Go Back   Team-BHP > BHP India > Team-BHP Reviews > Test-Drives & Initial Ownership Reports

Old 28th January 2011, 12:38   #1
BHPian

Talking Now Thats A Fab New Years Eve - Skoda Fabia 1.6!

Flashback:

The Fabia was definitely not on my shortltist of cars. I was pretty much choosing between the i20 Sports, Polo 1.6 and Grande Punto 1.4. One afternoon while waiting for someone at the Galaxy Hotel in Gurgaon, I decided to head across to Giriraj Skoda to have a look at the Yeti (old man wanted one and I was the official test pilot). While having a peek the person cancelled out and I had time on my hands.
I decided to take their rides for a ride! And when the Fabia came around, it was love at first ride. I had been driving a swift around for the last 4 years and didnt think this bucket would compare. But it did. And more. And How! The 1.2 Fabia blew me away. It made the swift seem like an outdated rickshaw based on its handling, ride quality and yes even power. Believe it! (I think they tweak their TD cars by not caring about FE - you think?) The 1.6 - Wow! I had to have it... the child wanted a new toy!

Flash Forward:

After getting the financing in order and dismissing all the horror stories on Skoda, their Aftters and their parts, the resale value et al, it finally was the day. 31st December 2010. . There it was. Red, shiny and ready to roll (Just so that you know, I like my cars red - the swift is red too!). The delivery experience was strictly OK. I will write about that under a thread for Giriraj Auto. But in all honesty, it was better than my experience with both my Swift and Wagon R. I only spent an hour and a half at the showroom. But thats a story for another place.

The Drive Home: