Go Back   Team-BHP > Buckle Up > Travelogues

Old 9th March 2008, 03:27   #1
Default Kolkata-Vizag-Kolkata (All in a weekend and a bit more)

"When evrything's coming your way, you are probably in the wrong lane" Now whoever said that has never driven on an Indian Highway, at least some parts of it. But then the 2190 km that we covered in the span of 4 days was, in the absence of better vocabulary, simply breathtaking and eventful too. Let me take you through the sequence of events in a chronological manner, with a bit a perspective (and some pictures) thrown in here and there. By the way this is my first attempt at writing a travelogue, do feel free to tell me if it can be called one.

Men and the Machine: It's not often that a group of techies, who pretend to work hard all week, suddenly decide to go for a long drive on a Friday evening, a drive that will take them all the way to Vizag (2 states and 870kms away). That's precisely what we did. But you see, the equation changes completely when you have a Polished Dome (PD henceforth) at the wheel. When I first met this guy (with thick black hair) some 13 years ago, he was already driving for 2 years. And in betwen he has driven some 80,000km in an array of vehicles (a separate article on that later). But we decided to give his beloved BlackPearl a bit of rest and chose "Silver Arrow" instead. Now Silver Arrow is an Esteem VXI, 2005 model, with some modification done to the exhaust. It's driven by a guy named Rajarshi. He is fast coming up as a driver to reckon with on Indian roads. Very fast and very modest (traits that do not generally go together). With 25,000 km in his kitty as well, the other guy in the car with a driver's liscence and neglible experience (that's me by the way) could breathe easy. We had a couple more people (read passengers) to make sure that the cost of the trip gets diluted.

Kolkata-Vizag-Kolkata (All in a weekend and a bit more)-rajarshi.jpg