Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Excursions

Old 6th September 2011, 12:46   #16

Re: Track Day With The BAAPs

Why is Tejas's vehicle hiding in all pictures? Awesome slush fest you guys had, envy!
Old 6th September 2011, 13:07   #17

Originally Posted by Twinn View Post
Out of the blues, was that beige jeep with single seat Tejas drive?
Yup it was.
More will be revealed about "CAVITY" gradually.
Aptly named 4x4 and guess who fills a cavity.....???!!! Tejas, fondly also called "Teju" and very fondly called "Tejuice" though he likes being called "Teju"
*Runs for cover and hopes he never gets into the doctor's chair, else it will be Badla time!!*

There were two layers of this soil Fazal bhai, the top was deceiving and the lower was quick sand. It looked like wet hard packed sand and one foot in it got you instantly down to knee deep clay like slush. Not ordinary mud but real sticky clay like. It was almost impossible walking through, leave alone driving through it. Crazy stuff but great fun and a definite nightmare if one was alone or even with one or two vehicles. Gotta be careful and walk the slush before hand like we do when tackling a tough obstacle.
V-16 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 6th September 2011, 16:13   #18

Originally Posted by Jaggu View Post
Why is Tejas's vehicle hiding in all pictures? Awesome slush fest you guys had, envy!
Tejas's vehicle is hiding in all pictures since I have painstakingly cropped out details of neighbor's envy, owner's pride. He owes me a free dental cleaning for NOT revealing the entire picture....As they say..."Picture Abhi Baki Hai!"

Originally Posted by Twinn View Post
Hi Sowmya - This is a damn neat and hilarious way to get smokes out from the ones who missed the show . Awesome buddy!!!

Out of the blues, was that beige jeep with single seat Tejas drive?
Thanks Twinn.

Btw it is Soumya. Not Sowmya.

Sowmya happens to be a girl's name in South India, including Coorg (even though you guys claim to be an independent nation ) and I relive this bane of my existence , every time the driver picks me up from Bangalore airport!

Here are two snaps that Ravi Sharma sent me of his jeep doing a water crossing to clean off the mud...

Track Day With The BAAPs-img_20110904_00360.jpg

Track Day With The BAAPs-img_20110904_00361.jpg

Last edited by genesis : 6th September 2011 at 16:31.
genesis is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 6th September 2011, 19:40   #19

Originally Posted by genesis View Post
Btw it is Soumya. Not Sowmya.

My apologies for the MISS-Take

Sowmya happens to be a girl's name in South India, including Coorg (even though you guys claim to be an independent nation ) and I relive this bane of my existence , every time the driver picks me up from Bangalore airport!
You mean an Independent State. Actually we want to curb tax on the booze we glup!!! so we are demanding a stateship, instead of the present district . Hope you enjoyed the stay over Coorg.
Old 6th September 2011, 21:02   #20

Fantastic "Picturelogue" Soumya......awesome.......Missed the action this time around but your narration and photographs made me feel like I was there !!!!
Old 6th September 2011, 21:53   #21

The smell of the barbecue must have wafted into the backwoods
since a steady stream of vehicles started coming back

Track Day With The BAAPs-img_4478.jpg

Parking

Track Day With The BAAPs-img_4525.jpg

And joining the early birds

Track Day With The BAAPs-img_4446.jpg

For some awesome food

Track Day With The BAAPs-img_4501.jpg

And animated conversations between
Thomson

Track Day With The BAAPs-img_4509.jpg

And Thompson

Track Day With The BAAPs-img_4510.jpg

Only to be broken from their reverie
by the sounds of screaming engines

Track Day With The BAAPs-img_4564.jpg

As one gypsy tried to make its own trail

Track Day With The BAAPs-img_4567.jpg

While another ran circles around it

Track Day With The BAAPs-img_4570.jpg

Track Day With The BAAPs-img_4571.jpg

Track Day With The BAAPs-img_4572.jpg

Track Day With The BAAPs-img_4574.jpg

Which was too much for Paras to resist
showing off his pimped up his 3.5

Track Day With The BAAPs-img_4580.jpg

which was FINALLY turned into really capable ride

Track Day With The BAAPs-img_4584.jpg

And he kept on spinning with great elan

Track Day With The BAAPs-img_4586.jpg

Until ordered to take it to the side

Track Day With The BAAPs-img_4596.jpg

To make way for the mudslinger

Track Day With The BAAPs-img_4597.jpg

and his 1 liter LPG powered gypsy...
Old 6th September 2011, 22:49   #22

That is one muddy & dirty outing you folks enjoyed. With the monsoon in full force I am sure this is super duper fun.

Nice to see some great 4x4 vehicles & the unveiling of Tejas's Jeep :-)

Just a question: Would engaging & using the 4x4-L mode, stress the engine, if the engine is not run in?
Old 7th September 2011, 01:37   #23

Great pics Soumya. Had fun with you guys.

Gogi bhai, I still want the Water Pump for my CJ3B. Thanks for having us over. Planning an event in Satara with Sanket. Shall keep you guys posted.

The recent downpour will have made the trail a real treat.
Old 7th September 2011, 09:42   #24

Originally Posted by khan_sultan View Post

Nice to see some great 4x4 vehicles & the unveiling of Tejas's Jeep :-)
Thank you.
Just a question: Would engaging & using the 4x4-L mode, stress the engine, if the engine is not run in?

I wondered the same as well. Did everything in 3rd and 4th gears only in low and didn't stress the engine (hopefully).

But some people still make fun of me for getting stuck!!!!

Anyways, i also had one eye on the temp gauge as well. Always stayed way below 80 and there was no smoking from anywhere either.
Old 7th September 2011, 10:51   #25

I really dont think so, L ratio and if you are not over-revving it should not affect the engine. Lower the gear and lower the RPM would be safer.
Old 7th September 2011, 11:40   #26

Prakash Kinger at Atlas is the go to guy for all things Jeep this side of the earth. Call him. He will even send it to you. Good luck

Originally Posted by bunty View Post
Great pics Soumya. Had fun with you guys.

Gogi bhai, I still want the Water Pump for my CJ3B. Thanks for having us over. Planning an event in Satara with Sanket. Shall keep you guys posted.

53BHP is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th September 2011, 12:05   #27

Originally Posted by 53BHP View Post
Prakash Kinger at Atlas is the go to guy for all things Jeep this side of the earth. Call him. He will even send it to you. Good luck
In my experience, Prakash at Atlas is the perfect go to guy for all things diesel. Mention petrol jeeps to him and (if you are not Gogi), he will say - "Woh Jamana Gaya" and usually look the other way.

The guy who should have water pumps for the CJ is Indian Motors in Opera House.

ps: May be worth masquerading as Gogi and trying your luck with Atlas
Old 7th September 2011, 13:13   #28

Originally Posted by bunty View Post
On the job Bunty, will be contacting Prakash and all the other usual suspects at Opera house. Just give me a few days. And nice to see you guys having fun. Satar should be a treat. Great to meet Sanket too.

Originally Posted by 53BHP View Post
Originally Posted by genesis View Post
In my experience, Prakash at Atlas is the perfect go to guy for all things diesel. Mention petrol jeeps to him and (if you are not Gogi), he will say - "Woh Jamana Gaya" and usually look the other way.
Hes a sweet guy and very helpful, maybe u caught hi in a dad mood on a bad day "Sowmya"

The guy who should have water pumps for the CJ is Indian Motors in Opera House.

ps: May be worth masquerading as Gogi and trying your luck with Atlas
LOL!! ill check with him too and the other guy on the second floor, diagonally opposite Prakash. He might have a carb or two too, who knows. You wanna come along to check, he is a virtual store house of CJ3B Hurricane stuff but moody, so moody that he chooses to open and shut at his time ans thats usually between 1:30-3:30. Yes those are his working hours. No phone too.
Old 7th September 2011, 13:17   #29

Maybe he can masquerade as me too.

He has got me stuff for my Jeep that you wont believe...Anyway if you need something petrol, do let me know. I will lean on Prakash to get it
Old 7th September 2011, 14:11   #30

Great Fun you all had! Nice to see that all participants enjoyed. But, How come no one has really talked about the place and the preparations and efforts put in by Pradeep?
This place used to be a brick kiln, which uses clay which is very chikni, besides there is a portion which still grows rice in the season, and thats the area youll found to be like 'quick sand'.
I find a Great Potential for the place, and the determination Pradeep has, just that he is working within limited resources and so everything seems to be getting delayed. Imagine the oval and one parrallel stretch being a tarmac with slaloms and all and the rest being a dirt track.