Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Modifications & Accessories > Tyre & Alloy wheel Section


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12th December 2007, 01:01   #1
BHPian
 
viper316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: BeNgAlUrU/PoNdY
Posts: 61
Thanked: Once
Smile Tire Size

Hi,

I have a red swift and i had got a 15" Hr mag wheel with 205/60 r 15 Bridgestone tyres on them from the best dealer in Bangalore. After few days the front right tyre is touching the Black Plastic sheet under the hood or what u call it as a flaper of the car.Many says its too high profile for this car and you shoud have gone for 205/50 r 15. Please advice me on the profile and is it good for performance and road grip.
viper316 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2007, 13:05   #2
Senior - BHPian
 
iraghava's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bhaiyyaland
Posts: 8,028
Thanked: 154 Times
Default

Viper - Given the touching issues that Swift's face with 205/60 it's advisable to go in for 205/55.

205/50 is an incorrect upsize for the Swift.

Also, for any further queries please do a search in this section. A lot of threads on upsize's for the Swift already exist.
iraghava is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2007, 14:26   #3
BANNED
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: hyderabad,london
Posts: 441
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iraghava View Post
Viper - Given the touching issues that Swift's face with 205/60 it's advisable to go in for 205/55.

205/50 is an incorrect upsize for the Swift.

Also, for any further queries please do a search in this section. A lot of threads on upsize's for the Swift already exist.
dude..205/50/r15 is correct upsize only....but will have some speedo error
zenopio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2007, 15:06   #4
Senior - BHPian
 
iraghava's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bhaiyyaland
Posts: 8,028
Thanked: 154 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zenopio View Post
dude..205/50/r15 is correct upsize only....but will have some speedo error
Dude??

Really? Care to elaborate how it is a correct upsize when it has over 5% speedo error?? Do you even know what you're talking about in upsizing by saying it's a correct upsize but there is only going to be speedo error??

Last edited by iraghava : 12th December 2007 at 15:09.
iraghava is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2007, 17:37   #5
BHPian
 
viper316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: BeNgAlUrU/PoNdY
Posts: 61
Thanked: Once
Default

Hi,

I took the car to the tyre show room and the flapper was off because the clip had come off from the hood , so replaced the clip and i dont feel it is touching the car. The tyre dealer said after the wear and tear the size of the runbber will reduce and it will be fine. As of now there is no issue , but i will be taking the car to Pondy on friday so will come to know.

I had checked with the Maruti dealer and they also say 205-60 R15 is a good upsize and what many other dealer say that its a good upsize

Can you please elaborate on the speedo error what it really stands for.

Last edited by aah78 : 13th December 2007 at 04:09. Reason: posts merged
viper316 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2007, 18:25   #6
Senior - BHPian
 
kpzen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 5,545
Thanked: 1,599 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by viper316 View Post
Hi,

I had checked with the Maruti dealer and they also say 205-60 R15 is a good upsize and what many other dealer say that its a good upsize
Since when have Maruti people started suggesting upsized tyres that too 205 rubber for Swift.???

Quote:
Originally Posted by zenopio View Post
dude..205/50/r15 is correct upsize only....but will have some speedo error
Doooood...!
205/50-15 is an absolute wrong upsize for Swift.
Please get your facts right.

Last edited by kpzen : 12th December 2007 at 18:30.
kpzen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2007, 18:29   #7
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 313
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

For Swift 195/60 R15 and 205/55 R15 are the best possible sizes in 15".
Ishaan's suggestion is correct.
itzzme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2007, 18:34   #8
BHPian
 
speed_devil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: mangalore\hyderabad
Posts: 91
Thanked: 0 Times
Default tyre query

Hi guys,

I think 205/55/R15 is the correct upsize for swift.. But wanted to know if There would be any contact with body under full load (3 people in back seat) or full steering turn?

If anyone personally has used this size,would like hear their feed back.
Thanks in advance.
speed_devil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2007, 18:40   #9
Senior - BHPian
 
iceman91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: melbourne/bangalore
Posts: 1,958
Thanked: 22 Times
Default

"wear and tear rubber will reduce"..that is the wildest excuse I have heard to say that the tire is correct.

speedo error means due to change in tire size from original specs the speedometer will not show true reading. thats one of the reasons its important to keep the OD as close to the original
iceman91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2007, 18:59   #10
BHPian
 
Fillmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 277
Thanked: 137 Times
Default Speedo Error

Quote:
Originally Posted by viper316 View Post
Hi,

Can you please elaborate on the speedo error what it really stands for.
Speedo Error in a nutshell
The underlying principle in the car speedometer is that it measures the speed of the wheel rotation and calculates speed based on pre-computed distance covered per rotation. The assumption is that the tyres are a known circumference.
However fitting an incorrect Tyre size can alter this due to a change in the diameter of the new tyre.
Fillmore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2007, 19:52   #11
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: dombivili,mumbai
Posts: 68
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zenopio View Post
dude..205/50/r15 is correct upsize only....but will have some speedo error
buddy, just from the number of posts it is evident that you are as new to forum as i am! that means you are newbie. check the status of these guys, some are senior bhpians while others are distinguished ones. they cannot go wrong on such simple topics like upsizes ! please recheck with your upsize!

" regarding the wear and tear of your tire as the solution to the problem"! i think the guy who adviced you is a moron or just very funny!!
khadoos baby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2007, 21:19   #12
BHPian
 
BAKIYA_2K12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: CHENNAI
Posts: 190
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

I Am Planning For Alloys In My Fiesta The Wheel Size Is 16"and The Tyre Would Be 205/50 R16 Is It A Correct Size For My Car. Will I Get Contact With The Body And Will There Be Any Speedometer Error?

Note from the Support Staff: Please avoid posting first letter capital posts. It makes for a difficult read.

Last edited by aah78 : 13th December 2007 at 04:12. Reason: See note.
BAKIYA_2K12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2007, 23:01   #13
Senior - BHPian
 
kpzen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 5,545
Thanked: 1,599 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by khadoos baby View Post
buddy, just from the number of posts it is evident that you are as new to forum as i am! that means you are newbie. check the status of these guys, some are senior bhpians while others are distinguished ones. they cannot go wrong on such simple topics like upsizes ! please recheck with your upsize!
Hey Doc.!
Nothing like that. Kyunki Senior Tbhpian bhi kabhi Newbie tha.
We all here respect each other's views and share our knowledge and take what other's share with us. But what's wrong is wrong and right is right and i hope Zenopio will agree with it.

Last edited by kpzen : 12th December 2007 at 23:02.
kpzen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2007, 23:34   #14
BHPian
 
viper316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: BeNgAlUrU/PoNdY
Posts: 61
Thanked: Once
Default

I took the car to the tyre show room and the flapper was off because the clip had come off from the hood , so replaced the clip and i dont feel it is touching the car.

Even after three guys on the back its still doesn't touch , its got a good road grip and conner stability.

Speedo error in cars is that in stock tyre if we are going in 60 it will show in the speedo as 60. since it designed for stock the change in the wheel will cause it to show speedo error . With the new tyre the actual speed of the car would be 61 but it would show 60 on the speedo meter. in some upto 10% speedo error occurs

Last edited by aah78 : 13th December 2007 at 04:10. Reason: Multiple posts merged.
viper316 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2007, 01:10   #15
Senior - BHPian
 
BUSA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,130
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

Quote:
dude..205/50/r15 is correct upsize only....but will have some speedo error
Sadly 205/50/15 is not the correct upsize. The correct upsize is 205/55/15
BUSA is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tire size and Speedo error calculator Rtech Tyre & Alloy wheel Section 38 14th April 2016 15:55
Wagon R tire upgrade, inner tire wall touching suspension Wind splitter Tyre & Alloy wheel Section 36 6th August 2012 20:43
Why rim size is as critical as tire pressures or tire sizes !! speedsatya Tyre & Alloy wheel Section 23 12th July 2011 18:00
Use of Old car tire, Tire Art! Beautifully done, Must see. SirAlec Shifting gears 2 18th March 2011 22:02


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 13:54.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks