Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Modifications & Accessories > Tyre & Alloy wheel Section


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 18th November 2005, 12:16   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: CHENNAI
Posts: 14
Thanked: 0 Times
Default Tyres for Indica

Hi All ,
Just a quick question.I have an Indica Diesel V2(Purchased 2001).Planning to change tyres and want to know if I can attach 14" tyres instead of the regular 13 ".Does any one know of any troubles attaching the 14" tyres to old indica?

Thanks,
praveen_n77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2005, 12:47   #2
Senior - BHPian
 
abhibh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Back in the HOOD near you!
Posts: 2,767
Thanked: 33 Times
Default

Mods please move the thread to "Tyre & Alloy Wheel Section"

You can Try out BrifgeStone S322.. i have seen those tyres in Indica alot...
abhibh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2005, 12:56   #3
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,953
Thanked: 15,646 Times
Default

2001 indica? No you cant put 14 inchers. It was in June 2002 that tata increased the wheel well size.
anything before that will not take in 14 inchers and tyres may touch
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2005, 13:06   #4
Senior - BHPian
 
Shan2nu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Hubli - Karnata
Posts: 5,525
Thanked: 87 Times
Default

Quote:
You can Try out BrifgeStone S322
My advice, stay away from those. They're long lasting tyres no doubt but they don't grip for nuts.

Had those on the Vtec, got fedup.

Shan2nu
Shan2nu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2005, 13:44   #5
Senior - BHPian
 
lamborghini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 4,637
Thanked: 1,264 Times
Default

If you are changing go for bridgestone Potenza GIII.
You can get a size or two wider but then you would also have to reduce the height.
For eg - if you have 165/70R13, then you should go for 175/65R13 or 185/60R13.
What is the size of the original tyres?
lamborghini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2005, 16:30   #6
BHPian
 
MalluDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Cochin
Posts: 382
Thanked: 28 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shan2nu
My advice, stay away from those. They're long lasting tyres no doubt but they don't grip for nuts.

Had those on the Vtec, got fedup.

Shan2nu


IMO, Bridgestone S322 is a big joke. No grip in wet conditions and horribly noisy.
MalluDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2005, 17:20   #7
Senior - BHPian
 
abhibh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Back in the HOOD near you!
Posts: 2,767
Thanked: 33 Times
Default

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/showthread.php?t=8582 (Tyres For Corsa) some one reply this thread too lol... its more than a week i have posted it no reply lol... any suggestions appreciated..
abhibh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2005, 18:22   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 18
Thanked: 0 Times
Default New Tyres on front .. why

Just got 2 new MRF tyres replaced after 37000 km. The machenic told me to replace both front tyres and leave the old ones on the rear. When i asked him why .. he said they just do it as a practice, no real reason.

Most of the time i have seen flat rear tyres...

any logical explanation that you all can come up with
the real Big B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2005, 18:25   #9
Senior - BHPian
 
Shan2nu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Hubli - Karnata
Posts: 5,525
Thanked: 87 Times
Default

Quote:
any logical explanation that you all can come up with
To save on new tyres. But it's a dumb practice. With the kind of speeds our cars are capable of, it's better to replace all 4 or 5 tyres.

Shan2nu
Shan2nu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2005, 22:08   #10
Senior - BHPian
 
lamborghini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 4,637
Thanked: 1,264 Times
Default

Well,
i agree with Shan2nu but if you plan to do that, replace the rear tyres instead of the front ones.
lamborghini is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old Indica LEi / New Indica DLS / New Alto LXi shuvc Hatchbacks 20 19th February 2008 17:31
Buy Indica DLG or wait for Indica Dicor??? gags12 Hatchbacks 6 9th October 2007 13:01
Indica TCIC vs. Indica DICOR hell_rider The Indian Car Scene 11 13th March 2007 21:22
Indica Xeta LPG or Indica Turbo Diesel?? nobreaks Hatchbacks 12 1st September 2006 23:29
Indica Turbo or Indica Xeta BNB Hatchbacks 6 23rd April 2006 11:19


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 22:14.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks