Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Modifications & Accessories > Tyre & Alloy wheel Section


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 21st October 2008, 11:31   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 20
Thanked: 0 Times
Default Frequent punctures in a new Indica Turbo DLG

I bought a Tata Indica Turbo DLG just about two months back. On the very first day itself there was a puncture to the front right tyre. When I took it to the showroom the guys were very obliging and changed the tube to a new one. The tyres, by the way, are Goodyears' - 165/60 and 14" rims. Just a week later there was another puncture to the front left tyre. Then I got it repaired myself though I reported it the guys at the showroom who were again very apologetic. Just about three days back, i.e., the last Saturday, I was on the way to a party when, this time, my rear right tyre got punctured. I'm now fed up with this and want to get the tyres changed to bigger tubeless tyres but on the same rims. However I also intend to pass on some of the burden to the Indica guys. I would like some advice on the following points:
1. Whether there is some problem with the car itself, i.e., the axle and wheel position that is causing this?
2. I fill air once in two weeks, i.e, every alternate Saturday. I assume it is alright to do so but need clarification.
3. Is there anything that would cause such a strange problem.

This will help me understand whether my car itself has some problem or whether I'm making some kind of mistake. Any sort of advice will be most helpful. A big thank you in advance to any sort of advice, help.

Cheers,
Amogh.
amoghmasur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2008, 11:46   #2
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,838
Thanked: 1,318 Times
Default

My DLG has Bridgestone S322's, and i think so do the most of the others. I didnt know the 14" also came with goodyear.

I've not had any issues with my bridgestones. and a friend with 13" goodyear GPS2's on his GLS has not had any issues so far
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2008, 11:52   #3
BHPian
 
live2drive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 525
Thanked: 25 Times
Default

hey amogh, just make sure to maintain correct tyre pressure.
and keep a watch on the roads you drive. otherwise i cannot think of any other problem which causes frequent flat tyre.
i would suggest you to get wheel balancing and alignment done.
live2drive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2008, 11:54   #4
BHPian
 
ak916's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore/Hyderabad
Posts: 282
Thanked: 145 Times
Default

I dont think you can really blame the tyres or the dealer. I am thinking out of the box here... If you live in an apartment though, this could be someone's work. same if you park in the same place at office. Otherwise it is pretty unusual. or it could be bad luck really. I dont suggest changing to tubeless and incurring a huge expense will solve this in anyway.
ak916 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2008, 11:56   #5
rkg
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: bangalore
Posts: 1,041
Thanked: 543 Times
Default

similar thing happened to my friend's new Santro.

after second puncture we checked the tyre's thoroughly.

the puncture was due to small metal pieces left inside the tyre .

they are like small titbit's which came off the inner side the metal rim.
the tyre's were Bridgestones.

The issue was reported to Hyundai and the dealer took the car and checked all tyre's for such metal pieces. since there is no problem
rkg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2008, 13:04   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 20
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

So changing the tyres does not make sense...Thanks a lot guys...but should I change the tubes atleast, because three of them have already under gone repair?
amoghmasur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2008, 13:45   #7
Senior - BHPian
 
trrk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Alleppey, Kerala
Posts: 2,113
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

Hi amoghmasur,

> So changing the tyres does not make sense...

Definitely!

> but should I change the tubes atleast, because three of them have
> already under gone repair?

There was a time when 165/65R14 tubes were difficult to get. I don't know about the situation now.

Were the punctures due to external objects?

OEM tubes sometimes are not of very good quality and tend to have punctures.
trrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2008, 14:43   #8
BHPian
 
nithinnarayanan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bangalore Kannur Manipal
Posts: 237
Thanked: 5 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amoghmasur View Post
So changing the tyres does not make sense...
, but If you want improved drive quality and handling you can go for it


Quote:
Originally Posted by amoghmasur View Post
but should I change the tubes atleast, because three of them have already under gone repair?
If the damage was not from the external source (nail, screws etc), then I would suggest you to remove all the tyres and check for any foreign particles (metal pieces or chip offs) inside all the tyres and re-fixing it. IMHO you need not change the tubes with only one puncture unless it is big enough or near the neck/ joint of the tube.

Happy driving.
nithinnarayanan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2008, 15:15   #9
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,838
Thanked: 1,318 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trrk View Post
...... 165/65R14 tubes .......
trrk, the DLG has 165/60R14 wheels. Or do they need 165/65 tubes

if that is so, he should upsize to 185/60 ( if he prefers handling over comfort)
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2008, 15:16   #10
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bombay
Posts: 95
Thanked: Once
Default

Tyre puncture can happen even on a new set of tyres and it seldom has a bearing on the wheel alignment and balancing. A lot depends on the type of road one drives and the surface condition.
Tyre pressure plays a pivotal role as well and maintaining the pressure as per the company recommendations is mandatory.
Also, if the issues are recuring, invest some time and get the rims checked minutely.
star_is_here is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2008, 18:37   #11
Senior - BHPian
 
trrk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Alleppey, Kerala
Posts: 2,113
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

Hi greenhorn,

> the DLG has 165/60R14 wheels. Or do they need 165/65 tubes

If nothing, now I am confused! Somebody was frantically searching for 165/65R14 tubes for his Indica. I remember it.

Check the following:

Yahoo! Groups
Yahoo! Groups

Has the configuration changed?
trrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2008, 18:55   #12
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,838
Thanked: 1,318 Times
Default

Sorry trrk , amogh's post confused me !!
You were right all along. the indica turbo DOES have 165/65 ( how could i forget my own tyre size )

in that case, amogh has got the wrong tyres!!!
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2008, 19:02   #13
Senior - BHPian
 
trrk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Alleppey, Kerala
Posts: 2,113
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

Hi greenhorn,

> Sorry trrk , amogh's post confused me !!

No sweat!

> in that case, amogh has got the wrong tyres!!!

So why not confuse amogh?
trrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2008, 10:29   #14
GTO
Team-BHP Support
 
GTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 47,749
Thanked: 89,387 Times
Default

amoghmasur, check the area where you park your car, overnight or while at work. Maybe some construction work has left some nails on the ground.

Also, it would be great if you would:

1. Post in the correct forum section. I have moved your thread to the tyre / alloy wheel section.

2. Name your thread suitably. Taken care of this also.
GTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2008, 00:34   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 20
Thanked: 0 Times
Default Sorry!!!

I got the tyre size wrong. It is indeed 165/65. I went the YahooGroups site and am considering contacting Goodyear. However, after some research I found out that 165/65 is available with MetroContinental and they are the only guys who sell tubes in the market and none of the OEMS do so.
amoghmasur is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Frequent Punctures in Tubed Tyres muruganbs Tyre & Alloy wheel Section 24 22nd September 2009 09:10


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 07:38.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks