Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Modifications & Accessories > Tyre & Alloy wheel Section


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 9th March 2004, 00:06   #1
Senior - BHPian
 
normally_crazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 4,367
Thanked: 387 Times
Default

hi fellas

my ikon runs on 185/70 r14 alloys,which the dealer upgraded at time of delivery from 175/70 r14. i dont think its the ideal tyre size.

i am thinking of changing to 15 inch rims and tyres..can i put in the 15 inchers and low pro tyres ? if yes what shud be the size ?

thanks
normally_crazy is offline  
Old 9th March 2004, 00:09   #2
v12
Distinguished - BHPian
 
v12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 5,891
Thanked: 3,296 Times
Default

how abt 195/65 R15
v12 is offline  
Old 9th March 2004, 13:18   #3
Senior - BHPian
 
normally_crazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 4,367
Thanked: 387 Times
Default

but wont the 195/65 interfere while turning ? scraping the insides of the tyre well ? maybe 185/60 r15 ?
normally_crazy is offline  
Old 9th March 2004, 13:41   #4
v12
Distinguished - BHPian
 
v12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 5,891
Thanked: 3,296 Times
Default

ya that'll also do. i thought u wanted wider tyres. i dont think the 195 will scrape thw insides.
v12 is offline  
Old 9th March 2004, 22:07   #5
Senior - BHPian
 
Shan2nu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Hubli - Karnata
Posts: 5,525
Thanked: 87 Times
Default

You're going the right way NC. 185/60 R15 will be perfect for your car.

I calculated the difference between your stock tyres and these to be around 0.4%, where as the 195/65 R 15s showed a difference of 5.6%.

You can use this site for reference

http://www.miata.net/garage/tirecalc.html

In the first set of blocks you need to type in the specs of your stock tyres and in the 2nd blocks, the specs of the tyres you're upgrading it to.

The tyres you're using now have an error of 2.3% which means that when your speedo shows 100kmph you're actually doing 102.3kmph.

It is important that you upsize to tyres that won't increase speedo error, this may lead to wrong calculations while checking your car's fuel efficiency.

Regards...
Shan2nu
Shan2nu is offline  
Old 9th March 2004, 22:11   #6
Senior - BHPian
 
normally_crazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 4,367
Thanked: 387 Times
Default

hey shant2nu

thanks dude for the link and v12 thanks for sorting my confusion
normally_crazy is offline  
Old 9th March 2004, 22:16   #7
Senior - BHPian
 
Shan2nu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Hubli - Karnata
Posts: 5,525
Thanked: 87 Times
Default

When i say stock i mean 175/70 R14. I know you know that, but i just wanted to make it clear.

Regards...
Shan2nu
Shan2nu is offline  
Old 10th March 2004, 00:39   #8
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,381
Thanked: 22,610 Times
Default

Hey NC,

If i were you i would not go up from 14" on the ikon. Ofcourse it also depends on how and where you use your car.
I would however invest in some good high quality performance 185/70 rubber!

Are you in bombay? if so DIPPY > why dont you give this guy sumits details....howcum he hasnt joined the forum yet?

Sumit works/owns international tyres at opera house. They are very knowledgable and honest unlike a LOT of all the other tyre guys who know nothing and try to sell everything. The only letdown is that if you plan to upgrade to 15" and want to buy imported alloys, they dont sell them (only indian alloys)

cheers.
Rehaan
Rehaan is offline  
Old 10th March 2004, 00:58   #9
Senior - BHPian
 
Shan2nu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Hubli - Karnata
Posts: 5,525
Thanked: 87 Times
Default

But Rehaan,
His Ikon is already fitted with 185/70 R14. Using this on 15" wheels will result in increased diameter and circumference of the tyre, which not only poses speedo error problems but maynot be suitable for the Ikon's wheel arch.

NC, if you can sacrifice ride comfort, then the 185/60 R15s will be perfect, but for a better ride, i suggest you stick to the ones you're using now.

Regards...
Shan2nu
Shan2nu is offline  
Old 10th March 2004, 01:03   #10
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,381
Thanked: 22,610 Times
Default

Yeah Shan2nu,

I was assuming that he needed to change his tyres anyway.

Also going up to 15" may foul with the wheelarches and also when you go up to 15" the width of the actual alloy wheel also increases so that may act as a catalyst for the problem.
Speedo error is the least of the problems.....as it is the ikon has the most innaccurate speedo readings of all the cars available in india!

I would just speak to some1 who is trustable and knows about this and has lots of experience doing it (like sumit) and see what they have to say.

cya
Rehaan is offline  
Old 10th March 2004, 01:55   #11
Senior - BHPian
 
Shan2nu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Hubli - Karnata
Posts: 5,525
Thanked: 87 Times
Default

You got the speedo error right!!!! i've got a friend who has seen his stock ikon hit 210kmph!!!!!!

Can you believe that? As per auto mags the top speed of the Ikon 1.6 is around 165-170 kmph.

Regards...
Shan2nu
Shan2nu is offline  
Old 28th March 2004, 16:44   #12
Sam
BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 114
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

I ca surely vouch for the ikons speed i myself have taken my Ikon to 195 and it was still increasing whn the road ended. Taking 15" tyres are a great handling upgrade, keeping the profile down will ensure that th ewheel arches are catered for. But u will feel every bump on th ealready bumpy road. Your tyre wear and punture rate will be worse coz of the wholyness of the road, coz low profiles tend to do that.
Sam is offline  
Old 28th March 2004, 16:52   #13
GTO
Team-BHP Support
 
GTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 47,753
Thanked: 89,445 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by [b
Quote[/b] ]I ca surely vouch for the ikons speed i myself have taken my Ikon to 195
Speedo error pal...speedo error

GTO
GTO is offline  
Old 28th March 2004, 19:56   #14
Senior - BHPian
 
Shan2nu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Hubli - Karnata
Posts: 5,525
Thanked: 87 Times
Default

Hey Sam when you say vouch. Do you mean the top speed or speedo error. Coz there's no way an Ikon can cross even 180kmph (true speed) unless you've tuned it.

Regards...
Shan2nu
Shan2nu is offline  
Old 5th October 2011, 13:45   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 15
Thanked: 0 Times
Default Re: ford ikon - tyre change

I have a ford ikon Rally sport 1,6, I could touch a maximum of 180 kms/hr tops..I doubt a stock ikon can go any faster unless there is serious speedo error!! Cheers!!

Moderator's Note: Thread closed. Please post your queries in this thread - Ford Ikon : Tyre & wheel upgrade thread

Last edited by Gannu_1 : 15th June 2015 at 08:54.
roadlover is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ikon TDCI discontinued ? EDIT: Confirmed: Ford stops Ikon production greatmana2000 The Indian Car Scene 61 10th February 2011 19:20
Steering wheel change for Ford Ikon sid_lath Modifications & Accessories 16 27th June 2010 04:53
Ford Ikon mod - fiesta head on ikon block? madhunm Modifications & Accessories 2 2nd July 2007 09:24


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 17:45.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks