Go Back   Team-BHP > Indian Cars > Vintage Cars & Classics in India

Vintage Cars & Classics in India Pictures of Vintage Cars & Bikes spotted in India.

Old 11th November 2008, 00:40   #1 (permalink)

Default A Beauty in Shimla - Pontiac Silver Streak!

So, I Toured North India Recently, and found this rare beauty in Shimla. Guess the car...I shall put up more Pictures soon.
beauty-shimla-pontiac-silver-streak-image00001.jpg  

Old 11th November 2008, 01:10   #2 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Cyrus43 View Post
So, I Toured North India Recently, and found this rare beauty in Shimla. Guess the car...I shall put up more Pictures soon.
The car is a Pontiac!
deutscheafrikar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2008, 20:34   #3 (permalink)

Cyrus,
That is a 1954 Pontiac (i am told) and is owned by a friend's family and has been garaged for a long time now.

In Somnis Veritas

Last edited by gotzuk : 11th November 2008 at 20:37.
gotzuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2008, 21:40   #4 (permalink)

Arre kill the suspense now yaa - cut to the chase, and let's see more of the car !
Old 11th November 2008, 22:25   #5 (permalink)

Yes, Post more pictures of the car
backrub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2008, 00:58   #6 (permalink)

Sorry guys, i was away the whole day and have ALOT of work still pending.

Yes, It is a Pontiac. It is a Pontiac Silver Streak. I am posting just a few pics now coz i am really tied up in work.
beauty-shimla-pontiac-silver-streak-image00001.jpg  

beauty-shimla-pontiac-silver-streak-image00002.jpg  

beauty-shimla-pontiac-silver-streak-image00003.jpg  

beauty-shimla-pontiac-silver-streak-image00004.jpg  

beauty-shimla-pontiac-silver-streak-image00005.jpg  

beauty-shimla-pontiac-silver-streak-image00006.jpg  

beauty-shimla-pontiac-silver-streak-image00007.jpg  

Old 12th November 2008, 09:18   #7 (permalink)

Wow, lovely car Cy!
Good to know that someone still has it preserved, although I hope it sees daylight soon!

Whats the story behind this one?

And what were you doing in Shimla if I might ask? Holidaying?
and sure ain't no clunker!
Stanher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2008, 10:50   #8 (permalink)

That car needs some urgent TLC.
Spitfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2008, 11:18   #9 (permalink)

Is it for sale by any chance? I know somebody who is interested.
Old 12th November 2008, 12:14   #10 (permalink)

@Cyrus Do you have any cont. details of the owner by any chance. one of my friend also is in the need of good older car.

Car look's in too good condition. but i must say kept badly yaar.
rjvora_2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2008, 13:18   #11 (permalink)

Originally Posted by rjvora_2000 View Post
@Cyrus Do you have any cont. details of the owner by any chance. one of my friend also is in the need of good older car.

Car look's in too good condition. but i must say kept badly yaar.
Originally Posted by vikram_d View Post
Is it for sale by any chance? I know somebody who is interested.
The car is held by a family trust and is not for sale.

In Somnis Veritas
gotzuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2008, 13:26   #12 (permalink)

Too bad. Instead of it letting it rot like this, they might as well sell it to somebody who will cherish it.
Old 12th November 2008, 17:35   #13 (permalink)

Originally Posted by gotzuk View Post
Areee yaar felt bad to see your reply but still, it is owner's choice, to sale or not.

but still if you have contact details please post them.
rjvora_2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2008, 18:05   #14 (permalink)

Originally Posted by gotzuk View Post
Least they can do is clean her up and store her properly, to arrest further deterioration.
Old 12th November 2008, 18:12   #15 (permalink)

@Jaggu - That will not help. As long as it is standing still it will continue to deteriorate. A car needs to used to prevent that happening.