Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Modifications & Accessories > Tyre & Alloy wheel Section


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 13th May 2011, 22:54   #61
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 65
Thanked: 39 Times
Default Re: Onboard Tyre pressure sensors

Quote:
Originally Posted by naveenangels View Post
If anybody is looking for a professional monitoring system; I suggest you go for Orange P409S; with 4 separate LED color changing displays for 4 tires... i'v been using them for 4 yrs. No issues till date, tyreprobe is their authorized distributor in India, but they are still selling the old single display model.
If any body wants them, you will need to get it from taiwan
Hi Naveen
Will the Orange P409S work or suite the scorpio rims if I get it from the USA
Regards,
Vijay
vj_k2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2011, 17:49   #62
BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Pune
Posts: 344
Thanked: 56 Times
Default Re: Onboard Tyre pressure sensors

Got an SMS from carax ( in pune ) - The Tyre-Probe TPMS is available for Rs 5500. Seems to be agood buy - or are they clearing out stocks for Orange P409S!
alto99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2011, 12:30   #63
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Chennai
Posts: 8
Thanked: 0 Times
Exclamation Re: Onboard Tyre pressure sensors

Hi, tried mailing them without any response... can you give me their mobile no.
naveenangels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2011, 10:35   #64
BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Pune
Posts: 344
Thanked: 56 Times
Default Re: Onboard Tyre pressure sensors

Here is their website Contact Details for CARAX, Auto Accessories Store in Pune, India's Largest Car Accessories Store, Quality Car Accessories Stores at Pune, Live Car Audio System Shop, Car Music System on Pune Highway, 3M Car Care Products, Alloy Wheels in Pune, Good C
Tuesdays closed.
alto99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th September 2011, 11:48   #65
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Dombivli
Posts: 2,627
Thanked: 1,191 Times
Default Re: Onboard Tyre pressure sensors

Yesterday the tyre shop owner showed me the Tyre Pressure Monitoring System. It's manufactured/marketed by a company in B'lore. It's a set of four pressure monitoring devices which sit inside the rim, and a small LED screen which shows the pressure/temperature of each tyre.

The pressure monitoring device attaches to the valve using a screw (hollow in the centre to allow air movement. There are separate, bigger size valves for this. The LED screen can be powered through the cigarette lighter socket in the car.

The whole system is available for 6k, with a year's warranty.

There's no fifth sensor for the spare tyre, and during tyre rotations, you would have to spend money to remove the sensor from the tyre going into the back, and mount it into the tyre going onto the car. Shame there's no fifth sensor.

Let me know if anyone wants to buy it. I can help with the shop's address.
honeybee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2011, 16:52   #66
BHPian
 
archat68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Kolkata
Posts: 695
Thanked: 201 Times
Default Re: Onboard Tyre pressure sensors

Can the TPMS be fitted on tubeless tyres fitted on steel rims or do they require the alloys?
archat68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2011, 22:06   #67
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Dombivli
Posts: 2,627
Thanked: 1,191 Times
Default Re: Onboard Tyre pressure sensors

The TPMS can be fitted to any types of rims, steel or alloys. They are IMO suitable only for tubeless tyres, as they sit inside the rim. With a tube tyre, the tube won't fit snugly with the TPMS sensor between it and the tyre.
honeybee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2011, 22:09   #68
Team-BHP Support
 
Akshay1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 9,762
Thanked: 6,670 Times
Default Re: Onboard Tyre pressure sensors

Quote:
Originally Posted by honeybee View Post
The TPMS can be fitted to any types of rims, steel or alloys. They are IMO suitable only for tubeless tyres, as they sit inside the rim. With a tube tyre, the tube won't fit snugly with the TPMS sensor between it and the tyre.
With a tube tyre wouldn't the sensor need to be inside the tube?
Akshay1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2011, 22:38   #69
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Dombivli
Posts: 2,627
Thanked: 1,191 Times
Default Re: Onboard Tyre pressure sensors

Hmmm.... And how do you propose to put it inside the tube?
honeybee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2011, 09:04   #70
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Melbourne, VIC
Posts: 1,006
Thanked: 651 Times
Default Tire Pressure Monitoring System Compatibility

Hi Everyone! I'm back!


I'm considering a TPMS solution for my fortuner which was when I came across the "orance TPMS" device, from a company in the US.

The product link: Car TPMS + GPS Aftermarket Kit - Aftermarket TPMS Kits by Orange Electronic

This device has the TPMS sensors and the display and also has GPS!

I'm wondering whether this would be compatible with the Fortuner.

Any suggestions from the experts?

Also, is there any TPMS solution that I may integrate with my existing Pioneer AVH-P3250 DVD HU? This would be of a great convenience and ergonomy!


Nitin
nitinbose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2011, 11:24   #71
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Dombivli
Posts: 2,627
Thanked: 1,191 Times
Default Re: Tire Pressure Monitoring System Compatibility

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitinbose View Post
I'm wondering whether this would be compatible with the Fortuner.
...
Also, is there any TPMS solution that I may integrate with my existing Pioneer AVH-P3250 DVD HU? This would be of a great convenience and ergonomy!
The TPMS works only with tubeless tyres, so if your Fortuner comes with tubeless tyres, any TPMS should work. There's no other compatibility. Ah, you may need to have a 12v socket to power the system, but again I am assuming the Fortuner has it.

About integration with your existing HU, I doubt if it would be possible, unless you were to hack the TPMS unit and connect it to your HU. Each TPMS ships with its own receiver and display unit, so you will have to go with the one which you get. Also unlike reversing cameras, the TPMS sensors work wireless, so there are no wires to plug into your existing HU.
honeybee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2011, 11:36   #72
BHPian
 
archat68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Kolkata
Posts: 695
Thanked: 201 Times
Default Re: Tire Pressure Monitoring System Compatibility

I installed this one on my Swift - working great so far:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...00_i00_details

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitinbose View Post
Hi Everyone! I'm back!


I'm considering a TPMS solution for my fortuner which was when I came across the "orance TPMS" device, from a company in the US.

The product link: Car TPMS + GPS Aftermarket Kit - Aftermarket TPMS Kits by Orange Electronic

This device has the TPMS sensors and the display and also has GPS!

I'm wondering whether this would be compatible with the Fortuner.

Any suggestions from the experts?

Also, is there any TPMS solution that I may integrate with my existing Pioneer AVH-P3250 DVD HU? This would be of a great convenience and ergonomy!


Nitin
archat68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2011, 23:00   #73
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Chennai
Posts: 8
Thanked: 0 Times
Default Re: Onboard Tyre pressure sensors

Unfortunately there is no device which will integrate with an Audio system.
But the Orange TPMS (Which is from Korea) is pretty small and fits in the dash of any vehicle seamlessly.
I've got one on my captiva and i10... 5years and no issues
naveenangels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2011, 09:12   #74
Senior - BHPian
 
goandude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 1,336
Thanked: 437 Times
Default Re: Tire Pressure Monitoring System Compatibility

Quote:
Originally Posted by archat68 View Post
I installed this one on my Swift - working great so far:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...00_i00_details
Looking forward to read about your experience with this. E.g. after driving --- km temp rises in front tyres by-- and rear by--. Give us some idea as to how fast tyres heat up when driven.
goandude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2011, 20:30   #75
BHPian
 
archat68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Kolkata
Posts: 695
Thanked: 201 Times
Default Re: Onboard Tyre pressure sensors

Sorry for late reply.

Here is today evening's update:

At start after office.
Ambient temp. : 21 deg C
Tyre pressure: 33 PSI front, 31 PSI rear (was set to 34/32 at 28 deg C about 2 weeks ago)
Tyre temp. : 21 deg C all.

After a run of 40KM. first 30KM at around 60-80KMPH, last 10KM through heavy traffic and lots of braking.

Tyre pressure :35 F/32 R PSI
Tyre temp. : 36 deg C (F), 30 deg C (R).
archat68 is offline   (1) Thanks Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tyre pressure gauge and portable inflator pump / foot pump adityapd Modifications & Accessories 698 29th November 2017 16:38
The right tyre pressure? BikerSG Tyre & Alloy wheel Section 165 30th June 2017 18:01
The 'Actual' Tyre Pressure : Is Atmospheric Pressure Counted? sr_1445 Technical Stuff 2 16th January 2014 11:05
Tyre pressure, have you checked yours lately? Shan2nu Tyre & Alloy wheel Section 216 14th March 2011 12:39
Tyre pressure indication on the sidewall!! Shan2nu Tyre & Alloy wheel Section 11 7th February 2005 15:37


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 20:35.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks