Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Excursions

Old 30th November 2008, 22:17   #1

Bangalore: Thipagondahalli OTR, 30th Nov

Friends,

Just returned from thipagondahalli OTR. And true to it's tradition we had a jeep (an american one at that with a 6L engine) which was a bottle neck. The OTR was supposed to be over by max 2.00 pm but we ended up at the OTR till about 6.30 pm.

Did not click much pictures but here are the few that I managed to click.

At the entrance to the OTR spot.
Bangalore: Thipagondahalli OTR, 30th Nov-img_0530.jpg

Notice the 'american muscle jeep' with 32 inch monster tyres. This was the bottleneck as the 4x4 wasn't there.
Bangalore: Thipagondahalli OTR, 30th Nov-img_0531.jpg

Let the fun begin. The line up at the start of the 4x4 section.
Bangalore: Thipagondahalli OTR, 30th Nov-img_0533.jpg

Jammy joined in late in his yellow MM440
Bangalore: Thipagondahalli OTR, 30th Nov-img_0536.jpg

It sure feels great at the top of a rocky hill
Bangalore: Thipagondahalli OTR, 30th Nov-img_0537.jpg

On the way down
Bangalore: Thipagondahalli OTR, 30th Nov-img_0539.jpg

The american jeep. What all did we not have to do for this one. The less said the better. It was good that we parked it soon enough at the side -- else we would have been still there figuring out how to get it out..
Bangalore: Thipagondahalli OTR, 30th Nov-img_0549.jpg

Meanwhile the rest of the folks wait as the american jeep needs to be hauled over.
Bangalore: Thipagondahalli OTR, 30th Nov-img_0550.jpg

Here's the panoramic view of some of the 4x4's in line. waiting at some section of the OTR
Bangalore: Thipagondahalli OTR, 30th Nov-merge.jpg

Someone else will post more details but I can say that it was one hell lot of fun and there will be few terrains better than thipagndahalli for off-roading.

Last edited by khan_sultan : 30th November 2008 at 22:28.
Old 30th November 2008, 22:26   #2

Few Videos

I managed to shoot 2 small videos:

Here is one of my wifey at one section of the OTR:

Here is the video of the Safari navigating some slush part of the OTR.

The safari performed quite well but did get quite a few scars in the process. I think the number of scars that the safari got today are equal to all the previous ones put together.

Some more GC and A/T tyres will make the safari a formidable 4x4 vehicle.

Old 30th November 2008, 22:57   #3

was simbly AWESOME!!!
it more special and memorable for me as i driving my own new (hee hee) JEEP

had loads of fun.. looking forward for more action cheers:
Old 1st December 2008, 02:54   #4

Looks like you guys had fun!. what went wrong with the American Jeep? Just curious
Old 1st December 2008, 09:07   #5

Another one Khan Bhai, Nice pics. Keep them coming.
Expecting the report soon.

Abhi
Old 1st December 2008, 09:24   #6

Originally Posted by akroy View Post
.... Nice pics. Keep them coming... Expecting the report soon..
... There were so many photographers that if all of them keep the pictures coming then space on our server will be gone.

OT: You should have been there to take part in some juicy discussions around that sentence

Last edited by khan_sultan : 1st December 2008 at 09:36.
Old 1st December 2008, 09:30   #7

Isn't this the same jeep which was owned by the UB group and was up for sale for about 8/9 lacs?
Old 1st December 2008, 09:31   #8

Originally Posted by khan_sultan View Post
.... ... (more than 2 smiley's not allowed else would have used more and this also takes care of minimum 20 characters in a post.)

I think you are still in the "Bull & Bush" spirit

Welcome back to the forum.
Originally Posted by rangan View Post
was simbly AWESOME!!!
it more special and memorable for me as i driving my own new (hee hee) JEEP

had loads of fun.. looking forward for more action
I wanted to ask you man. How did the new jeep performed? How did you manage to engage those 4H/L levers? Had kept the closure open?

And how about those tyres? Did they "provided" more fun?

Last edited by mjothi : 1st December 2008 at 09:34.
Old 1st December 2008, 10:18   #9

Originally Posted by rjstyles69 View Post
Isn't this the same jeep which was owned by the UB group and was up for sale for about 8/9 lacs?
Was about to ask the same question to Khan. Seems some teambhp 4x4 enthusiast has gone for it!
Old 1st December 2008, 10:40   #10

Originally Posted by Kandisa View Post
Was about to ask the same question to Khan. Seems some teambhp 4x4 enthusiast has gone for it!
Yes it is . Now owned by Ritesh Magar.

Dwarak
Old 1st December 2008, 10:50   #11

Originally Posted by rjstyles69 View Post
Originally Posted by Kandisa View Post
Originally Posted by dwaraka View Post
Yes it is . Now owned by Ritesh Magar. ..
The first thing he needs to do is either get it in 4x4 mode or remove those 1 dozen 4x4 stickers from it. .

Just pulling his leg. His 4x4 ratios has been royally messed up by his current mechanic and needs some serious work.

However, the sound of that 6L petrol engine is pure music.

Old 1st December 2008, 11:04   #12

Heard you guys had a blast.
Sorry could not make it.
Khan sir, did you enjoy the baleno willys
My friend had a great time.
Old 1st December 2008, 11:28   #13

where are all the pictures??
i had not got my camera and am waiting for the others to upload.
Old 1st December 2008, 11:50   #14

Originally Posted by khan_sultan View Post
Friends,

Just returned from thipagondahalli OTR. And true to it's tradition we had a jeep (an american one at that with a 6L engine) which was a bottle neck. The OTR was supposed to be over by max 2.00 pm but we ended up at the OTR till about 6.30 pm.
-------

Hi Shahnawaz,

I must say the OTR pics are fabulous. The terrain that you guys have there is amazing. Wish we had a similar terrain here in Delhi.

Randeep
Old 1st December 2008, 13:04   #15

Originally Posted by iceman91 View Post
Heard you guys had a blast.
Sorry could not make it.
Khan sir, did you enjoy the baleno willys
My friend had a great time.
Yes, I could see that your friend had a blast. He was enjoying it a lot. The baleno willys is great looking and did the terrain quite well but your friend did manage to literally smoke the clutch and the smell could possible be sensed some kms away. You ought to join next time -- you will enjoy it I know.

Originally Posted by rangan View Post
where are all the pictures??
i had not got my camera and am waiting for the others to upload.
Yes. There were dozen or so camera's there. where are these folks.??? It's important that we get picures posted here so that other people can then post "nice pics.. keep them coming"

Originally Posted by randeep04 View Post
...I must say the OTR pics are fabulous. The terrain that you guys have there is amazing. Wish we had a similar terrain here in Delhi. ..
Randeep I agree that Bangalore has one of the best & varied terrains for offroading -- all at few hrs away from Bangalore. I am sure that if you folks venture into the arravalis you will find good terrains there or go to the farmlands of haryana/UP when they are slushy..