Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Modifications & Accessories > Tyre & Alloy wheel Section


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 17th February 2009, 21:26   #1
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Delhi
Posts: 50
Thanked: 0 Times
Default Problem with Yokohama A-Drive's

Hi Friends,

I had recently purchased Yoko A-Drives (185-60R14) for my Viva CRDi, Some days ago I noticed a cut in one of the tyres and this caused balooning. Thus I had to purchase a new tyre.
Today again I noticed a cut in another tyre.

I am unable to understand the cause of it as I generally drive quite safely and take special care over potholes. Also it is difficult to believe that in 1 month I have managed to ruin 2 tyres whereas my earlier tyres lasted more than 3 years.

Has anybody else also experienced a similar problem?

Also please let me know how safe is using patched on the tyres as this time the cut is small and the dealer is advising me to use a patch.

Thanks
goel.honey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2009, 11:24   #2
GTO
Team-BHP Support
 
GTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 47,745
Thanked: 89,346 Times
Default

That's extremely premature damage if you haven't gone over a divider or something. What does the dealer say? Didn't you push for free replacements?
GTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2009, 11:34   #3
Team-BHP Support
 
Eddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 7,402
Thanked: 4,678 Times
Default

Where did you buy the tyres from ?
Eddy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2009, 11:42   #4
Senior - BHPian
 
predatorwheelz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Delhi/Kolkata
Posts: 1,653
Thanked: 1,103 Times
Default

Thats very strange. I have been using Yokohama A-drives (165/65 R13) for the last 6 months on my Indica, and have found them much much better than the previous OEM Goodyears. Not a single puncture, and the tyres have performed very well in terms of noise, grip and comfort.

I suggest taking the other 2 tyres to an independent dealership (especially one where you know the owner personally) and getting them verified. It may be possible that the dealer sold you damaged stock.

Avoid using patches on tubeless tyres at all costs. As opposed to a normal tyre (where the tube is inside the tyre and does not come in direct contact with the road), in a tubeless tyre the inside wall of the tread itself acts as air retainer. Using patches will damage the entire structural integrity of the tyre and may make it unsafe at high speeds.
predatorwheelz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2009, 11:58   #5
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sahil's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,202
Thanked: 2,094 Times
Default

Damn, I just put A-Drive's on my Altis few weeks back. Keeping my fingers crossed now!
Sahil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2009, 11:59   #6
Senior - BHPian
 
Fountainheader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 1,502
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sahil View Post
Damn, I just put A-Drive's on my Altis few weeks back. Keeping my fingers crossed now!
One-off case I guess dude. I too have Yoko A-Drives on my Swift for the past one month. No issues whatsoever. Excellent VFM tyres compared to the pricey Michelins.

goel.honey,
What kind of roads do you drive on ?
Fountainheader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2009, 15:03   #7
Senior - BHPian
 
iraghava's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bhaiyyaland
Posts: 8,028
Thanked: 153 Times
Default

G.H - Some pictures of the damage on the tyres would help.
iraghava is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2009, 15:17   #8
Team-BHP Support
 
mobike008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 10,746
Thanked: 7,953 Times
Default

What a timely thread. I too have a Viva CRDi and contemplating changing the stock tyres and A-Drives are on top of my list.

Now i am going to make doubly sure before i buy them. By the way, how much did you pay for your tyres?
mobike008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2009, 20:16   #9
BHPian
 
ankitahuja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Gurgaon & Delhi
Posts: 887
Thanked: 46 Times
Default

Isn't it possible that the fitting is not being done properly?

If the tyre steel bands (see pic) are broken while fitting the tyre on the rims, can't this end in a bulge and cuts?

Problem with Yokohama A-Drive's-tyre.jpg
ankitahuja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2009, 20:20   #10
Senior - BHPian
 
iraghava's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bhaiyyaland
Posts: 8,028
Thanked: 153 Times
Default

No Ankit, that steel belt (referred to as the Bead) doesn not lead to bulges but will cause air loss (at a very fast rate, thereby rendering the tyre useless) if the damaged portion is big enough.
iraghava is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2009, 20:27   #11
BHPian
 
ankitahuja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Gurgaon & Delhi
Posts: 887
Thanked: 46 Times
Default

That's clears a doubt in my head for sure.

Honey, you could atleast try to claim free replacement rendering the tyre as 'faulty'.

Like Ishan siad, post a few pictures for the guru to assess!
ankitahuja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2009, 22:05   #12
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Delhi
Posts: 50
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eddy View Post
Where did you buy the tyres from ?
Bought them from Karwal Tyre House in Karol Bagh

Quote:
Originally Posted by GTO View Post
That's extremely premature damage if you haven't gone over a divider or something. What does the dealer say? Didn't you push for free replacements?
I'm pretty sure that the car hasnt gone over any divider. I would have accepted it if it had happened once. But the second time I was way too careful. Had just got a new tyre a week back.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fountainheader View Post
One-off case I guess dude. I too have Yoko A-Drives on my Swift for the past one month. No issues whatsoever. Excellent VFM tyres compared to the pricey Michelins.


goel.honey,
What kind of roads do you drive on ?
I basically drive in Delhi NCR or Delhi-Jaipur and Delhi-Chandigarh.

Quote:
Originally Posted by iraghava View Post
G.H - Some pictures of the damage on the tyres would help.
Will surely do so tomorrow or day after.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mobike008 View Post
What a timely thread. I too have a Viva CRDi and contemplating changing the stock tyres and A-Drives are on top of my list.

Now i am going to make doubly sure before i buy them. By the way, how much did you pay for your tyres?
I bought these for 3250 a piece.

Quote:
Originally Posted by predatorwheelz View Post
Thats very strange. I have been using Yokohama A-drives (165/65 R13) for the last 6 months on my Indica, and have found them much much better than the previous OEM Goodyears. Not a single puncture, and the tyres have performed very well in terms of noise, grip and comfort.

I suggest taking the other 2 tyres to an independent dealership (especially one where you know the owner personally) and getting them verified. It may be possible that the dealer sold you damaged stock.

Avoid using patches on tubeless tyres at all costs. As opposed to a normal tyre (where the tube is inside the tyre and does not come in direct contact with the road), in a tubeless tyre the inside wall of the tread itself acts as air retainer. Using patches will damage the entire structural integrity of the tyre and may make it unsafe at high speeds.
Thanks, will keep it in mind for sure.
goel.honey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Michelin energy xm1+ vs. Yokohama A.Drive...? rana_kirti Tyre & Alloy wheel Section 1 30th May 2008 20:23
Fiat Siena with 195/55R15 Yokohama S-drive's hellspawn Tyre & Alloy wheel Section 12 9th December 2007 10:57
need help bridgestone potenza g3 or yokohama s-drive Flyin very low Tyre & Alloy wheel Section 25 19th November 2007 21:11


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 14:54.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks