Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Modifications & Accessories > Tyre & Alloy wheel Section

Old 3rd January 2006, 13:43   #1
BHPian

Default Do wider tyres affect FE ??

Cheers guys and a happy new year to all

Could you people enlighten me on the pros and cons on going in for wider set of tyres for my honda?

- will it affect the FE
- will it affect the handling, the suspensions
- and also which tyres do you ll suggest (good year eagles,potenza s or the michelins)

Cheers

Mike
mike3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2006, 14:13   #2
BHPian

Though i'm not a techie, i'm sure wider tyres do have an impact on the FE. But how much depends on the tyre u choose to put up.
fash_1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2006, 15:43   #3
Awaiting Email Confirmation

Hello Mike3d,

Its a good idea to go in for a wider set of tyres. Firstly let me explain the method of getting the right upgrade for your tyre. The starting point is to find out the size of your original tyre. Based on my information about a Honda City ZX, the tyre size in 175/65 R14. 175 is the width of the tyre in mm. 65 is a percentage of 175 - the value of which is the height or the profile of the tyre and R14 is the radius in inches of the rim/wheel that the tyre will fit on. You have to translate this to the diameter of the tyre in mm. So the calculation would be -

Height of tyre (profile) - 0.65*175 = 113.75mm
Radius of Rim/wheel - 14 * 25.4 = 355.6mm
Radius of tyre+rim = 113.75+355.6 = 469.35mm
Diameter of Tyre + Rim = 2 * 469.35 = 938.7mm

Now when you go in for an upsize or downsize you have to make sure that the new diameter of the tyre+rim does not deviate by more than 2% of the original diameter. Which means your new diameter should be within the range of (938.7-18.774) to (938.7+18.774).