Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Modifications & Accessories > Tyre & Alloy wheel Section


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 3rd December 2010, 14:20   #31
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 54
Thanked: 9 Times
Default Need New Tyre Options for Indica V2 Diesel

Hi Guys,

I need to change the stock Bridgestone S322 tube type tyres in my NA Indica V2 running on stock steel rims.

Two of my BS322's recently had sidewall cuts and one has worn out on one end. (I did not notice that!). Plus 5 years since we got the car, so am mostly okay with changing/upgrading these. The rims look good to me externally (and hopefully, there should not be rust inside).

The options available for the 165/65 R13 size are as follows:

1. Bridgestone S322 (Tubed)
2. Bridgestone AR10 (Tubed & Tubeless)
3. Bridgestone Turanza ER60 (Tubeless)
2. Apollo Acelere (Tubeless)
3. Apollo Amazer (Tubed)
4. Michelin XM1+ (Tubeless)
5. MRF ZTX (Unsure!)
6. Maxxis (Unsure!)


Some points:
+Please do suggest other sizes that might fit the stock rims.
+Am leaning towards tubeless ones but am not sure how well they might work with the stock rims.
+Am not planning to upgrade to alloys.
+Have been quoted 2900-3400 for the above range of tyres
+Will be taking the final call on Tubed/Tubeless depending on the condition of the rims when opened
+Am looking for a good tyre shop from Chembur to Mulund. Any suggestions are welcome.

Thanks in advance to all T-BHP'ians.

Last edited by Jaggu : 3rd December 2010 at 14:35. Reason: Please use Search before opening new thread, Thanks
indianv2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2010, 22:05   #32
BHPian
 
para_7k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: chennai
Posts: 462
Thanked: 63 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by indianv2 View Post
Hi Guys,


Some points:
+Please do suggest other sizes that might fit the stock rims.
+Am leaning towards tubeless ones but am not sure how well they might work with the stock rims.
+Am not planning to upgrade to alloys.
+Have been quoted 2900-3400 for the above range of tyres
+Will be taking the final call on Tubed/Tubeless depending on the condition of the rims when opened
+Am looking for a good tyre shop from Chembur to Mulund. Any suggestions are welcome.

Thanks in advance to all T-BHP'ians.
175 will fit on your stock rims which is 4.5J. The right size for you is 175/60 13 but very few options are available at this size.

If not, stick to 165/65 x 13. Some have fitted 185/60 x 13 on the stock rims but IMO, it's not safe. 185s need a minimum width of 5J

I guess only the Potenza G3 and Acelere is available at this size.

Go for tubeless. If you find your rim condition too bad (bent, rusted), get new steel rims.

Among the ones you listed, I personally would recommend the Acelere. Cannot beat these when it comes to VFM.
para_7k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2011, 15:30   #33
Newbie
 
RoadKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2
Thanked: 0 Times
Question Indica-DLG-Turbo - OEM Alloys - Tyre replacement suggestions !!

Dear Team BHPians,

My Indica DLG Turbo with OEM Alloys has run on stock 165/65R14 Tube OEM Bridgestone tyres for about 64000 Kilometers with some wear and tear.

Have zeroed in on these potential candidates for replacement.

MICHELIN Energy XM1+ - 185/60R14
Bridgestone Potenza GIII - 185/60R14

Have been pretty happy with the OEM tyres except for few bubbles in the them.

Driving pattern is 65% city, 25% Highways and 10% Bad roads.

One of the tyres is pretty unused, should I change all 5 of them or changing 4 will do.

Your valuable inputs and guidance will be deeply appreciated.

Regards,
RoadKing
RoadKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2011, 22:12   #34
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,838
Thanked: 1,318 Times
Default Re: Indica-DLG-Turbo - OEM Alloys - Tyre replacement suggestions !!

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/tyre-a...-turbo-v2.html (Tyre upsize for Indica Turbo V2)

here you go
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2011, 19:11   #35
Newbie
 
RoadKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2
Thanked: 0 Times
Default Re: Indica-DLG-Turbo - OEM Alloys - Tyre replacement suggestions !!

Dear Greenhorn,

Thank you.

After checking all the threads and valuable reviews.

Have again changed priorities and zeroed in on these.

1. Bridgestone Turanza - ER300 - 185/60R14
2. Apollo - Acelere - 185/65R14
3. MICHELIN Energy XM1+ - 185/60R14

The Turanza's are not in stock anywhere in Bangalore.

Any comments on the others.

Regards,
Roadking
RoadKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th April 2011, 23:05   #36
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,838
Thanked: 1,318 Times
Default Re: Tyre upsize for Indica Turbo V2

depending on what is more important, ride quality or ruggedness of the tyres, i'd go with the acelere (rugged) or michelin (better ride)
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2011, 11:51   #37
BHPian
 
dhondusaxena's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Greater Noida
Posts: 108
Thanked: 41 Times
Default Re: Tyre upsize for Indica Turbo V2

hi Guys,

I have used Apollo Accelere but am not happy with them. Very soft for Indian Roads and quite prone to sidewall damage which makes them useless.

I shifted to MICHELIN Energy XM1+ - 185/60R14 which are just excellent. Have not had a flat tyre or even major changes in the tyre pressure since last 15000 Kms and about 6 months.

I have the Michelins on stock rims for my Indian Turbo DLX.

regards

Rohit
dhondusaxena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2012, 00:20   #38
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,838
Thanked: 1,318 Times
Default Re: Tyre upsize for Indica Turbo V2

just curious @ current/past indica DLX/DLG turbo/Dicor owners. What pressure do you use? the manual says 28front/24rear psi, but I used to use 32/30 psi
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2012, 15:08   #39
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,838
Thanked: 1,318 Times
Default Re: Tyre upsize for Indica Turbo V2

ok, finally time for my tyres to be replaced, and seems I'll be getting them from bbsr.
I have been *very* satisfied with my stock tubed S322's - they have taken all the abuse they have been dished out in their stride ( two of my rims are badly damaged) but the tyres are running just fine, except they've begun to lock up while braking.

A cursory price search brings up the following prices
Apollo acelere
165/65 = 4000
175/65 = 4100
185/60 = 4050

+ a 100 rupee discount if I buy a set of 5. The appolo dealer was very helpful

The 'Bridgestone' dealer seemed to be more of a JK dealer. Seemed very annoyed when i asked him about the prices
was offered
165/65 = 4300 (not told which model)
175/65 = 4600
185/60 = 4850 (ER300 or ER60, not sure)

he doesnt seem to have S322/B250 in stock.
all the tyres are tubeless
I'm looking for a durable and abuse resistant tyre with decent amounts of grip. I plan to drive to bhutan and then back to chennai in the immediate future
I do NOT want to be stranded on some remote highway, nor can i put up the cash for replacement tyres in case i get any bulges or wall ruptures. (those of you who are familiar with the term, 'moral hazard' - this is a classic case - these tyres are being sponsored by my education loan )

please suggest what to do. Looks like the apollo acelere 185/60 is the way to go, but i have my reservations about their durablity as compared to my Bulletproof S322's. Switching to tubeless also probably means two new rims as well.

Last edited by greenhorn : 21st February 2012 at 15:12.
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2012, 15:19   #40
Senior - BHPian
 
vigsom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: AUH<->MAA
Posts: 1,722
Thanked: 581 Times
Default Re: Tyre upsize for Indica Turbo V2

Greenie,

165/65 Acceleres is the way to go ; VFM and durable.

Option is to try Turanza ER-60 from BS
vigsom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2012, 17:23   #41
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Nikhilb2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 4,825
Thanked: 4,802 Times
Default Re: Tyre upsize for Indica Turbo V2

Dont go for the Acelere. It is not as durable as the Bridgestones.

For your requirements, I recommend the S322s ONLY. Everything else is not bulletproof. Yiou have been happy with the tyres till now. I think that's your best bet. Dont change to a different brand just for the heck of it.
Nikhilb2008 is offline   (1) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2012, 03:01   #42
Distinguished - BHPian
 
dhanushs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Bathery/BLR
Posts: 3,446
Thanked: 4,055 Times
Default Re: Tyre upsize for Indica Turbo V2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nikhilb2008 View Post
I recommend the S322s ONLY.
Nikhil, how about the ER60's? I bet with the pretty rugged sidewall, they are fit for greenhorn?

Reason: I have been running ER60's for a couple of years now, and they have gone through hell.. Still going on, with just ONE puncture.

EDIT: I just read about the rim condition of greenhorn, but still, aren't rims repairable? You know..

Last edited by dhanushs : 22nd February 2012 at 03:03.
dhanushs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2012, 10:29   #43
BHPian
 
DieselDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 198
Thanked: 132 Times
Default Re: Tyre upsize for Indica Turbo V2

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenhorn View Post
I have been *very* satisfied with my stock tubed S322's - they have taken all the abuse they have been dished out in their stride (two of my rims are badly damaged) but the tyres are running just fine, except they've begun to lock up while braking.
all the tyres are tubeless
I'm looking for a durable and abuse resistant tyre with decent amounts of grip. I plan to drive to bhutan and then back to chennai in the immediate future
I do NOT want to be stranded on some remote highway
Switching to tubeless also probably means two new rims as well.
I would recommend tubed tyres in your case. S322's preferable. I just switched back to tubed S322's after 3-4 yrs of tubeless(various brands) torture(My driving style to blame). I tried them for the heck of it as @Nikhilb2008 mentioned.
IMO Tubeless is too taxing [a) Rims should not be bent ~ not too many potholes ~ but Indian highways are unpredictable. b) Highway puncture shops do not do tubeless correctly. c) If sidewalls are hit, the tubeless is almost kaput]

On the price front - Check Reliance Autozone if you have one nearby. I was skeptical of the dealers as they stock everything and almost tried to sell me local make tyres for a lower rate. Plus Reliance offers Free Rotation, Fitment, Balancing & Exchange offer on old Tyres(bargainable); Credit cards accepted, Reliance Points in case you use them, Almost same price as dealers + not so old tyres.

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenhorn View Post
just curious @ current/past indica DLX/DLG turbo/Dicor owners. What pressure do you use? the manual says 28front/24rear psi, but I used to use 32/30 psi
I have a sticker on my driver door mentioning 30/28. Never had a problem with this setting. Sometimes the Fuel Outlet guy does'nt bother & sets 30/30.

INDICA V2 DLS 2003 99000+kms
DieselDon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2012, 13:16   #44
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,838
Thanked: 1,318 Times
Default Re: Tyre upsize for Indica Turbo V2

did a bit more research. got the following prices
165/65 MRF ZTX = 3700(tubed)
165/65 Bridgestone S322 4300 (or was it 4600, cant recall) (tubed)
175/65 Turanza ER300 4600(tubeless)
175/65 Michelin XM1+ 4500(tubeless)
185/60 Potenza G3 4800(tubeless)

Now am confused again. The XM1+ price seems a steal compared to the S322. On the other hand, if I'm sticking to hard tubed rubber, then the ZTX makes more sense. But if am getting the XM1+ might as well do my suspension overhaul now, since I'll have to baby these tyres over all these bad roads
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2012, 09:32   #45
mgh
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 395
Thanked: 33 Times
Default Re: Tyre upsize for Indica Turbo V2

The 175/65 will improve your ride noticeably with much better road grip than a 165/65, though with slightly lower FE. The speedo and the odo will show 2.3 % less.
Don't think you should go for the 185/60.
You might recall that I also have a V2 Turbo (2007).
mgh is offline   (1) Thanks Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tyre upsize for indica tsk1979 Tyre & Alloy wheel Section 67 19th June 2011 20:18
Indica NA DLS vs Turbo DLS vs Turbo DLG greenhorn Hatchbacks 10 5th May 2007 17:20
Indica Turbo vs Non Turbo lbhavani Technical Stuff 0 5th September 2006 22:22
New Indica Turbo - is the turbo on? gakudva Technical Stuff 5 15th July 2006 23:00


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 06:27.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks