Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Modifications & Accessories > Tyre & Alloy wheel Section

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12th March 2009, 16:47   #16
Senior - BHPian
razor4077's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,824
Thanked: 142 Times

Just for the record, the thread starter has changed to Goodyear NCT5 tyres long time back, and is very happy with them.
He sold the GT3s to the same dealer he bought them from.
All's well that end's well?
razor4077 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2009, 09:32   #17
Distinguished - BHPian
sgiitk's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kanpur
Posts: 6,587
Thanked: 2,979 Times

Originally Posted by WasavaTyres View Post
sgiitk I agree with every word you say and apologize for having doubted your knowledge on tyres. You have the last word my friend, I retract my statements.
Thanks. My guess is that they have some specified air loss rate, and the tyre came out a shade worse. I have four Tubeless Bridgestones B350's on my Accent (one is tubed since a tubeless was not available at that point). While two of them are fine a couple lose more air that I will like. One of them loses almost 1psi a day!
sgiitk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2009, 02:10   #18
XetaGLGRocks's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kolkata
Posts: 140
Thanked: 27 Times

Guys, thanks a lot for all those posts. Just to let you know that the GT3 "Tubeless" tyres that I had,( while I started the thread) were not so bad either. However, I had 2 incidents of sidewall burst, while I hit water filled potholes at night at 50-60kmph, both occasions.

Weak sidewall, I think is a known problem for GT3s

However, I have happily shifted to Goodyear Eagle NCT5 Tubeless 185/60 R14 tyres 4 months back, and more than satisfied with the tyres.
XetaGLGRocks is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2009, 16:02   #19
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Pune
Posts: 15
Thanked: 0 Times
Default sure the dealer has taken you for a ride

any stock radial tyre ( tube type) can be used as tubeless since the construction is not that different except on the chlorobutyl inner liner. The tubeless will have a specially formulated CB liner which will prevent permeation of air, where as normal tube tyre also have another type of CB formulation. It also will work as far as permeation is concerned but not to the level of tubeless tyres. I am a tyre technologist and you can count my words. thanks
vrrroooomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2011, 13:33   #20
cosmos's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 34
Thanked: 3 Times
Unhappy Quality issues with Goodyear GT3??


My car is an year old which came with Goodyear GT3 tubeless tyres. Recently I had noticed that the sidewall of LF tyre has developed a crack. The mileage of the car is 20880 kms. I've just replaced it with the stand-by tyre now.
Did any of you guys faced similar issues with Goodyear GT3?

Also, few weeks back, both my low-beam headlamps blew off almost in a time frame of 15 days. Got them replaced.

My car is Indica Vista. I think there is severe quality issue with the tata.
Meanwhile I'll try to get the picture of my cracked tyre.

cosmos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2011, 15:42   #21
Senior - BHPian
libranof1987's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: All over!
Posts: 3,151
Thanked: 1,694 Times
Default re: Quality issues with Goodyear GT3??

Surprising! 1 year is hardly any time for either of the problems.

About the tyre, are you sure the tyre did not scrape anywhere or any external factor (someone doing it, parking the car tilted for a prolonged time etc) that might have caused the crack?

Do check the fuses; something wrong there could cause the lamps blowing off; although very distant.
libranof1987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2011, 16:26   #22
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: World
Posts: 739
Thanked: 277 Times
Default Re: Quality issues with Goodyear GT3??

I don't know the tyre series , but I'm also not satisfied by the grip levels of my goodyear tyres. On one hand it has made life easy for my Non-power steered Alto , but I'm skeptical about going hard on tires !
fz_rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2011, 21:59   #23
WasavaTyres's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Indore
Posts: 661
Thanked: 157 Times
Wink Re: Quality issues with Goodyear GT3??

Originally Posted by cosmos View Post
Recently I had noticed that the sidewall of LF tyre has developed a crack.
Do post a pic.I'm being presumptive here,but in all probability it's a sidewall cut.
WasavaTyres is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Goodyear Gt3 Review petroguzzler Tyre & Alloy wheel Section 19 5th May 2016 14:47
Accent gets upsize Goodyear Eagle Ventura,got rid of GT3 .anshuman Tyre & Alloy wheel Section 5 25th June 2007 16:16
155/65r13 goodyear gt3 for sale speedsatya Shifting gears 4 1st April 2005 14:01

All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 15:35.

Copyright 2000 - 2016, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks