Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Modifications & Accessories > Tyre & Alloy wheel Section


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 17th December 2009, 16:43   #1
BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 50
Thanked: 4 Times
Default Tyre upgrade for My Qualis

Hi,
Please suggest a tyre upgrade for my qualis, it has run 126000 kilometres. It is still on 14 inch rims. So i was wondering which tyre to upgrade. I recently put on new shoes for my swift vdi, it is yokohama Es100 195/60/R15.

So guys waiting for your input.
samy3660 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2009, 10:17   #2
v12
Distinguished - BHPian
 
v12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 5,886
Thanked: 3,280 Times
Default

Try Goodyear Wrangler DT, they've performed well on our Qualis.
v12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2009, 23:01   #3
BHPian
 
abhayshanu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 694
Thanked: 168 Times
Default

Im using Bridgestone Ponteza GIII on my qualis and this was the second time i opted for these. But my qualis has also run alot , around 1.4L KMs and we have changed the tyres a total of 3 times, then how is it that your stock tyres lasted 1.2L kms?
abhayshanu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2009, 15:00   #4
BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 50
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

No, we have changed the tyres before but never upgraded it to a good one. So whats the upsize you guys recommend, i like Goodyear Wrangler DT. And what other options.

Thankyou.
samy3660 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2010, 18:57   #5
BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 50
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

Guys i am planning to go for michellin XM1+ 195/70/R14 what do you guys say??
Please respond as soon as possible

Thankyou
samy3660 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2010, 20:26   #6
BHPian
 
discoverwild's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Coimbatore
Posts: 682
Thanked: 951 Times
Default

Please note that you will need commercial radials for the Qualis. The XM1+ would be a passenger radial and would wear out faster, not to mention uneven wear. Happened to me with the Bridgestones. I think the right upgrade is 195/60 R14, don't remember exactly though.

Last edited by discoverwild : 12th January 2010 at 20:32.
discoverwild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2010, 20:30   #7
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,752
Thanked: 7,476 Times
Default

Check the load index for Qualis and see if it matches XM1's, also if you plan to use the vehicle on rough roads go with good ol Appolo or MRF's.
Jaggu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2010, 19:17   #8
BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 50
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by discoverwild View Post
Please note that you will need commercial radials for the Qualis. The XM1+ would be a passenger radial and would wear out faster, not to mention uneven wear. Happened to me with the Bridgestones. I think the right upgrade is 195/60 R14, don't remember exactly though.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaggu View Post
Check the load index for Qualis and see if it matches XM1's, also if you plan to use the vehicle on rough roads go with good ol Appolo or MRF's.
Well thanks discover wild and jaggu, so i think xm1+ is a no go. I think Goodyear Wranger DT would be a good choice, and regarding the upsize, what is the best profile??
samy3660 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2010, 20:49   #9
Senior - BHPian
 
vigsom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: AUH<->MAA
Posts: 1,722
Thanked: 581 Times
Default

195/70R14 or 205/65R15 is a good upgrade for Qualis.

You can get both in Turanza ER60

Have seen the Turanzas on some Innovas;from reports that I have heard,they are the best blend of comfort and durability

Samy,wasn't it you who reported a Swift tyre upgrade and some steering issues?

Last edited by vigsom : 13th January 2010 at 20:50.
vigsom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2010, 21:09   #10
BHPian
 
WasavaTyres's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Indore
Posts: 729
Thanked: 239 Times
Default

Try Goodyear's Assurance in 195/70/R14 size. Just check if the unconditional warranty scheme is still on.
WasavaTyres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2010, 18:24   #11
BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 50
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

Yes Visgom i reported a problem regarding swift steering assembly issue and i think now, that it was due to the loose nuts of the driver side rear wheel which i accidently found out(thank God). Now the noise is gone and i couldn't exactly say if there is any issue with assembly because even the service advisor at MASS hasn't confirmed anything.
And seeing the masses in here uses 195/65/R15 on swift i don't think that the tyre is at fault.

Thanks guys now i have 3 options:
Goodyear Wrangler Dt
Goodyear Assurance
Turanza ER60
samy3660 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2010, 23:46   #12
BHPian
 
montyguru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: delhi
Posts: 295
Thanked: 3 Times
Default qualis tyre upgrade/upsize

hi,

i want to change tyres for my qualis run 110,000... can i fit tubeless on stock rims? what would be good sizes to upgrade?
montyguru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2010, 10:44   #13
Senior - BHPian
 
predatorwheelz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Delhi/Kolkata
Posts: 1,653
Thanked: 1,103 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by montyguru View Post
hi,

i want to change tyres for my qualis run 110,000... can i fit tubeless on stock rims? what would be good sizes to upgrade?
Did your car originally come with 175 or 195 width tyres?

Either way, I'd suggest using 195/70 Bridgestone Turanzas. They came as OEMs on the "RS" model. Easy to source, and pretty long-lasting.

If you're going for some other tyre (someone has mentioned earlier on this thread) do remember to check out the load index to see if it matches with the recommended for Qualis.
predatorwheelz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2010, 20:38   #14
BHPian
 
montyguru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: delhi
Posts: 295
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

it's a 2000 GS model which has 175 bridgestone E700. i think its 175/85 R14... 195/70 sounds good, will have a look at it. thanks.


Quote:
Originally Posted by predatorwheelz View Post
Did your car originally come with 175 or 195 width tyres?

Either way, I'd suggest using 195/70 Bridgestone Turanzas. They came as OEMs on the "RS" model. Easy to source, and pretty long-lasting.

If you're going for some other tyre (someone has mentioned earlier on this thread) do remember to check out the load index to see if it matches with the recommended for Qualis.
montyguru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2010, 14:20   #15
BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 50
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

Hi,
Just bumping this thread as i am not able to source turanzas in mumbai, looks like it has been discontinued. The dealer i am talking to has 4 turanzas tyres ready with him and he is telling me that the 5th one will be available in 2 or 3 days. Now do you guys think will it be discontinued, and if it is discontinued then will it be a problem for me?? Now please its urgent coz i am going to change it in next 2/3 hrs, what other good tyres can i opt for?? I have now only 2 options one is assurance and other one is bridgestone er88, which the dealer is suggesting me.

Thankyou.
samy3660 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tavera Vs Qualis Vs Bolero Stratos The Indian Car Scene 29 18th April 2009 08:46
Toyota stops production of the Qualis!! GTO The Indian Car Scene 37 7th February 2005 21:12
Toyota Qualis sridhar24 The Indian Car Scene 1 3rd July 2004 18:17
Tavera vs Qualis toyota The Indian Car Scene 6 7th June 2004 16:28
Mods on Qualis rear windows?? v12 Modifications & Accessories 7 22nd April 2004 04:44


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 10:25.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks