Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Modifications & Accessories > Tyre & Alloy wheel Section


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 27th April 2005, 13:12   #31
BANNED
 
Montoya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Best City In India Mumbai
Posts: 665
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Hey X,
Thanx alot.
Is Speed 97 available thorugh thier outlets anywhere in New Mumbai area. Is the price worth it. Or its more economic using doms formula

yah will check out the surbo. Is the same thing like the Turbonator(www.turbonator.com) What other things can i put for performance mod leaving aside a filter and a free flow.

And yes should i go in for the gIIIs or the GSD2s?? The GIIIS will come at a cheaper rate around 1500 cheap each.

Cheers..
Montoya is offline  
Old 27th April 2005, 14:45   #32
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,953
Thanked: 15,638 Times
Default

GIII 205 width is sufficient for you montoya. I am running 185 on indica. New city is same weight as indica, therefore you will get much better perfomance from the 205 than i am getting from 185s. Keep the inflation about 2-3 psi above the company recommended if you tend to drive fast. Cornering performance of GIII is amazing on any surface

Last edited by tsk1979 : 27th April 2005 at 14:47.
tsk1979 is offline  
Old 27th April 2005, 15:36   #33
BANNED
 
Montoya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Best City In India Mumbai
Posts: 665
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

But wont 205s affect the suspension on 14inchers TSK
Montoya is offline  
Old 27th April 2005, 15:55   #34
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,953
Thanked: 15,638 Times
Default

Dunno about the setup there wether there is enough clearance. What is new city stock width? Usually you can go up 30mm wider without risk of touch. so if stock comes with 175, you should be able to have 205. Otherwise go for 195, these will definately fit
tsk1979 is offline  
Old 27th April 2005, 16:01   #35
BANNED
 
Montoya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Best City In India Mumbai
Posts: 665
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsk1979
Dunno about the setup there wether there is enough clearance. What is new city stock width? Usually you can go up 30mm wider without risk of touch. so if stock comes with 175, you should be able to have 205. Otherwise go for 195, these will definately fit
Well i have seen 205/60/15 on a City New one. but then i am on 14inches thats the only problem and 205 on 14 will affect GC..
Montoya is offline  
Old 27th April 2005, 16:40   #36
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,953
Thanked: 15,638 Times
Default

You can go for 205 but make sure that the sidewall heigh remains same. Eg if you were on 175/65, that means sidewall height is 65% of 175 = 113.75
205/60 will give you 123mm which is 10mm more, so 195/55 or 60 or 205/55 is more close. I would suggest you go for 195/60.Best combo of ride and handling
tsk1979 is offline  
Old 27th April 2005, 18:11   #37
BANNED
 
Montoya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Best City In India Mumbai
Posts: 665
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Hey TSK,

Thanx. I dont mind going in for 205s but then i have been warned by the tyre guy that it will reduce the height and also will affect suspension. Though 205s look tempting. If i go in for 205s then what should the profile be.

Experts please calculate and tell me what will be the ideal upsize in 14inches from 175 to 195 or 205s. What should the profile be kept in order to keep the Suspension in its place
P.S You mentioned that you can increase tyre size upto 30mm from stock. But Iceman has increased 40mm from Stock Heard Balenos with 19inchers. Wont that affect the cars suspension??
Montoya is offline  
Old 27th April 2005, 21:42   #38
Team-BHP Support
 
Samurai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: B'lore-Manipal
Posts: 22,379
Thanked: 14,263 Times
Default

Your stock tyres are 175/65R14, Rolling Radii= 291.55

Your choices are:
205/50R15 RR = 293 GC diff= +1.45mm Speedo Error=+0.5%
205/55R14 RR = 290.55 GC diff= -1mm Speedo Error=-0.34%
195/60R14 RR = 294.8 GC diff= +3.25 Speedo Error=+1.11%

Anything else will have too much difference in GC or Radii.

The ride might be little harsh in the 15", the NHC doesn't exactly have a great ride even on stock tyres. Plus I am not sure whether your suspension can take that punishment. My suggestion is 205/55R14 for performance or 195/60R14 if you want better ride. The latter one will improve your GC by 3.25mm, may affect handling.
Samurai is offline  
Old 27th April 2005, 22:45   #39
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,953
Thanked: 15,638 Times
Default

montoys,
whats the stock size. I understand its 175 but what is the profile? Is it 175/65R14 currently. In that case the ideal upsize would be 195/60R14
205/50R14 may not be that good for bad roads. Stick to 195
tsk1979 is offline  
Old 28th April 2005, 10:04   #40
Senior - BHPian
 
iceman91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: melbourne/bangalore
Posts: 1,958
Thanked: 22 Times
Default

hey montoya,
been reading the entire thread and the way you drive and to meet your requirments you need some really soft rubber, the downside to this is the tire life because it will wear out much faster.
agreed you do not want yokahamas(for what reason i do not know) and the bridgestones and eagle will not perform to your expectations.( ging to get a lot of flack from fellow tbhpians for this)
you want something that at speeds in excess fo 130+kmph on dry or wet tarmac to grip the road. for this i would suggest going in for the pirelli zero's,ventus 104k or the silverstone FTZ sport tires. though the rating might be similar to bridgestone/eagle they are much much softer, saying this through experience but life is much less.
i have used silverstones and ventus both being driven hard at 140+kmph for long trips...they are like glue on road.
ideal size for your ar has been put up by samurai...i would go 15" but then thats your call...ride or performance???

Last edited by iceman91 : 28th April 2005 at 10:06.
iceman91 is offline  
Old 28th April 2005, 12:44   #41
BANNED
 
Montoya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Best City In India Mumbai
Posts: 665
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Hey Samurai TSK and Iceman.. Thanx alot
Well just to clear up things the fact is that i have already put 14inch alloys on the car so i have to stick to 14inchers and cant go in for 15inchers. So its all in 14inches now. If i go in for 195/60/R14s then the car ehight will increase and the speedo will show more speed then it is or more speed?? Yup TSK its 65 profile currently. Well i really havenot read any good reviews on the yokohamas plus have been adviced to stick with gooyears and bridgetones. Hey Iceman any site where i can check up the Silverstones or Venus as this is the first time i am hearing that name
Montoya is offline  
Old 28th April 2005, 12:55   #42
Senior - BHPian
 
iceman91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: melbourne/bangalore
Posts: 1,958
Thanked: 22 Times
Default

"venus" my mistake is actually "ventus" by hankook....also aurora...go to oogle and type the names....entire listing pops up!!
iceman91 is offline  
Old 28th April 2005, 13:10   #43
BANNED
 
Montoya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Best City In India Mumbai
Posts: 665
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iceman91
"venus" my mistake is actually "ventus" by hankook....also aurora...go to oogle and type the names....entire listing pops up!!
Hey Ice.. Thanx will check them out. What is their cost sround. Are they costlier then goodyears. What tyres should i go in 14inch In your Opinion
Montoya is offline  
Old 28th April 2005, 14:22   #44
Senior - BHPian
 
iceman91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: melbourne/bangalore
Posts: 1,958
Thanked: 22 Times
Default

14" would recommend the yokos but you dont like them... pretty cheap too around 3500 each..else go for the ventus or aurora


and there goes my "911" status..sorry harrrie
iceman91 is offline  
Old 28th April 2005, 14:53   #45
Team-BHP Support
 
Samurai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: B'lore-Manipal
Posts: 22,379
Thanked: 14,263 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iceman91
14" would recommend the yokos but you dont like them... pretty cheap too around 3500 each..
Actually, when Iceman recommended Yokohama to me, I was standing at the accessories shop looking at the two tyres. One was the GIII which was my original choice, the second one was Yokohama, which I had never heard before. But the Yokohama looked so good (and cool) when compared to the GIII. In addition both ice and dealer confessed that Yokohamas are better performers than GIII and iceman has Yokohamas on his Super-Baleno, my mind was made up.
Samurai is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
City City Bang Bang! 1000 kms Report of my Honda City SMT roadie_swift Test-Drives & Initial Ownership Reports 39 4th June 2015 15:52
The New Honda City or a 2007 Skoda Laura. EDIT : Bought the city! Scarface Sedans 44 22nd June 2009 13:41
honda city v-tec plus (june 2008 launch) or new honda city (Oct 2008 launch)? nnandi Sedans 16 28th October 2008 17:03
Old City or Rumoured New City mohit11 Sedans 12 23rd June 2008 11:26


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 15:17.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks