Go Back   Team-BHP > Buckle Up > Travelogues

Old 15th May 2008, 09:58   #1
BHPian

Smile Our Coorg Trip

It has been 4 years since I came to Bangalore but I have never been out touring even with so many options around Bangalore. We were never comfortable with bus travels and hiring a taxi too was not an interesting option either. All these changed when we got our 'Estilo' and I have been impatiently waiting for a blast as soon as I got my hands on it. In less than 6 months of our ownership of Estilo 'Coorg' was planned on the Easter weekend. We initially started with Ooty, but a good suggestion from our neighbour changed the destination to Coorg and we were all set.
I studied the various travelogues in Mouthshut, team-bhp and blogposts and concluded on 'Capitol Village' Resort near Madikeri. I booked a room on first floor (the view is good from there) for four of us. I would have booked a couple of rooms had the pairings been right !!

Route
1. Take the Bangalore-Mysore highway. It is absolutely great to drive on it.
2. Reach Sri Rangapattnam (Bangalore –> Ramanagaram –> Channapatna –> Maddur –> Mandya –> Srirangapatnam)
3. Take the diversion to right after about 10 or 12 kms from Srirangapattnam (Note: The way is known as Rangathittu bird santuary route)
4. Reach Madikeri via kushalnagar (Hunsur –> Piriyapatna -> Kushalnagar –> Suntikoppa –> Madikeri)
5. Left road from madikeri goes to Siddapur
6. Capitol Resort is about 5km on this road

Day 1
We started on Friday morning about 6.45 AM. We had two drivers in our team, my brother-in-law who is a professional driver and myself.