Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Modifications & Accessories > Tyre & Alloy wheel Section


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 24th July 2007, 20:27   #16
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,746
Thanked: 7,449 Times
Default

Find a good garage, get hold of longer bolts and chop them to correct length, yes you can tapper the ends. Find a good lathe to do the job and ensure you buy the best quality bolts.
Jaggu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2007, 21:11   #17
BHPian
 
basilmabraham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: SYD Downsouth
Posts: 759
Thanked: 51 Times
Default

@Jaggu, nice idea. I had that in mind as last resort...was looking for a simpler solution...there again the problem is getting longer bolts that fit in the hub...I think it may lead to some work on the hub too, to make it fit for the long bolt.

Strange that none of th Palio owners have posted a solution for this problem.
basilmabraham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2007, 23:08   #18
BANNED
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: India
Posts: 4,346
Thanked: 16 Times
Exclamation ummm... ummmm.....

Quote:
Originally Posted by rishibravo View Post
Hydrashok doesnt face this problem as he didnt upsize the tyres. Moreover he has PCD 98 HRs I think
Hello! He has 15" HR alloys. But luckily, he got 98 PCD in a design he liked.
And the Alloys are not very thick from the stock ones (near the screwing area).
Take a look at his garage. the car is great to look at with those alloys.
speedzak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th July 2007, 08:08   #19
Senior - BHPian
 
hydrashok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: In my Office
Posts: 2,528
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

@Basil, I missed this thead. I got here, thanks to Zak.

As Zak said, I'm running 15" HRs.

Is your ride a 1.6 or a Diesel? Apparently the 1.6 & the Diesel need nuts of a different length than the 1.2 (I'm sorry I don't remember whether the difference means they are longer or shorter). I remember Philip (Global Tyres) mentioning this to me when I asked for separate alloy nuts. He had them in stock, but they wouldn't fit my 1.2 (they were too long for my 1.2). My alloys are on the stock nuts now. He also said keeping the stock nuts minimised all issues.

I haven't had any issues with my alloys (touchwood). I've taken the car upto a shade above 130 and she's stayed rock solid - no vibrations or jarring.

Carfreak had to change his alloy nuts to stock (1.6) after he switched back to the Fiat Alloys. There were some "nut" issues here too.

When you are here in Cochin, I'll be glad to help in any way I can

EDIT: I agree with all of what Zak has said in post #5. FIAT's alloy policy is quite crazy. I was lucky to get wheels that I liked without having to go through a lot of heartburn.

Last edited by hydrashok : 25th July 2007 at 08:12.
hydrashok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th July 2007, 08:53   #20
BHPian
 
basilmabraham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: SYD Downsouth
Posts: 759
Thanked: 51 Times
Default

@Hydra.
Mine is a 1.9D. I didnt know that the 1.9 and 1.6 needed nuts different from 1.2..I tried all the nuts Global had in stock and none of them fit properly...Got 6 nuts (a bit longer ones from Elegant Motors, near to Modern Bread) Some of them fit properly, some doesnt..I guess my wheel hub has gone bad and would either require a replacement or may need to redo the screw.
I will PM you for your number, need Zaks number too...
basilmabraham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th July 2007, 09:40   #21
BANNED
 
hellspawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: noida
Posts: 1,686
Thanked: 6 Times
Infractions: 0/1 (10)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rishibravo View Post
Either stick to the OE Alloys or keep looking for 98 PCDs .I failed to do so and took the adjustment route. And I curse my decision when I get a puncture . But when i look at my baby with those rims I feel happy. So its a give some and take some deal. Some take it and some dont. I took it and there have been much more happy moments than the treacherous ones...
hey but don't you have neo alloys...they are 98pcd and designed for the palio.am i right??

and one of the reasons why i havent bought alloys for my siena as yet,never thought getting alloys would be a tedious job.
hellspawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2007, 18:59   #22
BHPian
 
carfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Udupi
Posts: 559
Thanked: 178 Times
Default

my my,what a heated debate!!on a topic that gave me sleepless nights and an empty pocket!!and the nightmares are still not over for me!!

hi basil,my problem was slightly diffrent from yours-i bought a 1.6 sport and i went for a new set of alloys on which i could not put my stock nuts as in the rear,the nuts started rubbing with some thing(brake-liner?)with the new alloys and so i had to put in the nuts of the 1.2palio(the steel disc ones-they are shorter than the usual alloy wheel nuts)now the problem started-at high speeds i started experiencing severe steering wheel vibrations which did not go despite checking the balancing twice.after a long search in t-bhp i realised one has to fit the alloy wheel nuts only as they taper in a different manner than the steel disc nuts.due to all these problems and after tking advice from our resident tire-dealer(oops,sorry iraghava )i
realised it was best to go back to o.e. alloys as i like playing it safe and enjoying my drive-did not want the high speed vibrations and all that.i lost a lot of money in the process as you may have guessed by now.(zak and hydra were witness to all this,so they will narrate the whole story once you meet up with them.zak,start in the morning itself so that you will finish by next day morning!! )
when i fitted the new alloys,again i had problem procuring the original alloy nuts(i had lost 4 of them)thankfully the t.v.s. service people in mangalore had them but even they were reluctant to give me more than 4-they told it was very difficult to get and they need it for cars that came for service there!!

basil,you know what the biggest problem is?its again the service of fiat-ultimately boils down to that!!spare parts are still difficult to get.when i went to rf once for my car's service,i met a man who had purchased the fiat alloys 3months back but could not fit them due to non-availability of the alloy wheel nuts!!and despite him placing the order at rf,even they were not giving a 100% guarantee they would get it for him.things may change in future,but still now,at least in ekm,fiat is seen as an unwanted child by the tata-dealers.they may talk sweet but they still do not have the experience!!

i hope i have been of some help!!
carfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2007, 10:53   #23
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 13
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

the bolts for the palio would be avaliable with this guy in ludhiana his mobile number is harpal singh but the problem is this guy understands only hindi and u got to explain him in detail his name is harpal singh and his mobile no is 098145 04190
tyrestore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2007, 12:36   #24
BHPian
 
basilmabraham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: SYD Downsouth
Posts: 759
Thanked: 51 Times
Default

thanks carfreak...I understand ur problem...truely the TATA service deals with Fiat cars in a very pathetic way..I remember some one here in tbhp saying that the Fiats are too techincally advanced for the TATA guys to repair on...

anyways am planning to get my problem solved by fabricating custom alloy wheels...dont know where to begin though... :(
basilmabraham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2007, 12:46   #25
Senior - BHPian
 
iraghava's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bhaiyyaland
Posts: 8,028
Thanked: 153 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by basilmabraham View Post
anyways am planning to get my problem solved by fabricating custom alloy wheels...dont know where to begin though... :(
Unless you have access to a high-quality CNC machine, CAD/CAM designer & a supplier of specialised alloy material, I suggest you not think of this option. Fabricating alloys isn't that easy, trust me on that one.
iraghava is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2007, 12:23   #26
BHPian
 
basilmabraham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: SYD Downsouth
Posts: 759
Thanked: 51 Times
Default

thanks for the insight iraghava...i guess, you know this better than any one else in the forum...it was indeed a post out of desperation.. :(

I have decide to put my ego on the shelf and switch back to stock steel wheels..will upgrade the tires on those later...
With my 3 month old soon to travel in the car, I cant take any more risks...

thanks all for all the help...the alloy wheel nut problem remains unsolved for me, but, I still hope to find a permanent solution to this problem some time...
basilmabraham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2007, 15:05   #27
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,746
Thanked: 7,449 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by basilmabraham View Post
thanks for the insight iraghava...i guess, you know this better than any one else in the forum...it was indeed a post out of desperation.. :(

I have decide to put my ego on the shelf and switch back to stock steel wheels..will upgrade the tires on those later...
With my 3 month old soon to travel in the car, I cant take any more risks...

thanks all for all the help...the alloy wheel nut problem remains unsolved for me, but, I still hope to find a permanent solution to this problem some time...
@basil: do you have access to a good workshop? if so please take the car to them and explain clearly the issue. Any competent workshop along with access to lathe shop can do this job (finding a bolt and moding it to sepc). It will take one saturday time of yours max.
Jaggu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2007, 18:38   #28
BHPian
 
basilmabraham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: SYD Downsouth
Posts: 759
Thanked: 51 Times
Default

@Jaggu, Thanks. I know it is possible at a good workshop. I do have acces to good work shops...I have given the car for service and some minor repairs..once i get it back..will try this option out..

The TVS service guy here in trivandrum says, its the power spanners that the tire shops are using is the main culprit in this case...anyways I have decided to switch to the stock wheels for the time being.
basilmabraham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2007, 20:48   #29
BHPian
 
nikhilv12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: trivandrum
Posts: 272
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

check this out, this will solve your problem.
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/modifi...ication-5.html (Palio Modification)
nikhilv12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2007, 23:14   #30
BHPian
 
basilmabraham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: SYD Downsouth
Posts: 759
Thanked: 51 Times
Default

Thanks for the link Nikhil...but even they dont have a clear answer...

I have decided to take the risk and run the car on the alloys itself...TVS service guys says it shud fit..it had fit properly for tha last 15-20k...hope it will for another 15 to 20k...

also I have the call to be made to zak, when am in Cochin...hope he will do some wonders...
basilmabraham is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Suggestion/Solutions 98 PCD Alloy wheels for FIAT(Palio, Adventure) s.prashanth Tyre & Alloy wheel Section 30 2nd July 2014 21:32
PCD Conversion: How Safe and Availability moralfibre Tyre & Alloy wheel Section 38 26th February 2013 10:20
Replaced No-name alloy wheel nuts with Gorilla wheel nuts. Sankar Tyre & Alloy wheel Section 36 21st February 2013 12:34
Where can i get Alloy Wheel Nuts NFS2024 Tyre & Alloy wheel Section 9 8th September 2009 15:07
Need help in procuring a 4x Graphics card WasavaTyres Gadgets, Computers & Software 17 26th May 2009 16:19


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 14:30.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks