Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Modifications & Accessories > Tyre & Alloy wheel Section


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 26th October 2004, 16:32   #1
BHPian
 
aggressive_anush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 97
Thanked: Once
Default Tubes on a tubeless tyre??

I had a punture a couple of days ago. Was running on Michelin Pilot Preceda 195 tyres. When i took it to the tyre repair guy he advised me to put tubes in the tyres. The cost to repair the puncture was 400 bucks which is kinda high.. and apparantly it cant be carried out at these roadside repair chaps as they cant fix the punctures on these tyres.

I wanted to know if it is advisable to put tubes on the tyres... It sounded kinda ridiculous to me. But i really dont know.

What would be the advantages of this? other than the cheaper repair costs, and i am pretty sure there must be some drawbacks to doing this sort of thing. What disadvantages are there.

Please help... I dont know if i should go ahead and put tubes but am not doing it for the moment until i understand all the pros and cons of it.



aggressive_anush is offline  
Old 26th October 2004, 16:46   #2
Team-BHP Support
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 11,883
Thanked: 9,699 Times
Default

Don't do it - it is not safe and the tyre is not built for tubes
ajmat is offline  
Old 26th October 2004, 19:02   #3
BHPian
 
anoops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: bangalore
Posts: 183
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

a puncture costs 400 bucks to fix???...was it really that bad? i mean was it like a large hole (not the nail type hole)?
the purpose of buying tubeless tyres is totally defeated if you put tubes in them...by the way most of the small tyre shop chaps havent come to terms with tubeless tyres. ive had mine for 2 years now and had just one puncture, cost me abourt 50 bucks to fix. he used my tubeless tyre puncture kit though.
anoops is offline  
Old 26th October 2004, 19:15   #4
BHPian
 
chaxy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: hyderabad
Posts: 387
Thanked: 16 Times
Default

I have Goodyear tubeless tyres with tubes on my Ikon for last 2 yrs. i even tried without the tubes. Frankly it didnt make any difference to me even at higher speeds so i let the tubes stay. No problem till date. evertime i had a puncture it has costed me 20 bucks..

chaxy is offline  
Old 26th October 2004, 19:36   #5
Senior - BHPian
 
normally_crazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 4,367
Thanked: 387 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by [b
Quote[/b] ]The cost to repair the puncture was 400 bucks
[img]http://www.team-bhp.com/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/***.gif[/img]

maan to repair a tubeless tyre puncture shudnt cost u anything more than 70 bucks.

and regarding tubes in tubeless tyres...NO NEVER unless there is an extreme emergency like a big tear that cant hold the air and u dont have a puncture repair guy available in the next 200 kms ..

cheers
normally_crazy is offline  
Old 26th October 2004, 19:36   #6
Senior - BHPian
 
drifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,469
Thanked: 13 Times
Default

U can fit a tube on that tyre temporarily...but a tube makes a tyre run at higher temperatures because of friction between the tyre n the tube. but it shudnt cause any problems in city driving.

In any case, get that tire repaired as soon as possible...n 400 bucks for a puncture??? thts way too high unless u blew up the whole tyre or something like that.

Drifter
drifter is offline  
Old 26th October 2004, 19:48   #7
BHPian
 
aggressive_anush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 97
Thanked: Once
Default

Yeah.. The puncture was pretty bad .. a huge iron shard had gone in. And the puncture guy said it would take a day to fix.. something about curing or something.... no idea.
And where can i get a tubeless tyre puncture kit like what anoops said he had?
aggressive_anush is offline  
Old 26th October 2004, 21:25   #8
BHPian
 
Team Fiat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Pune NIBM
Posts: 279
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

400 bucks u must be kidding me I have tubless tyre on my car and I have never paid more than 60 bucks for major punctures and installing a tubless tyre with a tube is crazy dont do it man the and the guy who adviced u about this is crazy too he should not be workin in the tyre industry and U get this tyre selants which u inject into a tubless tyre which costs something around 4000 rs which is dam good why dont u get that done its good for minor punctures not tyre rippers
Team Fiat is offline  
Old 26th October 2004, 23:31   #9
Team-BHP Support
 
Rudra Sen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 10,404
Thanked: 4,092 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by [b
Quote[/b] (aggressive_anush @ Oct. 26 2004,18:18)]And where can i get a tubeless tyre puncture kit like what anoops said he had?
In any good car accs shop.
It'll be a pouch with two metal cork borer type tools. One to make the puncture hole smooth and other to plug in the compound strip. You'll also get a knife to cut the compound strip. Cost around 650/- in Bangalore. May be cheaper in Bombay.
Rudra Sen is offline  
Old 26th October 2004, 23:40   #10
BHPian
 
aggressive_anush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 97
Thanked: Once
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by [b
Quote[/b] (Rudra Sen @ Oct. 26 2004,22:01)]Cost around 650/- in Bangalore. May be cheaper in Bombay.
650 bucks doesnt seem too much since the damn puncture guy charged me 400 bucks to repair it. And since im in bangalore itself might as well get it from here only.. Not much to be saved getting it from bombay methinks.
aggressive_anush is offline  
Old 26th October 2004, 23:47   #11
Team-BHP Support
 
Rudra Sen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 10,404
Thanked: 4,092 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by [b
Quote[/b] (aggressive_anush @ Oct. 26 2004,22:10)]650 bucks doesnt seem too much since the damn puncture guy charged me 400 bucks to repair it. And since im in bangalore itself might as well get it from here only.. Not much to be saved getting it from bombay methinks.
Hey I didn't remember the fact that you're from Bangalore.
Check with Anil at Hot Tracks at Residency Road.
Rudra Sen is offline  
Old 26th October 2004, 23:55   #12
BHPian
 
aggressive_anush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 97
Thanked: Once
Default

Sure will do.. Also need to go somewhere this weekend and get music systems for my cars. So will do that as well. Also one more thing...anoops.. u said that the puncture guy fixed ur tubeless using ur kit. How long did it take? As this guy took almost a day.
aggressive_anush is offline  
Old 18th July 2011, 10:05   #13
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Ghaziabad
Posts: 1,007
Thanked: 760 Times
Default Is this possible - Tubes in Tubeless Tyres?

Today morning, I noticed that the rear left tyre was running flat, so I took it to the neighbourhood puncture guy. He diagnosed the problem to 5 minute side-wall punctures. I was EXTREMELY surprised as to how this could happen. The tyre is a JK Vectra, about 35000 km old.

Anyway, he recommended that instead of mending the punctures, I put a Tube in the Tubeless tyre and be done with it. Of course, I was highly incredulous to this proposition, and said NO! I was unsure of how the car would handle at speeds if I did something like this. After all, I have to drive on NH-8, and 80-100 kmph is absolutely standard fare.

I promptly dumped the car back at home and continued on for the day, on my RE-TB.

As of now, I have resolved to get a new pair of Yokos today evening, to replace the Vectras. I have been happier with the performance of the Yokos over the JK ones, on the same car.

But, I am wondering, if putting in Tubes in the Tubeless Tyres can prolong the latter's life by say, 5 - 10 K kms, then it's not such a bad deal.


So:

Question 1: I would like to know if anyone has done anything like this (putting tubes in tubeless tyres) or has any experience of the same? What are the pitfalls?

Question 2: The car is a Logan Diesel, and is running standard tyre sizes. Since, I will be changing one pair, and intend to put these up front, is it a good idea to upsize a wee bit? If yes, then what upsize is recommended?
roy_libran is offline  
Old 18th July 2011, 10:41   #14
Senior - BHPian
 
ghodlur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Thane
Posts: 5,039
Thanked: 2,075 Times
Smile Re: Tubes on a tubeless tyre??

Even I was recommneded to put in a tube inside the tubeless tyre and keep it as a spare. This was because of the punctures (two happening around same spot) on the sidewall. For the third puncture when I approached Premji Tyres they confirmed that there was no need to put the tube inside the tubeless (Courtsey Mr Mark Premji), he got the puncture repaired for 100/- and even promised a good deal if I decided to replace the tyre.

Has anyone heard of Mushroom type pucnture repair, this it seems costs 250/- but did not have time to get more details. Will probably do it dueing next visit to Premji.
ghodlur is offline  
Old 18th July 2011, 10:50   #15
Senior - BHPian
 
rjstyles69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bengalooru..
Posts: 4,345
Thanked: 789 Times
Default Re: Is this possible - Tubes in Tubeless Tyres?

Quote:
Originally Posted by roy_libran View Post
Question 1: I would like to know if anyone has done anything like this (putting tubes in tubeless tyres) or has any experience of the same? What are the pitfalls?
Yeah you can and that's what we did some time back during a road trip. My friend's car had taken a hit and couldnt find any dealer selling S-drives for the 16xx kms trip.The sidewall had ruptured, we put in a tube and drove along the whole trip. Was a tad bit careful while driving though. Came back home and get a new tire.

Quote:
Originally Posted by roy_libran View Post
Question 2: The car is a Logan Diesel, and is running standard tyre sizes. Since, I will be changing one pair, and intend to put these up front, is it a good idea to upsize a wee bit? If yes, then what upsize is recommended?
When you size you mean to say increase the dia of the tire or only the section width of the tires ? If the dia is gonna remain the same and its only the section width there is no problems. You can increase it by one size or so.
rjstyles69 is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mitsubishi going down the tubes! GTO The International Automotive Scene 6 11th July 2012 17:25
Bridgestone OEM Tubes Lalvaz Technical Stuff 14 26th November 2006 14:15
Replacing tires and tubes readonly Technical Stuff 6 20th June 2005 13:48
Don't tubes have speed ratings??? Shan2nu Tyre & Alloy wheel Section 18 9th July 2004 23:18


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 14:28.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks