Team-BHP > What Car?

Old 9th September 2008, 20:44   #31

erm.. How much are 2000-2001/02 ikons (1.6) going for in Mumbai ?
You can easily get one for 1 - 1.20 in kolkata .. ok condition.. baki 10 - 12 you can keep for name transfer regn etc.
Old 9th September 2008, 23:07   #32

my boss got an ikon 1.6 for 1.2L 6 months ago. Seemed like a killer deal.
40k worth of service later, not so much
Old 10th September 2008, 13:07   #33

Originally Posted by amit_mechengg View Post
but Maruti has a very cheap option of Half Engine which costs just around 12-15 k.
Thanks for the suggestions, Amit.

What do you mean by "half engine"? You can just buy the block? Is it sold officially by Maruti at the price you quote? And is this inclusive of the engine swap charges? Won't head require any looking into if the block is changed? Am I not starting to sound like the noobs in the ICE section?
Old 10th September 2008, 14:22   #34

Originally Posted by Bass&Trouble View Post
What do you mean by "half engine"? You can just buy the block? Is it sold officially by Maruti at the price you quote? And is this inclusive of the engine swap charges? Won't head require any looking into if the block is changed?

I don't think Zen/Esteem engines are available that way. It was only the Omni's engine which was sold like that.

Am I not starting to sound like the noobs in the ICE section?
Now, you know what it feels like to be one, with people suggesting cars from the Nano to the contessa & even the infamous sierra.
Old 10th September 2008, 14:36   #35

Originally Posted by sridharps View Post
is it from a maintenance point of view? I know it had a lot of issues when it was launched and was subsequently discontinued. But didn't Maruti fix it mostly? I would certainly like some info on this.
Old TUD5 engine are a real pain in the neck you never know what could go wrong. B&T would have a sierra experience again . On a positive side he can push the car a lot easier than the sierra.

Also i dont think a noisy unrefined car is the best car for ICE.
Old 10th September 2008, 15:24   #36
rippergeo

Originally Posted by cooldude1988765 View Post
Old TUD5 engine are a real pain in the neck you never know what could go wrong. B&T would have a sierra experience again . On a positive side he can push the car a lot easier than the sierra.

the TUD5s I've seen were all completely hassle free. drove a zen D for 1 lac kms. no engine work was ever needed. did need a lot of suspension work though

but not a good option as an ICE car. too noisy.

Old 10th September 2008, 15:59   #37

Originally Posted by rippergeo View Post
but not a good option as an ICE car. too noisy.
Originally Posted by cooldude1988765
Good points. I hadn't realised that Zen-D was that noisy.
Old 10th September 2008, 16:28   #38

in 1.25L you should get a Alto 1.1 vxi. Search around. stay away from Maruti true value stores though.
Old 10th September 2008, 16:45   #39

i don't think you can get a new maruti engine at that price. i think he means getting an engine from a junked accidented car.
Old 10th September 2008, 18:36   #40
rippergeo

the 800cc engine that does duty in the M800 and the alto lx is available from factory at Rs40000 according to a poster at MASS. I dont think its the whole engine. I remember the advertisement saying that "your engine will be good as new"

But getting a cheap 2nd hand Alto is now more lucrative because of this offer.

Old 11th September 2008, 14:32   #41

The 65k Zen got sold! What next? Ramie bhai, kuch karo!!
Old 11th September 2008, 15:02   #42

The 65k Zen got sold! What next? Ramie bhai, kuch karo!!
Ohh man i just got the call from harpreet that his elder bro sold the car i'll get you another nice one,please dont loose hope. B+ive
Old 12th September 2008, 12:29   #43

How does the Bharat Stage of the car matter? BS I, BS II etc. Is that something I need to look out for?
Old 12th September 2008, 13:44   #44

Thanks for the suggestions, Amit.

What do you mean by "half engine"? You can just buy the block? Is it sold officially by Maruti at the price you quote? And is this inclusive of the engine swap charges? Won't head require any looking into if the block is changed? Am I not starting to sound like the noobs in the ICE section?
Half engine includes the block, pistons, crankshafts connecting rods etc. yes it is sold very official like ILLUSIONS with the Maruti Authorised Service Station. It does not include the labor. But labor wont be very costly.

Head 95% of the time wont be problematic, this is what the service station people believe. i had once inquired for SX4 engine for our fellow T-Bhpian.

Believe me it will be a total new engine experience. You tell me which car u will opt for and i will ask the M.A.S.S people about the charges.
Old 12th September 2008, 14:36   #45

How does the Bharat Stage of the car matter? BS I, BS II etc. Is that something I need to look out for?
I dont think it matters for a used car but if it is BS II it should be an mpfi (which means more power than the carb counterpart)