Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Excursions

Old 19th December 2008, 16:39   #211

Originally Posted by HappyWheels View Post
Can we have a photo of the beast as-is now?
Suresh, this is how the beast looked at 4 pm today

Bangalore OTR: Off Sarjapur Raod: 14th Dec 2008. Wana Join?-pw19dec08.jpg
Old 19th December 2008, 16:47   #212

i see that the LH fog lamp has been repaired? how much for the shourd and labour?
Old 19th December 2008, 17:28   #213

Apparently, the shroud is a fused piece - SA asked if he can drill holes in the bumper and screw it - charges are for some super glue and those screws. No separate labour charge for this.

I owe you big time for helping me with the fog.
Old 19th December 2008, 18:02   #214

Originally Posted by hrag View Post
Apparently, the shroud is a fused piece - SA asked if he can drill holes in the bumper and screw it - charges are for some super glue and those screws. No separate labour charge for this.

I owe you big time for helping me with the fog.
most welcome , my pleasure , u owe me nothing , hey u shouldn have got those screws drilled on the bumper, since it is visible , it will look bad , i am sure we all (over some beers ) could have come up with a better solution
Old 19th December 2008, 18:47   #215

Suresh, this is how the beast looked at 4 pm today ...
What the...!!!

And with regard to the lamp that has been fixed using a screw, I do hope that it is not "screwed" onto the bumper itself but also has a nut at the back. Else the running will cause it come loosen itself.
Old 19th December 2008, 19:04   #216

Originally Posted by siddartha View Post
how does the water eneter the diff , arent there like already oils seals ( if they are preventing the oil from getting out , they will prevent water from getting in) right? i dont know , lemme know , and more details abt the wading plugs pls ,

Siddharth,

Jeeps have grease nipples for differentials and other lubricating points. I think they also have breather vents too. Water gets in through these holes into differentials.

Gypsies, do not have lubricating issues and hence, the water seldom enters the differentials.

Dwarak
Old 19th December 2008, 22:50   #217

Originally Posted by Red Liner View Post
Nice, I wont follow 99% of it However, the shoes you mentioned are steel toe shoes. I have been looking for them in Bangalore (they are very useful on a bike). Can you guide me on where I can get it. Please do PM me.
I used to buy these kind of stuff in the military supply store near russel market. That 22-23 years back in my NCC days. Not sure that shop is still around.
Old 19th December 2008, 23:09   #218

Originally Posted by Samurai View Post
I used to buy these kind of stuff in the military supply store near russel market. That 22-23 years back in my NCC days. Not sure that shop is still around.
I used to use this kind of shoe in my college life. I had few of them. I bought all this from Darjeeling. There this kind of shoe is very common.
Old 20th December 2008, 11:24   #219

Originally Posted by Samurai View Post

This shop is still around.
Old 20th December 2008, 12:52   #220

Originally Posted by dwaraka View Post
Siddharth,

Jeeps have grease nipples for differentials and other lubricating points. I think they also have breather vents too. Water gets in through these holes into differentials.

Gypsies, do not have lubricating issues and hence, the water seldom enters the differentials.

Dwarak
sometimes if those grease nipples get jammed , its tough just to get the grease in , water getting in from the grease nipples? anyway sir, like u pointed out i guess we gypsy guys dont have to worry too much
Old 20th December 2008, 21:56   #221

Stop all this discussions and tell me when is the next OTR due.

I am dying to come. You guys can add

1) 1955 4x4 cj3b --- Santosh

2) 1940 war time 4x4 Ford jeep -- Brat001

3) 1943 war time 4x4 willys -- (Myself on the wheel)

kindly revert
Old 21st December 2008, 01:31   #222

Pavan, trust me just make a date/plan and everyone will join.
Old 21st December 2008, 01:47   #223

Originally Posted by PAVAN KADAM View Post
... I am dying to "come". ......
Oh man.. you are really desperate to 'come'. I suggest that you 'hold on' a bit before you 'come'

jokes apart, I see no planned OTR for the next 2 weeks at least. I think people are done with OTR's for 2008 now as quite a few folks are planning vacation during the next week or 2.
Maybe if someone plans one, folks will fore sure join -- as iceman has mentioned.

PS: @PAVAN: just kidding man. Don't take the post seriously.

Last edited by khan_sultan : 21st December 2008 at 01:49.
Old 21st December 2008, 14:46   #224

Suresh, this is how the beast looked at 4 pm today
Immaculate ...cant believe that this is the same beast that has recently indulged in slush-roading.
Old 21st December 2008, 15:42   #225

Originally Posted by khan_sultan View Post
Oh man.. you are really desperate to 'come'. I suggest that you 'hold on' a bit before you 'come'
Heard during a recent OTR:
"Guys, you are not jerking together. Come on, jerk together "

I am, of course, referring to the synchronization of 2 4x4s trying to pull a stuck 4x4 out.

Dirty guys (like PP says; PP as in Porky Pig not THE PP)