Go Back   Team-BHP > Buckle Up > Travelogues

Old 12th May 2010, 17:41   #1
BHPian

Default A Wilderness Photologue: Kanha and Bandhavgarh

This is my second series of photologue, first one being a visit to Bandipur and Devarshola
See Link: http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/travel...devashola.html (A Wilderness Photologue - Bandipur & Palaniappa Estate (Devashola))

Some guys in this forum have put up really nice write ups and good pics of wildlife visits, i was tempted to put up my report as well. I am not that good with words, but hopefully this would be interesting.

For the first time I am visiting a wildlife sanctuary outside the southern states .
As one of my fellow photographers calls it “The Central Indian Tiger pilgrimage”; visiting Bandhavgarh and Kanha was a fantastic experience seeing close to 15 different tigers in their habitat, other mammals and quite a lot of birds. The plethora of species here is just magnificent to say the least and has to be experienced by anyone aspiring to shoot wildlife.

Kanha park info:
Terrain: Sal and bamboo forests, grassy meadows and ravines
Area: 1945 sq kms, tourism zone is about 450 sq kms
Species: The main wildlife attractions in the park are tiger, bison, gaur, sambhar, chital, barasingha, barking deer, black deer, black buck, chousingha, nilgai, mouse deer, sloth bear, jackal fox, porcupine, hyena, jungle cat, python, pea fowl, hare, monkey, mongoose, tiger, and leopard.
The birds species in the park include storks, teals, pintails, pond herons, egrets, peacock, pea fowl, jungle fowl, spur fowl, partridges, quails, ring doves, spotted parakeets, green pigeons, rock pigeons, cuckoos, papihas, rollers, bee-eater, hoopoes, drongos, warblers, kingfishers, woodpeckers, finches, orioles, owls, and fly catchers.