Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Technical Stuff

Old 30th November 2010, 19:58   #1

Default Honda City Rusting under APF Coating warranty

I'm a newbie in this forum. And I'm glad I bumped into this forum - seems like a lot of users / experts sharing views and helping each other out. Well, I too have a problem and need help.

I own a Honda City Exi (2004 model). I did 3M Anti-Corrosion paint in Sundaram Honda, Chennai in July 2010. The service advisor (Mr. Prabhakar) convinced me on why I should get it done to avoid the car's under body and doors from rusting. He also said that it comes with a 3 year warranty. I was bought into the idea and went ahead and did the Anti-Corrosion coating (for almost Rs.4.5 to Rs.5k). I also have the 3 year warranty card after the coating was done.

Now its November 2010 (less than 6 months from the coating). 2 weeks back I noticed that 3 of the four doors have started to rust.

Here are the pictures of the same I took today and posted on the internet:

http://picasaweb.google.com/tellanan...UnderWarranty#

I went to Sundaram Honda yesterday and showed the problem to Mr. Prabhakar (the service advisor, who asked me to do this coating in July 2010). He inspected and went in and got another person by name Mr. Sudhakar.

Mr. Sudhakar inspected and said that this needs tinkering work and did not want to cover it under Warranty and said I'll have to pay for the tinkering / re-painting. He also asked me to sell off the car and buy a new one (later I realized that if I sell the car, the 3-year warranty is null and void). I cannot imagine a Honda service adviser wanting to shrug off the responsibility rather than fix the problem under warranty.