Go Back   Team-BHP > Buckle Up > Travelogues

Old 7th January 2009, 21:34   #1
Default Getz to Yercaud - January 03, 2009

This was in the planning for a long time. Even though I have been driving since 2006, I haven't done a lot of highway trips. This was also due to the fact that our daughter was born in early 2008. But now that she is of the age where you can take her on long drives, we decided not to delay it any further.

First the summary:
Wheels: Hyundai Getz GLS 2006
Route: Bangalore - Hosur - Krishnagiri - Dharmapuri - Salem - Yercaud and back
Persons: 5 adults and 1 child
Total distance: 500 km
Fuel: ~ 32-34 litre Indian Oil Extra Premium

The planning for this started way back in November 2008. Since this was to be our first major drive, we requested our friend Anil and his wife to join us. They agreed readily and I got a couple of rooms booked at the Sky Roca via TravelGuru.com for the 3-4 of January. Then we waited.

Day 1 - January 3, 2009:
Anil and his wife had stayed the night over at our place so that we could start early. We had planned to start by 5 - 5:30 in the morning. But we could start only at 6:30 am (Reason? Have you tried waking up a baby early in the morning and tried to get her ready? That and the fact that there was a power cut from 4 - 6 in the morning). Anyways, at 6:30 am, I, my wife, my kid, her governess, Anil and wife started off in my Getz.