Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Excursions

Search this Thread
Old 1st April 2019, 12:05   #1
Senior - BHPian

Offroading excursion with the Offroad Club of Gujarat (OCG)

I love traveling in the Himalayas by a self-driven vehicle. I have traveled extensively in different regions of Himalayas in my own car (or a friend's car). During those drives, I got my own experiences of off-roading in different terrains like snow, slush, sand, rocky surfaces, uneven inclines, etc. However, I don't consider myself an off-roader. In fact, I have never done serious off-roading with a pure (mechanical) 4x4. Most of my drives to the mountains or sand or beaches are done with FWD vehicles. I have very little experience in AWD cars and almost nil in hardcore 4x4 vehicles. Saying that, I am always eager to face challenges. The quote in my signature actually suits me - "Get your motor runnin', head out on the highway. Lookin' for adventure, and whatever comes our way." In the quest of "whatever comes our way", I faced many unpleasant situations. However, that's a different subject altogether.

I love off-roading. I love watching hardcore 4x4 vehicles tackling the different obstacles. I have been to a couple of off-roading events, but both of them were joint events organized by 4x4 clubs and Royal Enfield clubs. So during those events, my entire attention was on motorcycle off-roading (with Royal Enfield).

I always wanted to participate in some off-roading events and tackle obstacles. Last Sunday (31st March 2019), I got a chance to do some real off-roading in a friend's brand new Thar 4x4.

I was following "Offroad Club of Gujarat" (OCG's) Facebook page. There was an announcement of their next off-roading event. It was just 40 km far from my hometown on a dry river bed (full of sand). It was a half day event, so we could be home before 1400 hours.

Offroading excursion with the Offroad Club of Gujarat (OCG)-55736453_2332070956816524_1117628323816538112_n.jpg