie on this forum and have been actively browsing through the posts for finalizing on my second car. Thanks to all BHPians for extremely useful information.

My 5 year old santro has just completed 40000 kms and I'm planning to get the 40K service done tomorrow. I called up the service center (Lakshmi Hyundai in Banjara Hills, Hyderabad) and the service engineer said that it'll be just like a regular service, but they will also replace the belt (I think he meant the fan belt). But I guess that many more things should go into the 40K service list. Could anyone please give me a list of all things that should be checked/serviced/replaced?

In particular, I'd like your comments on the following problems that I am currently facing with my car.

1) Ride quality has deteriorated gradually. I happened to drive a friend's santro a couple of years ago and felt that the ride is much better (the only difference is that his car is eRLX and newer by an year). The jolt in my car on speed bumps (especially the sharp ones) is considerably harsh compared to his car and the ride in my car is uneasy when driving on bad roads. I brought this up during several services, but the service engineer's excuse is that my friend's car is newer! He checked the suspension briefly and apparently didn't find any issues with that. This is the biggest issue that I want to fix this time. Please give me your suggestions on what could be wrong and how I can insist the service engineer to nail this.

2) The steering has a minor drag to the right side. If I leave the steering straight while driving (or hold it without any pressure applied), the direction of the car is towards the right (by let's say 3-4 degrees). Is it because of worn out tyres? I haven't changed the tyres since I bought the car.