Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Excursions

Old 15th February 2012, 11:46   #61

Re: Rajmachi Softroading Trip March 11th

@siddhesh/monaro - Would be moving to the confirmed list. Looking at the current seat allocations wondering which vehicle to hop in to?

Monaro - As your truck has only 2 occupants as of now could i join in?
amitwlele is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th February 2012, 11:53   #62

Originally Posted by amitwlele View Post
@siddhesh/monaro - Would be moving to the confirmed list. Looking at the current seat allocations wondering which vehicle to hop in to?

Monaro - As your truck has only 2 occupants as of now could i join in?
Tension mat le yaar, I am sure we will have space for all. Samara's kinda filling up (unless you dig the last seat) but Monaro's Fort can take some load, I assume
Old 15th February 2012, 12:01   #63

Originally Posted by Monaro CV8 View Post
Hey siddesh,
This thread has been up, hardly for a day, & look at the response!
I
Wow .. Nice response(s) in just 2 odd days .
I am in , but just as a full time photographer for the tour ( we need one , don't we ?? ) in Monaro's Beast ...

Originally Posted by DHABHAR.BEHRAM View Post
Dear all - would love to join. Neville, you going? How about I join you in your Gypsy?

Best regards,

Behram Dhabhar
The Father of the Thar is coming .. I must make it to the meet !!

Last edited by jealousdiamond : 15th February 2012 at 12:03.
Old 15th February 2012, 12:09   #64

Hey doc,
Lol.
That was just a teaser of what real Off roading is all about!

Remember the title of this thread?

And yea, Extreme Off Roarders - EXAMM is all about 4x4s. No 2x1s allowed
Haan bhai, I've heard guys going all ga-ga over these OTRs - guess will have to come along as a passenger then.

But its sad you don't allow bikes bro. From what I can see in the pics, barring some sections with the the really deep soft slush and some with the crazy gradients, there's not much else some of my biker buddies and me wouldn't fancy tackling (or have not already). Either way, even there, a bike will generally cut through an alternative trail, and probably faster (Sagar can testify).

Maybe we can do our own shoot-out here on team bhp someday?

Last edited by ebonho : 15th February 2012 at 12:12.
ebonho is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 15th February 2012, 12:12   #65

Had got some great tips from jaysmokesleaves (thanks bro - hope you will make it in person!) when I was thinking of this meet, thought I will reproduce it here for general convenience and knowledge..

Over half the route is now a gravel track with chips(or they might have tarred it by now) though I dont think they will have covered the upped half of the route, which is the real fun part. In the summer it is easily managable. Keep safe distance between your vehicles, especially at turns. There are a few sharp hairpin bends with big stones nothing of concern in the dry season. A stream is also present but it always runs dry around this time of the year.

Do give way to locals and be kind an polite.
There is a temple up there with a lovely pond with a very scenic view. If locals ask, tell them you are going to the temple. No significance of the temple, but the view and location is superb.

Temple is after the village. Turn left from the tea stall. then its a short straight through the woods and then curves down towards the temple. The road down to the temple is dry gravel. So before you go down, stop and make sure you can drive back up(traction issues).
Tea and basic snacks are available at the village on top. Its safe to park your vehicles and trek up to the fort(about 20 mins) the view is superb.

Originally Posted by ebonho View Post
Haan bhai, I've heard guys going all ga-ga over these OTRs - guess will have to come along as a passenger then.

But its sad you don't allow bikes bro. From what I can see in the pics, barring some sections with the the really deep soft slush and some with the crazy gradients, there's not much else some of my biker buddies and me wouldn't fancy tackling (or have not already). Either way, even there, a bike will generally cut through an alternative trail, and probably faster (Sagar can testify).

Maybe we can do our own shoot-out here on team bhp someday?
+1 to that, I will be the cameraman No way Samara's getting into that, lol...

Last edited by siddheshb : 15th February 2012 at 12:14.
siddheshb is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th February 2012, 12:22   #66

Originally Posted by jealousdiamond View Post
Wow .. Nice response(s) in just 2 odd days .
I am in , but just as a full time photographer for the tour ( we need one , don't we ?? ) in Monaro's Beast ...
JD - you are more that welcome. But what happened to your Safari?? TK is also getting his. Should be fun with a whole lotta trucks man! Think about it..

@siddesh - Thanks for the heads up about that trail. But I have a feeling that filling our trucks to the brim - will we get enough traction to go up steep slopes, loose - gravely terrain, or, manoeuvre pebbled streams??
I reckon - keeping the count limited to 4 pax per truck can be a manageable affair.

Last edited by Monaro CV8 : 15th February 2012 at 12:35.
Old 15th February 2012, 12:33   #67

Umm, when is this? And does JD or Monaro have some place in their trucks for a non SUV owner? If so, lemme know. No sense taking either of my cars to places like these.

Well, actually, since this is a soft roading event and not actual hardcore offroading, Subodh can get his Vento too, right? . Sorry, not all would get this joke.

EDIT: Just saw the date. Lemme be tentative. Not sure about my whereabouts at that time.

Last edited by Swanand Inamdar : 15th February 2012 at 12:34. Reason: Adding text
Swanand Inamdar is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th February 2012, 12:41   #68

Nobody has added Mr. Behram's name to the list of participants, I believe he will be joining along with Satan in his Gypsy?
Old 15th February 2012, 13:00   #69

JD - you are more that welcome. But what happened to your Safari?? TK is also getting his. Should be fun with a whole lotta trucks man! Think about it..

@siddesh - Thanks for the heads up about that trail. But I have a feeling that filling our trucks to the brim - will we get enough traction to go up steep slopes, loose - gravely terrain, or, manoeuvre pebbled streams??
I reckon - keeping the count limited to 4 pax per truck can be a manageable affair.
Very pertinent, usually its no more than 2 per vehicle but i guess the larger SUVs should ne able to accomodate 4.
satan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th February 2012, 14:26   #70

I wish i could join you guys but i will be traveling during the mentioned dates. Have fun and be safe.

Originally Posted by nanduchitnis View Post

In case Throttle Kings seats are filled up can someone accommodate 2 seats for me and my wife Medini. She is quite good looking !

Rgds
No offense but that had me rolling on the floor laughing!!!

You really must want to go!!!
Tejas@perioimpl is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 15th February 2012, 14:55   #71

This would help in case we get stuck and the car with the max people in it would be better equipped to push it out.

Updated list below. Monaro i have added myself and JD in your beast. In case later on it becomes a issue we will try to work it out. I hope you are ok.

Updated list: (Nandu Sir + wifey, ObsessedByFiat)

Venue - Rajmachi
Type - Softroading
Date - 11th March 2012, early morning start

Confirmed:
1. siddheshb, F150, Nandu Sir + wifey – Endy (Samara)
2. Throttleking, Kiran moralfibre, nawalsinghal - Safari
3. Guderian - Fortuner (Admiral)
4. MonaroCV8, Racer_X, amitwlele, JD - Fortuner
5. jaysmokesleaves - Safari
6. ebonho – Bullet (Doppie)
7. Satan, Behram Dhabar - Gypsy
8. Shubhendra - Pajero or Mahindra Classic (plz confirm which one)
9. ObsessedByFIAT - Hunk (might get along an aspiring TBHPian friend with a Bullet)

Tentative :
1. Mikon - Passenger seat (with Throttleking)
2. Off Roadie & Daddy (kind of rhimes) - Snow (Scorpio 4wd)
3. selfdrive - Passenger seat (with siddheshb)
4. The VTEC guy - Thunderbird
5. nilanjanray - Fortuner
6. Swanand Inamdar
Old 15th February 2012, 16:26   #72

Man, look at the responses in just 2 days! Looks like another Pune-Mumbai chapter mini meet !

I wish I could join for the photography part, but I will most probably be travelling out of India for office work in the next month.

Do post as many pics as possible and all the best with the event !
Old 15th February 2012, 17:14   #73

Sorry, I wont be able to join in. Removing my name. Enjoy!

Venue - Rajmachi
Type - Softroading
Date - 11th March 2012, early morning start

Confirmed:
1. siddheshb, F150, Nandu Sir + wifey – Endy (Samara)
2. Throttleking, Kiran moralfibre, nawalsinghal - Safari
3. Guderian - Fortuner (Admiral)
4. MonaroCV8, Racer_X, amitwlele, JD - Fortuner
5. jaysmokesleaves - Safari
6. ebonho – Bullet (Doppie)
7. Satan, Behram Dhabar - Gypsy
8. Shubhendra - Pajero or Mahindra Classic (plz confirm which one)
9. ObsessedByFIAT - Hunk (might get along an aspiring TBHPian friend with a Bullet)

Tentative :
1. Off Roadie & Daddy (kind of rhimes) - Snow (Scorpio 4wd)
2. selfdrive - Passenger seat (with siddheshb)
3. The VTEC guy - Thunderbird
4. nilanjanray - Fortuner
5. Swanand Inamdar
Old 15th February 2012, 17:15   #74

Originally Posted by Tejas@perioimpl View Post

....two seats for me and my wife. She is good looking

No offense but that had me rolling on the floor laughing!!!

You really must want to go!!!
But it worked ! Got seats for both !

Yes we want to go bad and also meet the father of the THAR

Last edited by nanduchitnis : 15th February 2012 at 17:17.
nanduchitnis is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th February 2012, 18:59   #75

We always have the option of offloading the trucks and letting them enjoy the hike... Yes, but on a more serious note, I agree - we should have lots of trucks so we can have lots of passengers spread out through them!

So truck owners - you are not allowed to come as passengers, you better get your rides along

Originally Posted by nanduchitnis View Post
But it worked ! Got seats for both !
Hold on, did I offer seats for BOTH of you, I thought I had said OK only to the lady!

Lol

Last edited by noopster : 16th February 2012 at 16:34. Reason: Merged posts as requested