Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Modifications & Accessories > Tyre & Alloy wheel Section


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 21st February 2006, 20:34   #1
DRC
BHPian
 
DRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Cockpit
Posts: 907
Thanked: 42 Times
Arrow Changing to Alloys, Need advice

I am still runnig my stock steel rims, and till I wear out the tyres..

Now, The doubt. Usually, most cars will have 4 protruding bols on the hubs, upon which the wheel fits on which the holes and there will be nuts to hold the wheel tight. Is my understanding right?

And, my petra has 4 holes with threads, and 2 stubs, The steel wheel has 6 holes, 4 large where there are bolts to hold the wheel and the other two holes mate with the 2 stubs to help fix the wheel on the hub before putting on the bolts.

If I fit the alloys, the rims will not have the small 2 holes to take care of the stub. Should I remove the stubs or drill the holes in the alloy?

Technically it is possible to get rid of the stubs and not drill the holes still run the show, in case I need to change the wheel, (that too in dark which happened yesterday) then I had it! Are there other ways to overcome this ?

Is it possible to switch to the set up where the hubs have bolts instead of threaded holes?

Experts please help as always

Thanks a ton

Last edited by DRC : 21st February 2006 at 20:39.
DRC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2006, 08:28   #2
DRC
BHPian
 
DRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Cockpit
Posts: 907
Thanked: 42 Times
Default

No one put alloys on a fiat?!!
DRC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2006, 09:36   #3
BHPian
 
sivadas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 487
Thanked: 53 Times
Default

Hello DRC,
As you know I had recently changed to alloys and car is Petra itself. I didn't have any problem fixing it. But I understand that some foreign alloys might not direcly fit. I feel If you choose Aura or Neo (difficult to get 98 PCD ones in any brand), there wouldn't be any problem.
-Sivadas
sivadas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2006, 11:54   #4
DRC
BHPian
 
DRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Cockpit
Posts: 907
Thanked: 42 Times
Default

Sivadas,
Good to know u did not have problems,
How was that taken care.. could you elaborate please.. what did you do about those stubs and holes mechanism?
DRC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2006, 12:41   #5
BHPian
 
sivadas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 487
Thanked: 53 Times
Default

Though wheel doesn't have any holes for the stub, it will go inside the wheel cup and pefectly stay there supporting it. The model I have chosen is one suggeted as an upgrade for Palio. So it perfectly suits Petra. I am not sure if all wheels will support this. Any way please stick to 98 PCD.
Plese PM me if you want any further iformation.
sivadas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2006, 12:58   #6
DRC
BHPian
 
DRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Cockpit
Posts: 907
Thanked: 42 Times
Default Answers yet?

Thanks mod for shifting this thread to here...

However, I in deed was seeking answers to follwoing question technically :-(,
The question is not about the alloys, but about the hub when changing to alloys.. Sorry , if I wrote the subject line in such a confusing way!!!

Why are those stubbs there?

What is the significance of having the bolts on the hub, threaded holes on the hub? D they make a ny difference at all? Which is a better set up?

Is it possbile to switch between the set-ups?

I have seen the allloys, they do not come with the two holes to grab the stubbs. then what will happen to them?

I am still waiting for the answers..

PS: Sivadas, thanks for the help. I did not choose to PM you as I thought the answers will benifit all the t-bhpians. Sorry about that.
DRC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2006, 14:08   #7
BHPian
 
sivadas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 487
Thanked: 53 Times
Default

I think your earlier post had answer for the question.

Quote:
other two holes mate with the 2 stubs to help fix the wheel on the hub before putting on the bolts
So I believe stubs were just to help fix the wheel.
Any way , let some some Experts give a better answer.
sivadas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2006, 18:52   #8
DRC
BHPian
 
DRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Cockpit
Posts: 907
Thanked: 42 Times
Default

Experts, Any comments

Sivadas,
After you put on the alloys, had a chance to change the wheels? Did you face any difficulty?
DRC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2006, 19:18   #9
BHPian
 
sivadas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 487
Thanked: 53 Times
Default

Hardly 10 days back I got alloys and new tyres DRC. Hopefully I don't need to change it in the near future.
sivadas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Advice: OEM alloys for Bolero RAC Tyre & Alloy wheel Section 16 8th May 2011 12:32
Changing Linea default to 205/50/17, need to locate a good dealer in CHANDIGARH brar.arsh Tyre & Alloy wheel Section 14 20th January 2010 11:12
Need advice: T.A.S.S. service manager has advised changing gearbox of my Indigo CS Akadian Technical Stuff 20 30th November 2009 14:40
Need Help! Problem after changing to K&N stock filter in Swift ZXi Lotusking Modifications & Accessories 8 26th November 2007 15:09
Need gear changing tips for Scorpio (new) easyrider Technical Stuff 2 20th September 2007 20:41


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 06:17.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks