Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Modifications & Accessories > Tyre & Alloy wheel Section

Old 13th April 2006, 10:01   #1
Senior - BHPian

Default How does an upsize tyre make a steering lighter???

Hey Guyz.....

I own a zen 2000 Mpfi model which came with 145/80-12 MRF ZVTS tyres n 4J steel rims...... After running them for 5 years it was time for new rubbers for my zen...So i decided for an upsize tyre so did some research n took views from experts (Satya)....But being a student i always had a small pocket n dad wasnt too keen for alloys...So finally i got 165/65-13 Bridgestone Donuts with 4J steel rims of Zen carb some 6 months back....After some time i found out the ride quality had gone down but it was very quite while running on good roads as compared to the stock set of tyres...
My main purpose of putting broad tyres were to improve the handling n braking to an extent but all went the other way round.....The steering response became so eratic that i lost all control of the car at speeds above 60kph....braking was scary to say the least....
Then after consulting a few experts including Rehaan found out that the rim size is not within propsed limits for the tyre size which is 4.5J - 6J for 165 tyres.....
So got my rims changed to esteems 4.5J steel rims n now the braking has improved drastically but still the steering feels so light even without power steering at parking speeds.....N at higher speeds the steering becomes even lighter.....
I even test drove my car by swapping the tyres to stock size145/80 12 the steering became harder, precise n lots of understeer ...n back to broader tubeless 165/65-13 the steering became lighter n causing oversteer at high speeds.....

To my knowledge whenever u get a broader tyre the steering should become heavy....Why is it the opposite in my case??????

I've checked up all suspension, steering,brakes and allignment.....

waiting for your valuable suggestions....

regards

KP
kpzen is offline   Reply With Quote