Go Back   Team-BHP > Buckle Up > Travelogues

Old 16th January 2010, 23:04   #1
BHPian

Default Christmas to New Year - East Coast to West Coast - Circular trip

So, here it is. A fortnight into the new year - our story of the X'mas to New Year 2010 vacation.

A new car - 3 months old. Lets do Goa! Why not Mumbai to my in-laws place after that?

The west coast has always enchanted me more than the east coast (where I am a resident for the past decade.) The rich greenery, the monsoons which hit the konkan ghats and render the whole west coast from Mumbai to Trivandrum green, very much like the green pastel I used to love to paint on the outline-map of India for the question "Where is the Konkan region?". We spent the first 20 years of our lives in Mumbai and each summer vacation on our to-and-fro train trips to our native place we used to relish the views of the Kandala ghats. More so reason to spend our vacation there. 5 yrs of college life in Bangalore took me to Gokarna, Kemmangundi, Kumarpharbhata. And I hail from Kerala. So it was not easy for me to chalk down a plan - and below is what I thought I should cover.

A mix of quite a few things: Meet relatives in Calicut, attend an engagement, see a mallu movie, eat sea-food/beef-curry-parotta at a mallu restaurant, see Bekal, take my car to the hills, drive it thru a beach, see a couple of historic monuments, jog-falls, om-beach at Gokarna, have long-drives, include parents (from Coimbatore) for part of the trip if not full.

Wife's uncle was visiting Calicut from Canada and we were keen to meet him. Also, we needed to attend to an engagement of my co-brother's cousin at Calicut. That changed the plan a little and instead of doing Southern Kar, North-coastal Kar and Goa, (Mumbai some other time), we planned to do North-Kerala, Southern-Kar and North-coastal Karnataka. Map attached.

Ok. So here we go: Full tank on 24th night at a BP bunk 27.24 L @48.65