Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Excursions

Old 30th January 2015, 21:38   #1

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015

First of all, I would like to thank team BODA for a wonderful event once again. We had an amazing time there.
  • Super Track. Vehicle Testing as well as Driver Testing tracks. (The best thing about the BAOTR.)
  • Comfortable beds in the middle of nowhere.
  • Good Facilities.
  • Yummy food, and in time. We had tea/coffee brakefast, lunch, snacks, snacks, and dinner at the right time and in plenty.
  • As usual very friendly hosts, and, the amenities provided in the middle of nowhere.
I'll try to share whatever I've experienced in the event, in a short way.

All the pictures I've taken from Facebook. All credits to respective photographers. Especially Rajesh from Kushalnagar, and Nikhil Kariappa

------------------------------------------------------------------------

Being a calender event for us, especially me, since 2012, the moment this years dates were published, I booked myself in, and luckily most them from our team joined. The check in time, was mentioned 5:00 PM in the handbook. It was a 5 - 6 hour drive for us to the trail, hence we decided to start around 11-12. However, as usual the take off got delayed.. By around 3-3:30PM, all of us finally gathered around and decided to leave Wayanad. In 5 Vehicles. One LandCruiser 80 series, One MM550 ISZ Petril, One MM550 with Turbocharged Nissan heart, One 500D, One MM540DP.

Well, we were already late and on top of it, my MM550 with Turbocharged Nissan heart burst an oil pipe from Gundulpet. Ran around frantically only to know you cant get a spare pipe till you reach Nanjangud. So, went the jugaad way of fixing it - Condom, gasket maker and tape. It held up till Nanjangud, where I got a tata indica oil pipe. By the time the fix was done it was already 8PM. Put pedal to metal and reached the OTR spot at around 11PM.

However, one more of our team mates in his MM550XD reached the spot early and registered for all of us.

Vehicles coming in for the event.

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-2.jpg

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-3.jpg

Vishnu, registering for all of us. Manning the desk is Robinson, Rajesh, Prabhu, and I guess Prithvi.

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-4.jpg

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-5.jpg

Loads of parking space at the location.

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-6.jpg

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-7.jpg

The secured campsite for around 200 participants + marshals.

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-9.jpg

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-13.jpg

Participants from all over South India coming in

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-10.jpg

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-16.jpg

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-17.jpg

The Gokak Team

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-18.jpg

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-19.jpg

Krishnarajatantri from Mysore.

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-20.jpg

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-21.jpg

The ever cheerful Lokesh Aradhya.

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-22.jpg

Chief Guest & Jeep Encyclopedia - UBS Sir posing with Prithvi

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-23.jpg

Barani or commander handle in tbhp

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-24.jpg

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-26.jpg

The ever enthusiastic Thirunelveli Guys

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-27.jpg

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-28.jpg

Sam Kurian from Kottayam, in his remapped Thar adventure edition.

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-29.jpg

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-30.jpg

--------------
We still hadn't reached, and I guess Viji was getting tired, hence I got a soft call asking where I was . Shared our location, and ETA. The good hosts were ready to wait however late it was.

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-25.jpg

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-11.jpg

Meanwhile, dinner was served. Viji kindly offered to save 12 of our dinner quotal, till we reach.

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-12.jpg

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-14.jpg

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-15.jpg

Almost all the participants had reached. Now, khan and team at the registration counter waiting for the last batch.

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-8.jpg

Note : Fellow members who were there @BODA event, please feel free to pen in your thoughts too. And and loads more pictures.

Last edited by dhanushs : 30th January 2015 at 23:23.
dhanushs is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 30th January 2015, 22:09   #2

re: Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015

Finally, we reach.

The Land Cruiser.

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-39.jpg

Rajesh's MM540DP

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-40.jpg

Jinnu's MM550 ISZ petrol

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-41.jpg

My MM550 with Turbocharged Nissan heart.

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-42.jpg

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-44.jpg

The MM550XD.

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-43.jpg

After checking us & the last entrants in, the Marshals wind up registrations and come in for dinner. Time was around 12:00 AM.

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-47.jpg

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-49.jpg

Catching up with friends.

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-46.jpg

Briefing about something. Well, Prithvi was the marshal who was in-charge of our stays and everything around the place. So, I guess the briefing was about bed bugs? . Jokes apart, the stay in the middle of no-where was super comfortable.

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-48.jpg

Some midnight fun.

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-50.jpg

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-51.jpg

Time to crash in the tents. We had a tent for ourselves. 12 of us.

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-37.jpg

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-38.jpg

Note : Fellow members who were there @BODA event, please feel free to pen in your thoughts too. And and loads more pictures.

Last edited by Aditya : 2nd February 2015 at 11:33. Reason: Typo
dhanushs is offline   (13) Thanks
Old 30th January 2015, 23:18   #3

Day 1

Day 1, began on a positive note. With all of us expecting a good day of off-roading and jeeps ahead of us.

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-53.jpg

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-54.jpg

The campsite, which offered comfortable stay, had hot water in the morning for bath!. And, all the amenities provided were clean and hygienic.

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-55.jpg

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-57.jpg

After freshening up, breakfast was served. Nice and tasty it was.

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-60.jpg

Viji, leading the way...

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-59.jpg

With breakfast done, Prithvi & Rajesh gave a short briefing about the day. Do's and Dont's, safety briefing etc..

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-64.jpg

Which all the participants listened carefully.

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-63.jpg

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-65.jpg

One of the sponsors.

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-61.jpg

And, then, the flag off by UBS sir.

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-66.jpg

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-67.jpg

There were, four stages and whole of the participants were split into four groups. We got Stage 4 & Stage 1. for day one, and Stage 2 & Stage 3 for day two. While everything about BAOTR'15 was excellent, the only grouch I had is the track was atleast 75% similar to last years. Yes, difficulty level was higher due to more number of modified vehicles, but then, most of it was same. ie, the basic technique on how to capture it was more or less the same. As a result, I or rather we from last year, found it easy, and expected, with less surprises, unlike last year. However, kudos to BODA team for making some of the obstacles really challenging which will test the man and the machine.

Unless you weren't careful about it, yes, this year too there were topples, broken axles, scratched paint, bent bumpers, mudguards, broken underbody etc.. etc.. One thing I've learnt about BODA tracks is that - listen to the spotter. You will breeze through...

The convoy split into groups waiting to leave. When we left, we got a bottle of water, Minute maid each.. And our lunch packets. Which had rice, curry, a packet of potato chips, a bar of chikki & a small sweet.

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-68.jpg

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-70.jpg

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-72.jpg

The obstacles start. Steep dips, long inclines etc etc.. testing the man and the machine thoroughly.

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-73.jpg

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-75.jpg

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-76.jpg

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-77.jpg

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-78.jpg

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-80.jpg

Some getting stuck at weird angles.

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-81.jpg

Some getting pulled out.

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-82.jpg

Another must have thing about BODA events. Lot of thorny bushes to scratch your paint.

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-74.jpg

Pradeep, marshal from BODA leading the way from the front.

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-98.jpg

This particular black Thar had a lady driver Sahana Shetty, who came alone with her Thar. Respect her passion for driving. She broke her diesel tank morning in Day 1, but came back later in the day, with all her energy and did well.. Tackled obstacles in style.. Like this..

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-99.jpg

The day was about to end with this rut obstacle. Which we did without much problem.

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-100.jpg

Some came in at a wrong angle and had to pushed and pulled to sort the mess out.

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-97.jpg

After the rut obstacle, the day was almost done, with just one more obstacle remaining. The slush one. Light was fast fading off, and the slush was already dug up pretty well by all the Jeeps. Hence the marshals were giving options weather or not to do it.

Well, in our batch I guess me and Tantri were the only ones to do it. By the end of the day, finishing this obstacle. I felt glad that my project was performing extremely well.
Be it rocks, or articulation obstacles or ones which needed momentum.

Sams Thar stuck in Slush.

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-96.jpg

After which we all turned back to the camp for a tasty snack + dinner.

But I guess, some vehicles still went for the night drive stage which was planned earlier.

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-boda-103.jpg

Last edited by dhanushs : 30th January 2015 at 23:23.
dhanushs is offline   (26) Thanks
Old 31st January 2015, 08:25   #4

Thread moved from the Assembly Line to 4x4 Excursions. Thanks for sharing!
khan_sultan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 31st January 2015, 09:58   #5

Indeed, a well organized event, with good food and facilities. I came alone as usual, but made new friends.

Captured some videos on phone/sj1000

Will post photos and more videos later. There's a lot to share!
datvichrox2 is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 31st January 2015, 15:15   #6

Re: Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015

Superb report! Lovely pictures, excellent captions, great attention to detail. Thanks for sharing

The way you speak of the event, it appears to have been very well-organised. Pat on the back to the BODA team, it's no small feat hosting so many folk.

Some neat looking rides & excellent obstacles + terrain.

P.S. Your Jeep needs new tyres
GTO is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 31st January 2015, 15:38   #7

Superb report! Lovely pictures, excellent captions, great attention to detail. Thanks for sharing

P.S. Your Jeep needs new tyres
those are road tyres.
I have brand new 33 x 12.5 x 15 Maxxis Bighorns.

This is how we go for events more than 200kms away. And change tyres I n the location so that the MT's don't wear out super fast

Report & Pics: Bangalore Annual OTR, 2015-image.jpg
dhanushs is offline   (13) Thanks
Old 31st January 2015, 17:09   #8

Very detailed Capture with pics & comments, a Short video compilation below:

Sunil
hisunil is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 31st January 2015, 21:02   #9

Wow super duper coverage and thank you so much for sharing, esp for folks like me who had to miss it :-/
Jaggu is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 31st January 2015, 23:02   #10

Great pics Dhanushs. Seems you guys had a great time.Though the pics won't be doing any justice,the organizers have definitely put in a lot of effort .And all this for the love of the sport.Keep it going guys.

BTW did the landcruiser take part .Didn't see any snaps of it in action.
Seventhgear is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 1st February 2015, 12:25   #11

Hey Dhanush, thanks for the short and sweet report. I had plans of attending with my DI Jeep before I put it on sale, but my work schedule threw a spanner in the works.

So, what was the effect of RFC on BODA event? I know terrain was same as last year, but the obstacles must have been tougher to satisfy better equipped vehicles.
Old 2nd February 2015, 04:16   #12
Taffy

Amazing pictures, thanks to the contributors dhanush and datvi. The whole event is looking so raw, so natural. This is just the kind of thing I am sure that makes all those hours of work with the off-roader worth it.

Old 2nd February 2015, 08:53   #13

Hi dhanush

Thanks for giving us the wonderful account of the Annual OTR. Keep it going

The best part I liked was the planning & arrangement made for all the participants. The Camp looked glorious and resembled a mini town in the hills.
The rut obstacle must be thrilling.

When do we have such event in Delhi ? Tanveer are you listening.
Old 2nd February 2015, 12:08   #14

Originally Posted by dhanushs View Post
This particular black Thar had a lady driver Sahana Shetty, who came alone with her Thar. Respect her passion for driving. She broke her diesel tank morning in Day 1, but came back later in the day, with all her energy and did well.
Woah ho ho. Sahana is the HR Director at my work spot. Never thought she would take her Thar to do what it was designed to do. Well done Sahana.
Old 2nd February 2015, 13:13   #15

Superb review. Lot of amazing pictures and it just makes me drool over the mahindra thar's once again. Have to think of how to get one and soon