Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Modifications & Accessories > Tyre & Alloy wheel Section

Old 17th January 2009, 11:42   #1
BHPian

Question Please Help- Considering the possibility of a Tyre Dealership

Hello All,

I need help and advice from You Guys. I have been a Tour Operator/ Travel Agent for the last 12 years but absolutely hated my line of work.

Since the two things i am absolutely crazy about are Sports and All things automotive and there isn't much of a business opportunity here in Sports, I decided to close down my Travel Office operation and venture into a line of business which I am really interested in before i got too old and lost the guts to strike out- Automobiles.

I'll paste a similar thread about business opportunities in Car/ Bike Dealerships and Mechanical Carwash in "Ask the Gurus" section but here I'm just focusing on Tyres.

My town- Gangtok, Sikkim population about 8-9 Lakhs has a lot of new cars hitting the market every month ( A lot of money in the state as compared to other N.E. neighbors) but we don't have a proper Company Authorized Tyre Dealership. There is an independent Electronic Wheel Balancing and Alignment shop which seems to do quite well and a couple of small independent shops selling Tyres- but nothing what You would call a proper company owned Tyre Dealership with proper stock and facilities. Most of the Car accessories shops and the Car dealerships here also sell tyres but i believe they charge a lot there and nobody seems to have a good dedicated stock.

I sense a good business opportunity here as most of the owners of passenger cars (Me included) head off to Siliguri about 125 kms away to buy a set of new tyres.

What i would like to know from the Resident experts are-