|
| |
| LinkBack | Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
| | #1 |
| Team-BHP Support ![]() | ![]() Saffronart, an Indian auction house for art and collectibles, successfully concluded its 24-Hour Online Auction with the sale of a vintage car. The '61 Pontiac Laurentian sold for Rs. 13.42 lakh following competitive bidding between collectors. This Pontiac is a right-hand drive and powered by a 3.1 liter straight 6 cylinder engine, mated to a three-speed manual transmission. It's odometer reading is ~50,000 miles. The bidding started at Rs. 7,79,590 and closed at a price of Rs. 13.42 lakhs. The car has been repainted and re-upholstered in the same colour scheme and style as when new. The electrical system is 12 volt, while the generator has been replaced with an alternator. It has been reported that Mercedes India will soon list vintage Mercs for sale on Saffronart. Saffronart (Saffronart - the online resource for Modern and Contemporary Indian Art) is a platform for the sale of lifestyle goods; fine art, jewellery, prime property, rare carpets, watches and now, classic cars. ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
| | (11)
|
| | #2 |
| Senior - BHPian Join Date: Jan 2007 Location: NAMMA BENGALURU
| Nice to see GTO in this section of T-BHP ![]() The car seems to be in a decent shape, Not well restored i must say. Exteriors and Upholstery are in very good state, but underneath, the buyer has to spend a lot more to detail it. And in the condition it is in, its got a BIG price. Last edited by PAVAN KADAM : 16th May 2012 at 09:47. |
| | (1)
|
| | #3 | |
| Team-BHP Support ![]() | Got to come by and see some real cars from time to time ![]() Quote:
I'm happy to see the online scene evolving to this stage. Last edited by GTO : 16th May 2012 at 09:53. | |
| | |
| | #4 |
| Senior - BHPian Join Date: Jan 2009 Location: Abu Dhabi (for now)
| It will be interesting to hear from the classic car valuation pundits about their take on the pricing of this car and what it finally sold for. This being an auction the price the car sold for reflects what the buyer thought it was worth not what the seller though it should be worth. Looking forward to comments on the price ! |
| | (2)
|
| | #5 |
| BHPian Join Date: Dec 2009 Location: Mumbai
| I wonder from where mercedes India will procure vintage mercedes cars to auction. The Pontiac in question was at some point in time with Tutu Dhawan in delhi and for a long time in the market with no buyers. Good luck to the buyer. If asked for I am sure team BHP members will give him all assistance in getting the car back to original specs and to become a reliable daily runner.BUT in my opinion , a steep price has been paid. |
| | (1)
|
| | #6 |
| Distinguished - BHPian ![]() | A vintage car can be a collector's item, but I wonder if it can be called "Art". Any idea if Christie's or Sotheby's ever auctioned cars? More on this car from Saffronart's auction page - Saffronart Auctions : THE GENTLEMAN'S SALE APR 17-18, 2012 |
| | (1)
|
| | #7 | |
| Quote:
| |
| | (1)
|
| | #8 | |
| Senior - BHPian | Quote:
Now as far as the price goes, we forget that there is world beyond team bhp, its classifieds and experts. 13.3 lakhs is probably the price of a civic. Saffron art of which iam a member has bidders buying paintings in the several crores, 13 odd lakhs is nothing. And again i agree with gto that if i had the money i would not get out of my armchair to save a lakh or two. These guys are looking at the larger picture and time is money for them. Again this is my humble opinion. | |
| | |
| | #9 | ||
| Team-BHP Support ![]() | Quote:
Nevertheless, do allow me to put forth my point of view : I have been looking out for a W126 and at one time in 2009, actively so. I even drove all the way to Pune to check out an example. Now, W126's go for what....3 - 5 lakhs? If I were to come across a car that: - I can buy from the convenience of my computer with zero time wasted - Is reasonably restored (or in good condition) - Has clear paperwork - Is running perfectly as of date I'd be willing to pay 10 - 12 lakhs for it. Now, it may seem like the car is overpriced, but to me, I've saved a hell of a lot of time making calls, on the road to check out cars, haggling with dealers & sellers, finding good body shops, sourcing parts and restoring it. Personally, I would consider this money well spent. On a related note, if a regular Joe hears what I've spent on my Jeep in the last 10 years, he'd . Ask me if I regret it? Not in this life, atleast. | ||
| | |
| | #10 |
| Senior - BHPian Join Date: Apr 2009 Location: Bangalore
| This is a great start (do not want to comment on for pricing), different art forms coming together in one platform is a very nice effort. Also this brings professionalism in the industry. Kudos for a great initiative. Auction houses are big thing in the world. |
| | |
| | #11 |
| Team-BHP Support ![]() | That's obviously a glaring mistake - Mercedes Benz India simply cannot be stocking vintage cars. They have an active recognised V&C club movement, and their support to the club activities maybe what they wanted to convey. Plus they were evaluating the classic spares angle some time back. |
| | (1)
|
| | #12 |
| BHPian Join Date: Aug 2006 Location: New Delhi
| well, these days even 123s are being called "vintage" Mercedes, believe it or not, a 240d was advertised in the hindustan times classifieds a couple of weeks ago, and the owner was expecting about 20 lakhs, in all seriousness!! |
| | (1)
|
| | #13 | ||
| Team-BHP Support ![]() | Quote:
On a related note, Mercedes does work closely with SaffronArt : Link This is one of the Mercs the Classic Center currently has on sale. Imagine it becoming available in India. I'd buy it over the current S Class any which day!!! Link ![]() Last edited by GTO : 17th May 2012 at 17:23. | ||
| | |
| | #14 |
| As far as my knowledge goes right now you still cant import older cars into India, there is some kind of an age limit and then the cars have to be right hand drive and the import duty will be a killer I can't imagine MB Classic Center in Germany has a great stock of RHD cars anyway ? |
| | (1)
|
| | #15 |
| Senior - BHPian | This article in Business India makes my point. It mentions how the uninitiated in the vintage car circle pushed the price of the car up and how they plan to have more such cars up in auction. Saffronart revs up online auction for classic cars with 1961 Pontiac sale |
| | (1)
|
![]() |