Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Modifications & Accessories > Tyre & Alloy wheel Section


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 14th February 2009, 09:16   #1
Senior - BHPian
 
mithun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cochin
Posts: 1,950
Thanked: 49 Times
Exclamation Is it necessary to change the tube when changing tyres ?

I've heard tyre dealers forcing the customer to buy the tube also during tyre purchases.

So is it necessary to change the tube also when purchasing replacing old tyres even if there are no punctures and the tube seems to be quite OK by visual inspection ?

Recently, when I bought new tyres for my bike, I didn't replace the 35,000 KMS old tube. Is there any problem from the safety point of view ?
mithun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2009, 09:39   #2
Senior - BHPian
 
lohithrao's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kudla/Mangaluru
Posts: 3,125
Thanked: 163 Times
Default

Mithun its always safer to get the tubes changed regularly, and yes it makes sense to change the tube when changing tyre. i make sure i change my bikes tube once a year. this practice has helped has made sure that last 6 yers i dint have even 1 pucture(touch wood) since i do some long rides i try to be little safe.

I think 35k is quiet a lot and you should change that tube.
lohithrao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2009, 09:44   #3
Distinguished - BHPian
 
jkdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Thiruvananthapu
Posts: 9,661
Thanked: 1,389 Times
Default

How much did you save? Wont the elastic for you inner weaken after long usage but still hold on Why wait for a disaster. Got the drift?
jkdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2009, 09:49   #4
Senior - BHPian
 
headers's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Greater Chennai
Posts: 4,589
Thanked: 454 Times
Default

Sir, it is a good practise to change the tube when you change the tyre. Older tubes are more susceptible to slow punctures.

Also, the cost of the tube in comparison to the tyre is not too high to justify delaying the purchase at the cost of safety!
headers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2009, 14:53   #5
GTO
Team-BHP Support
 
GTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 47,705
Thanked: 89,160 Times
Default

I don't know about bikes, but no car deserves to be running on tube-type tyres anymore. Tubeless is the way to go.
GTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2009, 15:13   #6
Senior - BHPian
 
Raccoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Poona
Posts: 1,832
Thanked: 105 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lohithrao View Post
Mithun its always safer to get the tubes changed regularly, and yes it makes sense to change the tube when changing tyre. i make sure i change my bikes tube once a year. this practice has helped has made sure that last 6 yers i dint have even 1 pucture(touch wood) since i do some long rides i try to be little safe.

I think 35k is quiet a lot and you should change that tube.
Once a year on a routine basis?? Now that really sounds like an overkill!! One big reason I woudn't do this is because I wouldn't want clumsy tyre wallas messing with my bike and creating scratches, alignment problems, etc., every year!

That said, It would really be prudent to change your tybe when you are changing the tyre. Your using the tube... esp after 35k usage does not sound like a good idea at all!
Raccoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2009, 15:46   #7
BHPian
 
WasavaTyres's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Indore
Posts: 729
Thanked: 239 Times
Default

Good quality branded butyl tubes will not 'age' or become hard over the life of your tires. But still it's a good practice to change tubes alongwith your tires. Apart from this,you're always better off having the same brand of tube as your tire. The reason being,suppose your tube has a manufacturing defect and the tire has been damaged as a result of the same (read run flat) if it's the same brand of tube that came alongwith your tire,the company will replace both tire and tube.But in case you use say for example a bridgestone tube in a goodyear tire,bridgestone will replace your tube for sure if it has a genuine manufacturing defect,but there is no way you can claim a replacement from goodyear for your tire.
WasavaTyres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2009, 16:43   #8
Senior - BHPian
 
lohithrao's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kudla/Mangaluru
Posts: 3,125
Thanked: 163 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raccoon View Post
Once a year on a routine basis?? Now that really sounds like an overkill!! One big reason I woudn't do this is because I wouldn't want clumsy tyre wallas messing with my bike and creating scratches, alignment problems, etc., every year!

That said, It would really be prudent to change your tybe when you are changing the tyre. Your using the tube... esp after 35k usage does not sound like a good idea at all!
Raccoon, in my case i know a tyre wala who is really good and i do get it fixed only with him.

Am not sure if its a over kill or not until now have not ended up with a flat tyre in the middle of no where i guess thats good enough for me.
lohithrao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2009, 18:13   #9
Senior - BHPian
 
Raccoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Poona
Posts: 1,832
Thanked: 105 Times
Default

Well, if you are ment to get a puncture with a nail or something... you will have a puncture... your new tube will not help much either way!
Raccoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2009, 18:30   #10
Senior - BHPian
 
lohithrao's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kudla/Mangaluru
Posts: 3,125
Thanked: 163 Times
Default

Nothing is Perfect isnt it, am just trying to be cautious and its worked for me till now
lohithrao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2009, 15:04   #11
Senior - BHPian
 
mithun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cochin
Posts: 1,950
Thanked: 49 Times
Default

Thanks for everyone's advice.

I'll change the tubes soon although my local tyre guy is dead against the wastage of money !
mithun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2009, 16:09   #12
BANNED
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bangalore / Madras
Posts: 1,980
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

The last time I bought tyres (Jan 2007, for the Indica), the tyres came with a tube in them. Since my old tubes were in good shape, I have kept the old tubes in the boot, to be used as spare in an emergency.
hrag is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is it really necessary to change the Spark Plug every 10K KMS ? mithun Technical Stuff 50 1st December 2015 08:12
Mixing tube and tubeless tyres achinthg Tyre & Alloy wheel Section 22 4th August 2014 19:25
SX4 Zxi, JK Vectra Stock Tyres, should I change to low profile tyres ? Shankyz Tyre & Alloy wheel Section 25 1st May 2012 20:47
Tube-Type Tyres Converted to Tubeless - Is it safe? bhp Tyre & Alloy wheel Section 46 7th March 2010 20:52
Tube tyres converted into tubeless - Is it possible and safe?? Deeps Tyre & Alloy wheel Section 3 28th September 2007 20:22


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 00:09.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks