Go Back   Team-BHP > Buckle Up > Travelogues

Old 27th July 2009, 14:38   #1
BHPian

Default Roadtrip through South India : Hyd - Blr - Wyn - Mys - Blr - Hyd

Disclaimer: I am not good with words nor with taking pics. I like to drive and see things and don't care much about the car specs and the figures it generates. So this is going to be a very humble travelogue and lack of time would force me to upload the pics in batches. Will try my best to put as much relevant details.

Background: Well, it all started on a lazy Saturday morning when both me and my wife woke up all dreary eyed frustrated with the constant drudgery of work. We had been thinking of some road trip for long but kept deferring it out of laziness blaming the weather, work, manager etc. But yet another lousy Saturday morning with no idea of what to do did us in. We decided to take a week's break driving to some places. Both of us had started our career in the beautiful campus of Infosys Mysore as fresh out-of-college trainees. That was more than 5 years back and both of us wanted to re-live those days. And visiting Mysore meant Bangalore was a must. But what else, what else? Now, monsoons would be at it's peak around this time. So why not take the risk and see the greenery of Kerala when it's at its greenest! So we added one more stop to our itenerary - Wayanad. Plan chalked out, got the bookings done, friends/relatives informed, car serviced, tank topped up, routes researched. 11th July, off we go!

Complete trip summary:
Start date - 11-Jul-2009
End date - 21-Jul-2009
Total distance covered - 2146 kms
Total time driven (excluding intra city drives) - roughly 36 hrs
Major stops and places driven through- Bangalore, Mysore, Wayanad, Muthunga Sanctuary, Mudamalai Reserve, Bandipur Forest.
The ride - Chevrolet Spark, LS, 2007
The "riders" - Me and my wife.