Go Back   Team-BHP > BHP India > Team-BHP Reviews > Test-Drives & Initial Ownership Reports

Old 24th April 2012, 08:57   #1

Thumbs up Good things come in small packages, mine came in the Honda Brio VMT

In my entire car hunt and finalisation process, I’ve been wondering why there is such less buzz around the Brio. Sure it’s production got stalled and any initial hype advantage was lost, but still it’s a car that drives well, has good brand baggage and looks different from all others in its segment.

So this review is also an attempt to get some pep going for this peppy little car…and since I just got the car 2 days back (and have rolled out 50KM), it makes for the perfect time to get the first impressions out.

The Oldies:
I have been driving the Fiat Palio D for 8 years now, and previously drove the Fiat Padmini Premier (the ones that Mumbai taxis used to be iconic for before the call cabs arrived).

Have also driven my better half’s Honda City I-VTEC for some months now --- and totally love that car (more on that elsewhere). Have also done brief Drives on Toyota Corrolla and Skoda Superb (nice big cars to drive).

But with my ageing Palio giving out way too many niggles, it was time for change.

The contenders:
The first decision was to go petrol.

Reasons: shorter commute distance for me, higher waiting period for diesel vehicles in general and higher one-time cost for diesel vehicles that was not working out as value for money.

The second decision was to go for a small car.

Reasons: ease of parking (narrow roads overcrowded with cars -- is where the car would be spending most of its resting time, so this was the sole guiding reason)

Options and my reasons for rejection:

Maruti & Tata – not a big fan of their fit and finish; but did TD the Swift. Found the interiors too cramped and suffocating. So gave up on that point.

VW Polo, Fiat Punto– Nice interiors and finish and good to drive around in, but was not too sure of After Sales Service.