Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Modifications & Accessories > Tyre & Alloy wheel Section

Tyre & Alloy wheel Section Everything to do with footwear for your car!

Old 11th September 2006, 14:16   #1 (permalink)

Today got delivery of my new car. What will be the right tyre upgrade for new honda city zx? Default they are Good year gps 2 175/65/R14, tyre dealer says if company fitted tyres are Good year then upgrading to Bridgestone potenza will be costly.

I have two questions...

What is the right upgrade size? 185/65/r14 or 195/60 r14?
How about upgrading to Good year eagle nct 5?

Kindly guide me as I have to take this decision fast.

Thanks & Regards.
sportive_guy30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2006, 17:57   #2 (permalink)

Possible options are:

185/60 R14
185/65 R14
195/60 R14

You would ahve to decide exact size & brand depending upon your preferences. What do you prefer grip & sporty handling? Or comfort? You have to decide the tyres accordingly.

My suggestions would be:

Michelin Energy XM1 for Comfort & Less Road Noise.
Bridgestone Potenza GIII for sporty handling & grip.
Old 11th September 2006, 18:27   #3 (permalink)

get michelin 195/60/14, XM1s or pilot precida if you are changing to alloys.
Old 11th September 2006, 18:49   #4 (permalink)

Thanks esteem_lover and iraghava for your reply.

Tyre dealer was insisting to upgrade from good year GPS 2 to Good year Eagle NCT 5 - 185/65 R14. Difference will be Rs. 3000 for 5 tyres. Shall I go for this?

For bridgestone potenza he says difference will be Rs. 9000/

I am looking for comfort, good handling and value for money.

Thanks & Regards.
Old 11th September 2006, 21:21   #5 (permalink)

Originally Posted by sportive_guy30
Tyre dealer was insisting to upgrade from good year GPS 2 to Good year Eagle NCT 5 - 185/65 R14. Difference will be Rs. 3000 for 5 tyres. Shall I go for this?
The price is good but unfortunately I have no experience with these tyres so can't really say much. Maybe somebody else has some experience so they might be able to offer some advice.

For bridgestone potenza he says difference will be Rs. 9000/
He's just overcharging you, the difference should not be more than 4.5-5k. Maybe he doesn't stock Bridgestone's & thus is more interested in selling you Goodyear.

I am looking for comfort, good handling and value for money.
Go for 185/65 R14 Michelin Energy XM1's, should cost you around 4-4.5k for exchange of all 5 tyres. The ride on them is brilliant & road noise practically nil.
Old 12th September 2006, 11:10   #6 (permalink)

i think he is taking you for a ride & forcing those good years on you. find out what the MRPs of these tyres (Good Year, Bridgestone & Michelin). if they are around the same, then you could have any of these tyres for roughly the same exchange price.
Old 12th September 2006, 13:41   #7 (permalink)

Thanks for reply and sharing valuable knowledge.

Will upgrading to following size tyre effect ground clearance or fuel efficiency of Honda City?

185/60 R14
185/65 R14
195/60 R14

Has anyone upgraded to any of this size tyres? Do I need to maintain same tyre pressure (Front 32 and Rear 30) after upgrade or ?

Kindly reply.

Thanks & Regards.