Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Technical Stuff


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 28th July 2010, 16:39   #1
BHPian
 
dmaheshkumar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Coimbatore
Posts: 134
Thanked: 18 Times
Default RPM Meter for Isuzu Ambassador

Hi,
I plan to fit an RPM meter for my ambassador which is fitted with Imported G1 Isuzu engine.Anybody have done this before,help me in this regards.

CosT,what spares and meter (sensor also) we need to fit this.
dmaheshkumar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2010, 23:34   #2
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: zxc
Posts: 3,394
Thanked: 658 Times
Default

You can any one made by aftermarket guage specialist. Market is flooded with them. Chinese are also available.

Everything you need come in the package along with instruction manual.

Many members are also selling them. Check the classified section.
SirAlec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2010, 13:41   #3
BHPian
 
adrian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 751
Thanked: 587 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirAlec View Post
You can any one made by aftermarket guage specialist. Market is flooded with them. Chinese are also available.

Everything you need come in the package along with instruction manual.

Many members are also selling them. Check the classified section.
I am wondering why Hindusthan Motors is not making the RPM meter as a standard gauge?
adrian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2010, 13:45   #4
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 728
Thanked: 27 Times
Default

Hindustan Motors is making the Amabassador, isnt that enough.
kavesh55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2010, 13:52   #5
BHPian
 
adrian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 751
Thanked: 587 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kavesh55 View Post
Hindustan Motors is making the Amabassador, isnt that enough.
Yes we really have to thank them for that.
adrian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2010, 18:16   #6
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NH209
Posts: 1,607
Thanked: 701 Times
Default

Where are you planning to get it done?
ramzsys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2010, 20:58   #7
BHPian
 
ilangop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pune/Neyveli
Posts: 913
Thanked: 578 Times
Default

Mahesh,
Does your alternator have a WL out? Is the engine equipped with a turbo?
Even if your alternator doesnt have a WL out, any competent electrician can get such a terminal soldered. You will also have to know the pulley ratio.
ilangop is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2010, 20:58   #8
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: zxc
Posts: 3,394
Thanked: 658 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by adrian View Post
I am wondering why Hindusthan Motors is not making the RPM meter as a standard gauge?
I don't know what to say. They were not able to change the Morris design that is 60 years old. Doesn't that say anything about the company and the morons that run it.
SirAlec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2010, 13:31   #9
BHPian
 
adrian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 751
Thanked: 587 Times
Default Hi SirAlec

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirAlec View Post
I don't know what to say. They were not able to change the Morris design that is 60 years old. Doesn't that say anything about the company and the morons that run it.
The Morris design is what makes the Ambassador unique. The HM could have easily upgraded the gadgets at the least !

My father owns a 1989 Ambassador and I too love to see an RPM meter on the dash. If my father Permits !!!
adrian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2010, 14:05   #10
BHPian
 
adrian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 751
Thanked: 587 Times
Default Hi, ilangop

Quote:
Originally Posted by ilangop View Post
Mahesh,
Does your alternator have a WL out? Is the engine equipped with a turbo?
Even if your alternator doesnt have a WL out, any competent electrician can get such a terminal soldered. You will also have to know the pulley ratio.
I saw the rpm meter on the 118 in your garage. Could you please describe the procedure for installing an RPM meter?
adrian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2010, 15:49   #11
BHPian
 
ilangop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pune/Neyveli
Posts: 913
Thanked: 578 Times
Default

Adrian,
118NE is a petrol vehicle and the spark signal itself is indicative of the speed at which engine runs. In the Diesel engine we are talking about, there is no such a signal that correlates the speed of crankshaft (CS) to the electrical world. So we depend on the AC generated at the alternator. The frequency of this AC is scaled to engine rpm. Thats the reason why the alternator needs the WL terminal and we need to know the pulley ratios. For example, if the alternator generates 12pulses per revolution and the pulley ratio being 2.2; 12/2.2 = 5.45 pulses would correspond to 1 revolution of CS. Once we know this relation, the rest is straight forward.
ilangop is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2010, 16:28   #12
BHPian
 
adrian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 751
Thanked: 587 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ilangop View Post
Adrian,
118NE is a petrol vehicle and the spark signal itself is indicative of the speed at which engine runs. In the Diesel engine we are talking about, there is no such a signal that correlates the speed of crankshaft (CS) to the electrical world. So we depend on the AC generated at the alternator. The frequency of this AC is scaled to engine rpm. Thats the reason why the alternator needs the WL terminal and we need to know the pulley ratios. For example, if the alternator generates 12pulses per revolution and the pulley ratio being 2.2; 12/2.2 = 5.45 pulses would correspond to 1 revolution of CS. Once we know this relation, the rest is straight forward.
Thanks ilangop, that was really informative.
adrian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2010, 14:39   #13
BHPian
 
dmaheshkumar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Coimbatore
Posts: 134
Thanked: 18 Times
Default

What is the meter i need to buy and what sensor will be matched for Isuzu G1 Engines.
dmaheshkumar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2010, 13:28   #14
BHPian
 
ilangop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pune/Neyveli
Posts: 913
Thanked: 578 Times
Default

Mahesh,
You dont need to install any sensor, just take the alternator to an electrician and ask him to solder and take out a speed out (W) terminal. This serves the input to your tacho. Please go through the previous post of mine on how the tacho receives speed signal.
Attached Images
 

Last edited by ilangop : 10th August 2010 at 13:31. Reason: Added picture
ilangop is online now   (2) Thanks Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lancer RPM meter malfunctioning rajivanoj Technical Stuff 2 22nd November 2009 19:37
INNOVA VVTi RPM meter & upgrade rash28 Modifications & Accessories 7 10th December 2008 03:03
RPM Meter for WagonR Lxi ravi@64bhp Modifications & Accessories 11 25th June 2007 15:58
HELP-How to connect RPM meter in SWIFT tabrez02 Modifications & Accessories 28 11th April 2007 14:25
Wanted RPM Meter ! khaadu75 Shifting gears 7 15th August 2004 11:30


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 08:43.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks