Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Modifications & Accessories > Tyre & Alloy wheel Section


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 1st June 2009, 22:33   #16
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Nikhilb2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 4,825
Thanked: 4,804 Times
Default

I cant share details about the places on the public forum. Sorry. Unless the mods allow me.

I have not used this before, but have seen a lot of people using it. The display on the dashboard runs off the power from the cigarette lighter. It is basically a small box. About the size of a matchbox. It has an image of a car with 4 wheels and each wheel is lit by a small LED. Next to this image of the car, they have a bigger space for a display where numbers (for PSI and temp) are displayed. So, when the LED next to the front right tyre is lit and the display is showing 30PSI, it means the front right tyre is at a pressure of 30PSI.
Nikhilb2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2009, 22:47   #17
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,891
Thanked: 19 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nikhilb2008 View Post
I cant share details about the places on the public forum. Sorry. Unless the mods allow me.

I have not used this before, but have seen a lot of people using it. The display on the dashboard runs off the power from the cigarette lighter. It is basically a small box. About the size of a matchbox. It has an image of a car with 4 wheels and each wheel is lit by a small LED. Next to this image of the car, they have a bigger space for a display where numbers (for PSI and temp) are displayed. So, when the LED next to the front right tyre is lit and the display is showing 30PSI, it means the front right tyre is at a pressure of 30PSI.
Hi Nikhil, Thanks for the details, I have sent you a PM, please respond to it.
StarVegabond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2009, 18:13   #18
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,381
Thanked: 22,610 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nikhilb2008 View Post
...You just remove the tyre from the wheel, fix the sensors to the bottom of the tubeless neck and then screw it in and fit the tyre again....
Nikhil,

How are the sensors connected to the display in the system you are talking about?

cya
R
Rehaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2009, 18:17   #19
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,891
Thanked: 19 Times
Default

Hi Nikhil, I had one more question.

Does the TPMS system needs to be calibrated ?, how we can judge the accuracy of the measurement ?, we often suspect the pressure meters used at fuel stations or tyre repair shops. is there any way we can calibate the TPMS periodically ?

thanks,
StarVegabond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2009, 18:40   #20
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Nikhilb2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 4,825
Thanked: 4,804 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rehaan View Post
Nikhil,

How are the sensors connected to the display in the system you are talking about?

cya
R
Radio frequency.

Quote:
Originally Posted by StarVegabond View Post
Hi Nikhil, I had one more question.

Does the TPMS system needs to be calibrated ?, how we can judge the accuracy of the measurement ?, we often suspect the pressure meters used at fuel stations or tyre repair shops. is there any way we can calibate the TPMS periodically ?

thanks,
Well, there is no calibration as such that I know of. You can check the accuracy and precision by comparing it with another accurate gauge just when you are getting it installed.

BTW, I would like to correct the price. It's closer to 8k nowadays.
Nikhilb2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2009, 11:43   #21
GTO
Team-BHP Support
 
GTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 47,763
Thanked: 89,526 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nikhilb2008 View Post
I cant share details about the places on the public forum. Sorry. Unless the mods allow me.
As long as you are not commercially affiliated to those shops, please go ahead.
GTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2009, 11:55   #22
Senior - BHPian
 
itwasntme's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: BANGALORE
Posts: 2,276
Thanked: 1,346 Times
Default

I think the Tyreprobe kit is around 10k with B&W. Contact them at their Bangalore distributors; they also have a good website at:

TYREPROBE
itwasntme is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2009, 13:37   #23
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NA
Posts: 1,219
Thanked: 21 Times
Default

Tyreprobe looks good, I take it the sensors need a battery to operate and when this is low it needs replacing. Would be bit of a pain to remove the tyre just to replace batteries every few months.
bigman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2009, 14:47   #24
BHPian
 
the_maassk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Vadodara/ NG7 2QP
Posts: 205
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

The batteries in the sensors apparently last for around 7 yrs. under normal usage as per the details on the website.
the_maassk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2009, 16:36   #25
BHPian
 
sonirohit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Chandigarh
Posts: 318
Thanked: 9 Times
Default

It'd be easier to pay your local type puncher repair guy 10K and he'll come everyday to your house and check the pressures on all 5 for all cars everyday all throughout your lifetime... Why waste money on TPM??? Get an ice upgrade instead...
sonirohit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2009, 16:46   #26
BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Kollam, Kerala
Posts: 368
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigman View Post
Tyreprobe looks good, I take it the sensors need a battery to operate and when this is low it needs replacing. Would be bit of a pain to remove the tyre just to replace batteries every few months.
Won't re calibration be required after change of battery? Even glucometers are to be recalibrated when battery is changed.

Last edited by janitha : 3rd June 2009 at 16:47.
janitha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2009, 18:08   #27
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Nikhilb2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 4,825
Thanked: 4,804 Times
Default

Tyreprobe is now at 8k. Not 10k.
Nikhilb2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2009, 18:20   #28
BHPian
 
ajayr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 92
Thanked: 18 Times
Default

Just bought tyre pressure monitor valve caps off ebay: eBay India: Tire Pressure Monitor Valve Stem Caps 30 PSI (item 300316395671 end time 19-Jun-2009 07:34:37 IST)

Will post a review as soon as I get them.
ajayr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2009, 13:35   #29
BHPian
 
Sportsmind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 394
Thanked: 28 Times
Cool

TPMS as i understand is very essential part of the saftey aspect of your drive, it is a mandatory guage in most of the american and european countries. When on a long drive when you are crusiing on 120+, with your your ICE in full blast, you will never know what is happeining on the wheels. Most of the accidents abroad are attributed to tyre issues.
I would rate it as an important requirment onboard.
Will be getting mine soon,yet to decide to go with the tyreprobe or the tyredog. Tyreprobe has an offer at 7800. Check this out.
Sportsmind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2009, 13:54   #30
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,839
Thanked: 1,318 Times
Default

In american/european countries, they are there to save careless idiots from themselves , and more importantly, to the car manufacturer, to reduce their liablity - Sort of like the warnings on the starbucks coffee that it is hot
. In addition, its much harder to tell if the air is low on low profile tyres used abroad. Not so much with the 80 ~65 profile tyres the majority of indians drive.

Question : Won't the wheels need to be rebalanced after adding these sensors ?

Last edited by greenhorn : 13th June 2009 at 13:57.
greenhorn is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tyre pressure gauge and portable inflator pump / foot pump adityapd Modifications & Accessories 698 29th November 2017 16:38
The right tyre pressure? BikerSG Tyre & Alloy wheel Section 165 30th June 2017 18:01
The 'Actual' Tyre Pressure : Is Atmospheric Pressure Counted? sr_1445 Technical Stuff 2 16th January 2014 11:05
Tyre pressure, have you checked yours lately? Shan2nu Tyre & Alloy wheel Section 216 14th March 2011 12:39
Tyre pressure indication on the sidewall!! Shan2nu Tyre & Alloy wheel Section 11 7th February 2005 15:37


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 16:48.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks