Go Back   Team-BHP > BHP India > Team-BHP Reviews > Test-Drives & Initial Ownership Reports


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 8th June 2010, 13:01   #331
Senior - BHPian
 
ImmortalZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 2,124
Thanked: 82 Times
Default

m4ugr8 reported that a remap added a lot of low range kick on his car, so it is an option. But the price is a bitter pill to swallow, especially when a reusable fully tunable solution is on the horizon for only a little more money.
ImmortalZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th June 2010, 15:11   #332
BHPian
 
civic-sense's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 601
Thanked: 533 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GTO View Post
  • 7,411 kms on the odo
Quote:
Originally Posted by GTO View Post
... the previous owner never took the car over 3,000 rpms.
Increasingly, I have begun to think that you car isn't pre-"worshiped" at all. At the best, it was thrown into the dungeon and the key stashed away.

Last edited by civic-sense : 8th June 2010 at 15:21.
civic-sense is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th June 2010, 15:14   #333
Senior - BHPian
 
nitrous's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UAE/Lon/Madras
Posts: 6,957
Thanked: 247 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by civic-sense View Post
Increasingly, I have begun to think that you car isn't "pre-worshiped" at all. At the best, it was thrown into the dungeon and the key stashed away.
While I think your statement is a compliment, I hope you know that unused / severely underused cars are as bad as abused ones.
nitrous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2010, 11:28   #334
GTO
Team-BHP Support
 
GTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 44,149
Thanked: 65,311 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ImmortalZ View Post
@GTO : If you are getting a custom intake, please make sure it keeps the stock MAF housing or your A/F ratios will go for a toss.
Thanks & noted!

Quote:
Originally Posted by s3va View Post
My question was, without a FFE or Headers, cant a simple re-tune of the ECU take care of the low rpm issue ?
Absolutely yes. A good tuner would know exactly where the bump in power is needed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by civic-sense View Post
At the best, it was thrown into the dungeon and the key stashed away.
LOL! For sure, its hardly been used by the previous owner. I doubt the car ever saw the highway either.
GTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2010, 14:23   #335
BHPian
 
techn0l0gist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ponda, Goa
Posts: 329
Thanked: 11 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by surd_biker View Post
Here is something for you GTO

Modified Civic–>with Scissor doors@Goa | Goa On Wheels

Looks simply amazing!! Wonder if he is a tbhp member?
The intercooler in the front bumper looks wierd! IS this a turbo civic or is it one of those interfooler air intakes ?

The specs on the page donot mention anything about the turbo - so i presume its an interfooler .

Last edited by techn0l0gist : 15th June 2010 at 14:27.
techn0l0gist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2010, 10:28   #336
GTO
Team-BHP Support
 
GTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 44,149
Thanked: 65,311 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ImmortalZ View Post
especially when a reusable fully tunable solution is on the horizon for only a little more money.
Are you talking about the new RaceDynamics box?
GTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2010, 10:44   #337
Senior - BHPian
 
shuvc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Kolkata
Posts: 2,895
Thanked: 282 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GTO View Post
Are you talking about the new RaceDynamics box?
Or maybe he's referring to the Hondata FlashPro

Hondata - Honda ECU Modification and Enhancement
shuvc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th July 2010, 22:17   #338
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sheel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Purnea(Bihar)
Posts: 4,635
Thanked: 3,832 Times
Default

Came to the last page looking for up-dates.
Found your alloys?
Sheel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th July 2010, 23:11   #339
Team-BHP Support
 
FlyingSpur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 3,904
Thanked: 1,294 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by surd_biker View Post
I don't know, those look like they make it a little difficult to get in and out of the car. I've seen one white example in Mumbai a long time back (2+ years) and it looked fantastic... helps that the Civic has a reasonably long front door.
FlyingSpur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th July 2010, 06:00   #340
Team-BHP Support
 
Mpower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 10,414
Thanked: 1,627 Times
Default

Sorry I missed your reply altogether.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ImmortalZ View Post
FlashPro Help

Doug specifically said that the R18's ECU does do this. It's purpose is to improve economy.
Where? I checked your link and there is no mention if it. The R18 does not have this feature.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ImmortalZ View Post
The torque converter compensates very well. You have a wall of torque stored in the torque converter that you can unleash whenever you want.
Torque converter does not store torque!! It has the ability to multiply torque instantaneously just like a CVT
Mpower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th July 2010, 07:55   #341
Senior - BHPian
 
ImmortalZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 2,124
Thanked: 82 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mpower View Post
Sorry I missed your reply altogether.

Where? I checked your link and there is no mention if it. The R18 does not have this feature.
I don't have the exact post handy. It is from the FlashPro for the R18 thread on 8thCivic.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mpower View Post
Torque converter does not store torque!! It has the ability to multiply torque instantaneously just like a CVT
My mistake.
ImmortalZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th July 2010, 09:10   #342
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,327
Thanked: 490 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mpower View Post
Torque converter does not store torque!! It has the ability to multiply torque instantaneously just like a CVT
Quote:
Originally Posted by ImmortalZ View Post
My mistake.
I believe it in a way does store (at times) torque/energy momentarily.
What happens is, there is always some slip between the driving shaft and driven shaft. Due to this slip there is some energy accumulates and the moment it gets more push (in the form of acceleration input) and is able to overcome the resistance on the 'driven side', all this energy is transfered and you get a sudden push or jerk.
On the other hand, when there is no stored energy, you don't feel this jerk on accelerating and in fact experience a bit of lag.
Guna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th July 2010, 20:59   #343
Team-BHP Support
 
Mpower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 10,414
Thanked: 1,627 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Guna View Post
I believe it in a way does store (at times) torque/energy momentarily.
What happens is, there is always some slip between the driving shaft and driven shaft. Due to this slip there is some energy accumulates and the moment it gets more push (in the form of acceleration input) and is able to overcome the resistance on the 'driven side', all this energy is transfered and you get a sudden push or jerk.
On the other hand, when there is no stored energy, you don't feel this jerk on accelerating and in fact experience a bit of lag.
I think we are going waaay OT here.

Torque converter does not store energy but transfers/multiplies it. The slip causes energy loss not storage and the jerking is eliminated because it acts like a torsional damper.

You are basically describing the function of the flywheel in M/T .
Mpower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st July 2010, 09:14   #344
BHPian
 
BurningHeart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 427
Thanked: 54 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GTO View Post
Soon, very soon. With an exhaust & intake alone, the low rpm throttle response should improve dramatically.
GTO, really sorry to ask. What did you mean by intake? Putting in K&N/Ractive or something similar? Or something else? Exhaust I believe you meant FFE?

BH.
BurningHeart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2010, 22:19   #345
BHPian
 
Sailor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: College Station
Posts: 44
Thanked: 0 Times
Default Yet one more falls for Pre worshipped beauty

Hi All!

This is my first post on the forum.

I have been following this particular thread and it didn't took much for me to convert to be a Pre worshipped bhakt.

I too have been looking for <3 yr old civic with Odo southwards of 25 K. Saw a few of them in Hyderabad through a few dealers. Most of the cars manufactured Mar - May 2007 are quoted in the region of 8 Lakhs.

However just came to know of Coroalla Altis 1.8 G (14.12L On road) just 1 Month old, Odo 2000 KMS offered at 11.5L (+ another 20 K for the dealer). Am in fix abt which one to go.

Pundits here pls advice!
Sailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My Pre-Worshipped Honda Civic Ownership Experience Vivek5870 Test-Drives & Initial Ownership Reports 35 8th November 2013 16:32
From a Korean H to Japanese H - Pre worshipped Honda Civic autofreak Test-Drives & Initial Ownership Reports 32 2nd February 2012 12:29
Honda City Vs Honda Civic E Vs Honda Civic V (pre-owned) drkunaldas Sedans 4 31st October 2010 18:07
Got Our Pre-Worshipped Honda Civic SMT 2007 dvprasad Test-Drives & Initial Ownership Reports 11 3rd August 2010 16:36


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 05:43.

Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks